We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Paninis”
Review of The Bean Cafe

The Bean Cafe
Ranked #15 of 64 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Paninis”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We dined here for lunch for the first time on our annual week-long visit to San Juan Island. We all had grilled Paninis and they were excellent, with crispy flavorful grilled panini bread and fresh, flavorful ingredients. I had their special of the day, which was a delicious combination of black forest ham, red pepper, cream cheese, red onion, and a wonderful sauce whose ingredients elude my memory but was very tasty. Their everything cookie - with chocolate chunks, macadamia nuts and coconut - was vaporized by my kids. Prices - like most everywhere on the island - were on the high side, but the quality was top drawer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raftman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    84
    33
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice coffee shop”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had breakfast at the Bean Cafe during our trip to Friday Harbor. The coffee was great and the variety of pastries were fresh and tasty. I would recommend this for a light breakfast or mid-day snack.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Photographer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sloppy service”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Be cautious if you have a ferry to catch. They were extremely busy and had a long delay on food orders and were being sloppy with too many cooks in the kitchen. We ordered 2 breakfast burritos w/o cheese and a bagel with PB. First attempt, burritos had cheese (I'm severely lactose intolerant, so no go for me) and a PB&J sandwich in place of the PB bagel. They took it all back. 10-15 min later, they gave us our new burritos, with, you guessed it, cheese. Third attempt and another 10-15 min, we finally got them w/o cheese. Not surprisingly, they also forgot about the bagel until we reminded them with the 3rd pickup. The sandwiches were fine, but not worth the long wait.

Helpful?
Thank RTW-Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great coffee/pastries ”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

A quick stop for a snack to get out of the rain yielded some great coffee and scones. The service was friendly. If they have them out, get a pack of homemade caramels. Wow.

Helpful?
Thank Lactivist71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food and coffee”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Nice location near the harbor, with all the usual coffee options, plus a good selection of baked goods. Had the oatmeal for breakfast and it was quite satisfying - large portion, covered with berries.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bean Cafe also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to The Bean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing