We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value !! Centrally Located, Clean, Friendly staff”
Review of Earthbox Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My Husband and I had a great stay at the Earth Box Motel and Spa.
We took advantage of their "June Joy" special receiving 1/2 off the listed fee. It is a wonderfully relaxing place to stay. Rooms are upscaled decor with comfortable furniture and beds. They have washers and dryers for hire, nice indoor pool and jacuzzi, and a juice bar by the pool. The free wireless internet is very slow and unusable during certain parts of the day. It is centrally located to all the shops and restaurants in Friday Harbor. They also have free use of their beach cruiser bikes which was great. I would highly recommend this place and would stay their again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 643 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2010

Having read many of the reviews, it is necessary that we share our experience. Earthbox was one of the few places near Friday harbor that allowed us to only stay one night (as opposed to 2-night minimums that others have). We were concerned about the noise issue, but upon arrival, the customer service was outstanding. The Motel on the outside looks older but the room was completely renovated ... new sinks, beds, shower, flooring, electronics ... everything. This must be why they are asking such a premium room rate (I wish it was lower). We slept wonderfully on the bed, and only had very minor noise issues the next morning when we heard people downstairs walking around heavily. Overall, the room was quite nice; noise is a potential but not guaranteed; customer service was excellent; price could be lower. This comes from a business traveller used to staying at Four Seasons, Intercontinental, and Hyatt.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun_Fun_Beach_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

An updated motel with spa on the side, pool and jacuzzi, was so glad in retrospect that our first choice couldn't accommodate us. This location, on one of the main streets, in easy walking distance to everything in Friday Harbor, was perfect. The staff was helpful, and a bonus was an off season special rate for 2 day minimum stay. The downstairs rooms can be dark, and there are no balconies or decks, but the rooms are well appointed, and comfortable. Designer shower head great touch, wouldn't be available in an SF Bay Area hotel at triple the price. Good smoothies available. No breakfast on premises, but with teens, turns out to be a bonus- to need to hurry down to a meal that doesn't hit the spot, and plenty of good restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beardiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Friday Harbor to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary and we staryed at the Eartbox. The service was friendly when we checked in, the rooms were very nice with hardwood floors, super comfy beds, and a very clean modern look. My husband thought the shower was heaven and we couldn't drag ourselves out of bed the next morning to check out because we were so comfortable and happy. What I liked best was that it felt more like a cozy apartment rather than a motel. The sheets were not the standard white hotel sheets that you expect, but a very soft silky cotton that you could wrap yourself up in. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Nice to travel off-season. Came without reservation and ended up staying an extra day at the best room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

My sister and I travelled with our two small dogs and were warmly welcomed everywhere we went on San Juan Island, but especially at the Earthbox Motel! The room was super-clean and gorgeous... and the bedding was the most comfy I've ever had at a motel/hotel. Took advantage of a mid-week special rate and thought it was a reasonable price for the great location, amenities and staff service. As good as it was, I am a budget-minded traveller, and would not be willing to pay full price room rates.

A friend of mine was a guest there recently and gave it a glowing recommendation, and I was not disappointed. I'm sure I'll visit the Earthbox again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missdeliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Great place to stay if you are a walk on ferry passenger. Went whale watching and only bemoaned the fact I didn't stay longer to take advantage of the kayaking in Friday Harbor. Shopping great fun and reasonably priced. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandaMiata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#9 of 11 in Friday Harbor
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthbox Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbox Inn & Spa

Address: 410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7230 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $186 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Earthbox Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earthbox Inn & Spa is a delightful blend of cool resort motel and classic vintage motor inn with an indoor pool, full-service spa, stylishly renovated rooms, free wifi, free parking and complimentary bicycles. Centrally located in downtown Friday Harbor, only 4 blocks from the Washington State Ferry. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Earthbox Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthbox Motel And Spa
Earthbox Hotel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Motel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Inn & Spa Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing