We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earthbox Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed there after a kayaking trip and this place was great after camping. The room was nice and clean and the shower hot. The pool area as clean and there were plenty of towels. You could walk everywhere in town from there so a perfect location to head out for drinks and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 319ellenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi 319ellenp,
What a nice, concise review. Thank you so much. We loved having you and hope, you'll come back soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    210
    94
    36
    12
See reviews for
174
244
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, UK
Level Contributor
416 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were very happy with this hotel. It was the best value that we could find near Friday Harbor. Yes, it seemed very expensive for what it is, but I take on board that that's because of being on a small island. It's worth reading the reviews and not expecting too much. We did both and were not disappointed at all. My only niggle was the very poor wifi, but I accept that was due to the remote location and no fault if the hotel. Glad we stayed here, on this most beautiful island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UckfieldSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi UckfieldSue,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. We are so happy you had a good time.
Yes, wifi is not the same as on the mainland. It's a convenience for checking your email, not quite strong enough to watch movies and such. That's why it's free.
Speaking of "most beautiful island" - thank you, we think so too - San Juan just got voted one of the World's Best Islands 2014 by Travel & Leisure Magazine. Yeah.
Thank you for your visit. Come back soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Earthbox Inn and Spa with my two children. From my first contact with the front desk I knew this would be a great place to stay. Steffi not only made my reservation but spent a considerable amount of time answering all my questions about the things that I should do and see when we were on San Juan Island. Even though the hotel is within walking distance to everything in town, including the ferry terminal, there was a van waiting to pick us up when we docked. Very nice touch! The front desk was packed with arriving guests from the incoming ferry, but the staff were friendly, patient and efficient. It looked like their lobby had been recently remodeled and it was very nice, even had a small gift shop and computer for guest use. As other reviewers have mentioned, the rates seem a little steep, but come on people, it's an amazing destination and they're booked solid all summer long. It's called supply and demand and based on the demand the could charge even more! Our room had everything we needed, was clean and air conditioned (remember to ask for this in the summer as some rooms don't have it). They have an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna that we made full use of, to the delight of my kids. They even have a small cafe with outdoor seating right outside the pool. Perfect for morning coffee, pool side in the sunshine. We also took advantage of the complimentary bikes for a wonderful ride around town. If you support business that follow "green" environmental practices, please inquire about that here because they clearly care for more than just the guests. The grounds are beautiful without the use of pesticides, which is important to me and my family. I would highly recommend the Earthbox Inn & Spa and will certainly stay with them again in the vary near future.

Green Features: If you support business that follow "green" environmental practices, please inquire about that here because they clearly care for more than just the guests. The grounds are beautiful without the use of pesticides, which is important to me and my family.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi Don P,
Your sweet review just made our day. We are all walking around with big grins on our faces. Thank you. We loved having you and can't wait to have you and yours come visit again soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My review of the Earthbox Inn is in part a reaction to a very high price for a very mediocre motel. Putting aside the cost, and trying to be as objective as possible, the Earthbox Inn is at best average; however, because it's so expensive the negative things I point out below, that might be otherwise tolerable and easier to overlook at a more reasonably priced motel, became for me quite significant.

The other reviews describing the Earthbox Inn as more or less just another motel are accurate. It's a very expensive, less-than-average motel or, if you want to be really generous and more than a little obfuscating, you can call it "classic retro chic," or "classic motor inn chic." (I guess akin to putting lipstick on a pig, one can change average to chic by just charging more for it?) Peak season the price was about $235 per night, for a room with a very small toilet and tub/shower space, and a separate single-basin sink area with a couple of square feet of counter space. Actually the sink area was a combined wash basin, kitchenette, and closet (that's right: no separate closet, just a hangar bar mounted to one side of the sink area with a shelf above for the extra towels). There were a few quasi-upscale fixtures, the shower and sink were equipped with dispensers for liquid soap that smelled nice, and the floor was wood, giving an impression of a place that's undergone a little spiffing up, but it was still a run-of-the-mill motel complete with the grungy gunk in the corners and gaps of the plastic floorboards in the bathroom. The room was (aside from the gunk in the corners in the bathroom) clean, but the two queen beds looked and felt—and creaked—like beds in a cheap 40-buck-a-night motel you find along a highway (actually I've stayed at places located along highways that are much nicer and cost considerably less than the Earthbox Inn). The walls and ceiling did little to insulate sound so we got to hear the discussions—and yapping dog—of the next-door guests, and the creaking floorboards from the people walking around in the room above. The two nights we stayed it was relatively warm in Friday Harbor so the room was stuffy, and a bit musty, but there was no air conditioning. Other rooms had air conditioners but I didn't see any discount for getting stuck in one of the stuffy rooms. They supplied a fan, but when we opened a window to let in a little fresh air we ended up choking on wood fire smoke that drifted in from some unknown origin, probably from a Taco place (Tia's Tacos) whose backyard seating area sported a chimenea located right next to, and upwind of, the motel rooms. The World Cup was going on so we switched on the TV to catch one of the games. The old set had such a low-quality picture that it was nearly impossible to follow the game.

In the interest of fairness I'll point out a few positives: The staff were very helpful, friendly, and nice. The location is convenient; they do indeed have a pool, jacuzzi, and sauna (that are very standard, not remotely luxurious); the WiFi is free and it works; there was a microwave and small refrigerator (see kitchenette comments above); and the complimentary bikes were nice.

Rating:
Start with a generous 3 stars for what is at best an average motel;
Plus 1 for helpful, friendly staff, a few nice amenities, and good location;
Minus 1 for all of the "chic" qualities: mediocre beds, poor room ventilation, substandard sink area, grunge in bathroom, and crummy TV;
Minus 1 for excessive cost;
Overall: 2 stars

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LSSR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear LSSR22,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts.
I'm so sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We try hard to convey - on our website, in our confirmation letter, and by phone - what exactly we are and what we aren't. Our Earthbox Inn & Spa is indeed a renovated motor inn, a labor of love, a work in progress. We pride ourselves for not just leveling the buildings and putting up something sterile without character and history. This concept has limitations (those tiny bathrooms, just one sink in the room to name a few). And it's not for everyone.
I agree with you: our motel on a highway someplace on the mainland would be roughly half the price. Please remember that we are on beautiful San Juan Island. Everything needs to be shipped or flown over. Our wages, utilities, taxes, and every little thing we buy is much much more expensive than on the mainland. Along those lines, some services are just not the same as on the mainland. Sometimes our TVs have fuzzy pictures, sometimes our wifi is slow, sometimes we have power outages, cell phones don't work outside of town. We see that as part of the adventure of being on an island and our cue to slow down, relax, unwind and take a step back from the hustle and bustle of the "real" world. I can understand how you can find that not particularly charming when you had your heart set on watching a certain show.
Again, thank you for your input. We hope you and yours had a lovely vacation. Come back sometime in the off or shoulder season, when our rates go down and the days get cooler and let us spoil you how we intended.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I suppose EarthBox Inn charges around $200 per night because they CAN -- they are in a primo location (within walking distance of the waterfront), and other places tend to book quickly. But ultimately, this is (as other reviewers have pointed out) a very pricey motel. I would like to say it overcomes this with immaculate cleanliness, but my stomach lurched when I stepped into the shower and noticed the bottom of the liner was gray with mold. Ugh. We were also not able to arrange a child's rollaway bed, something we can usually accomplish in other places. Some rooms are air-conditioned, our block was not, which made for a very stuffy environment. The fan did help a bit.

The beds were comfortable, the pool attendant promptly replenished towels when called.

However, if we stay in Friday Harbor in the future, we will try another place if we can.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hi Leebot,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay.
I'm sorry you feel we are overpriced. We are actually one of the more moderately priced places on San Juan Island. It is expensive here, no doubt. Remember, every pillow, every nail, every compostable water cup needs to be shipped or flown here (except of our lovely in-room body care products from the local Lavender Farm). Our wages, utilities (especially water, oh my), taxes, gas are way more expensive than on the mainland, in some cases twice as much.
The mold on the bath mat is unacceptable. We addressed the issue. This won't happen again. Thank you so much for pointing it out.
Please forgive us for not following through on getting you a rollaway. We are so proud of our staff, but obviously dropped the communication ball on this one. We'll do better next time.
Again, thank you for your input. We can only improve if our lovely guests let us know what's missing.
We hope, you come back some time and give us a chance to wow you on all levels.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 perfect nights here with my 11 year old son. The location can't be beat - close to everything you could need but very quiet and peaceful. No need for a car at all. Neither can the beds be beat - they were the absolute best of our whole trip including a substantially more expensive hotel in Seattle. So many thoughtful touches like the lavender bath products in the shower, beautifully landscaped garden and patio areas, the free beach cruisers, complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby, and helpful staff happy to store luggage between the ferries and check in/check out, and share their excellent ideas for activities. Plenty of space in the "sun place" rooms with nice little balcony for quiet reading or watching the birds. We were able to prepare snacks (important for those traveling with Tweens or Teens) in our room due to the fridge and microwave. The design is lovely and very gracefully blends contemporary sophistication with the period of the buildings.
We felt comfortable at all times here. The indoor pool was fun to have. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on a return trip.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank happytravelingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Happytravelingfamily,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a sweet review about us. You have us all smiling. We loved having you guys. Come back soon, please!
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

After spending two nights at the Bird Rock Hotel, we loved the island so much we wanted to stay an extra night so we booked at the Earthbox due to no availability at Bird Rock. It's a nice little retro/somewhat renovated motel. I have no complaints, and average is probably a little harsh for the review, but if you have a chance, stay at the Bird Rock instead.

Room Tip: Just FYI - no air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi Imack37,
Oh, to be outdone by your own little sister! But like the big sister we are, we will be happy for her and pinch her when nobody is looking (no, we won't;) Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you think. We are so happy you like our properties and can't wait to have you come visit again soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthbox Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbox Inn & Spa

Property: Earthbox Inn & Spa
Address: 410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7230 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Earthbox Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earthbox Inn & Spa is a delightful blend of cool resort motel and classic vintage motor inn with an indoor pool, full-service spa, stylishly renovated rooms, free wifi, free parking and complimentary bicycles. Centrally located in downtown Friday Harbor, only 4 blocks from the Washington State Ferry. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Earthbox Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthbox Motel And Spa
Earthbox Hotel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Motel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Inn & Spa Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing