We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've Got Sushi!”
Review of Tops'l Sushi Bar

Tops'l Sushi Bar
Ranked #18 of 67 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Friday Harbor, WA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We've Got Sushi!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Tops'l opened in July right above The Cask and Schooner and it is a winner. They have an impressive cocktail list. Their sushi chef was hired directly from Japan and he does an incredible job and serves the best and freshest. Raw bar and "more traditional" items are available. Wish they were also open for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    24
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Waiting game”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Always willing to find a good sushi place, the wait to be seated was too long, after ordering we waited and waited to receive our meals, especially the sushi. The food was okay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alldaytravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great view and good food”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here the other night thinking we were in the mood for sushi and once we arrived we realized we didn't want sushi but there were enough other things to please - I had soba noodles with tempura - excellent broth, and light batter on tempura; date had their version of Caesar salad with tempura - enjoyed it a great deal. Also had a reasonable flight of saki's - the nigori - excellent. We will come back as the sushi looked fresh and appealing. Only complaint was a bit of a rush job towards end of meal - even though restaurant was nearly empty.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patti4709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Sushi Fix in the Islands”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you need your hit of sushi this is the place, the only place, to go. It has all the standard rolls and nigri you expect, well prepared. The rolls are the perfect size and do not have too much filler rice as you can sometimes find. The rainbow roll was very good but it was a little skimpy on raw fish. The spicy tuna was delicious as were the tuna wontons. Broccoli Rabe was too tough to eat. The seaweed salad was a treat, unusual preparation and beautiful presentation. A bonus was a creative cocktail menu. Service was quite slow but very friendly. All in all, a great find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosenmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great service and good sushi”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We ate here our first night in San Juan and enjoyed it. This was our first trip to the San Juan Islands and we quickly learned that prices in restaurants are high, but we also learned that not all places that charge tons of money for food actually serve good food. We think TOPS'L delivered on a good meal with great service.

We started with the clams appetizer (market price, which was $10 that day) which came in a fabulous curry sauce. We sopped up as much of the sauce as we could with the crusty grilled bread that came with it. We also got the edamame, which had a shallot oil drizzled on it. I'm a shallot fanatic, and the flavor was great. We split a rainbow roll, which had real crab in it, and the fish on top was fresh and tasty. We also got king salmon nigiri, which was good, as well. We split the chocolate torte which was ok--not the highlight of the meal, but we wanted something sweet (but not too sweet). They have a small but good beer list, and our server was attentive and knew her beer. She let us try several (and guided us to our best options, given our beer preferences) before we picked the ones we liked.

We haven't eaten sushi all over the world for decades and decades, but we have had sushi in dozens of cities in the U.S., and they have some good, solid, fresh, basic options at Tops'l. Relative to other dining options in Friday Harbor, we thought it was pretty great, actually. When we return to San Juan we would go here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnArborVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tops'l Sushi Bar also viewed

 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Tops'l Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing