We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Miss Experience”

San Juan Island Cheese
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Description: Welcome to San Juan Island Cheese. We are your local cheese counter and lunch bistro with an ideal location across from the Brickworks Farmer's Market and within walking distance to the ferry. Sit outside in our patio oasis and enjoy a glass of wine, beer, cider or shrub with our ever changing cheese and meat boards. Here for lunch? Try one of our house made quiches, salads, daily soup made with seasonal ingredients or panini for lunch! Room for dessert? We offer cheesecake and chocolate cheese truffles, just to name a few. San Juan Island Cheese showcases artisan cheese, beers, and wines from the Pacific Northwest and beyond. Explore and take home amazing cheeses custom cut and wrapped by knowledgeable and passionate mongers for your enjoyment.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We just got back from San Juan Island Cheese and can't wait to go back! They have a huge variety of cheese for purchase and a small cafe for tasty lunches. The menu offers a lovely range of sandwiches that highlight, what else but cheese! The BLT had a Manchego that stood out. We also enjoyed a cheese board featuring Humboldt Fog and Washington State Cougar Gold along side fresh fruit and nuts. They also offer wine or beer to pair with your selections.

We loved that this is a family-owned establishment and the staff will talk to you about cheese for a long time. There is a slow, island pace which allowed us to settle in and enjoy. Go have some cheese. You won't regret it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tmo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Owner at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thanks for your review! Glad you enjoyed the BLT. You're right, the Manchego makes it happen.
Our cheese case is always changing,so, next time you're in town, please stop by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 199 of 223 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

I am a local. It is one of my favorite places to go. It is a family run business and while you are there they treat you as family. Everything is fresh and homemade. It has lots of good cheese and they are very knowledgeable, but the entrees are all great too!! I love the paninis and the Mac and Cheese. The Tuna melt is delicious and the homemade soups a hit also. If you happen to be there on a day there is cheesecake, don't pass it up. Hannah makes the best. If you are in Friday Harbor you owe it to yourself to visit this charming little cheese shop. There is indoor and very relaxing outdoor seating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Foreveraggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah D, General Manager at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Wow, thanks for the wonderful review! And thanks for including the photo of the beet art.

Hope to see you in for lunch & cheesecake soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We tried this place for the first time yesterday - what a delightful hidden gem in Friday Harbor! The outside area is private, upscale, and lovely - and the inside eating area is fresh, open, and inviting too. The service was excellent, the food was delish (especially the veggie-panni), and the wine recommendation was "spot on". Take a book, relax in the sun, and enjoy your own little garden oasis for lunch in a wonderful small town, on a perfect island. We loved this place and will go back as often as we visit Friday Harbor. Way to go San Juan Island Cheese!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alohagirl1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah D, General Manager at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you thank you for your wonderful review!
We really love what we do, and we're so glad that you enjoyed your experience here.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

K, I love cheese!! This place has a wonderful variety of cheeses, a gorgeous peaceful intimate courtyard to enjoy and sample their wonderful treats and a friendly staff to make sure you sample the right palatable combinations.

1  Thank timsgal98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah D, General Manager at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thanks for your review!

Those three words, "I love cheese", are like music to our ears (or like a smooth Camembert upon our tongues).

We hope to see you soon in March.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Love the large square china plate with your choice of cheeses, crackers, nuts, dried fruits...very artistically presented! Have also enjoyed their grilled cheese and other sandwiches...

Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah D, General Manager at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Carol J,

Thanks for the positive review! We put a lot of thought and love into creating our cheeseboards and we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan Island Cheese also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to San Juan Island Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing