We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely refinished motor Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earthbox Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nicely refinished motor Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Quiet, laid back and helpful. I liked being able to have a door to the outside, rather than into a hallway. Stayed in the central Sky Room, well worth the upgrade.
The hotel offers free cruiser bikes to take out for a scenic loop around the bays. The on-site spa gave me one of the best massages I've had yet.
A great island, with some lovely views and properties.
Definitely worth a boat ride and a weekend!

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the central Sky Rooms, nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Travis,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Your comment about our spa made us very happy. So glad you loved it. Thank you. See you soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    211
    94
    36
    12
See reviews for
175
245
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We loved this place…..it's not the Fairmont, but the inn is very comfortable, clean and the front desk people couldn't have been nicer. (and we had a coffee pot) We loved all the Pelindaba products in the room, too. We stayed in one of the Sky Rooms
It's in a great location.
(great flowers)
Thank you for a wonderful stay - we WILL be back and will definitely stay at the Earthbox Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi JIvan,
We can't wait to have you back. You made our day with your lovely review. Thank you.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hubby and I purchased a groupon for the Earthbox Inn & Spa for two nights. We stayed in the "Earth Place" room in the building at the very far back in unit #201. The Inn is within walking distance to all kinds of restaurants, shops and the ferry. Other then exploring all the way around the island, we could have gotten by without bringing our vehicle quite easily.

The room was clean, cozy and comfortable. There was a ton of towels, soap, coffee etc in the room. There was more shampoo, conditioner & soap then you could possibly use over a two week period. The beds were comfortable and the sheets/duvet were nice and soft with 6 pillows on each bed to choose from.

Our only complaint would be that the bathroom lighting is very dim but that didn't really bother us. We were still able to shower etc. comfortably.

The staff at the front desk was always friendly and very helpful. We had no issues whatsoever during our stay. As a matter of fact, we were able to check in super early on our 1st day which was a huge bonus.

For all the nay sayer's...this place is not the Hilton. It was exactly what it said it was and portrayed to be, an Inn. It is quaint and comfortable with all the amenities you could possibly need. Island living is a breed of its own. If your looking for a quick trip away from all the hustle and bustle, this is it!

We will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Unit #201 at the farthest building was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Ashley,
You just made our day! Thank you!
We can't wait for you to come visit again.

Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We bought a groupon for this place, although it looked very nice on the outside (and the main office/lobby/Spa), the room (we stayed at the Water Place) is definitely less desirable and not what we pictured from their website. Very small and old, we could hear everything from people/cars in the parking lot, as well as the people staying above us walking, talking, and in the bathroom-so gross! The private deck is small and overlooks the overgrown back yard of an auto shop and the post office. The towels and sheets are old. The microwave and refrigerator are small and stack together and stuck between the door and a small armoire for the TV. The only good things we would say about this place is that it's walking distance to town, front desk people were friendly, and we had great massages by Kate at the Spa. Would not stay here again with or without groupon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Linzak,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Wow. We did not meet your expectations.
I wish you would have said something, so we could have upgraded you into a larger, more recently renovated room.
We try hard to let our lovely guests know what we are and aren't. We are a 60ties style renovated motor inn with an on-site full service spa. We have the only heated indoor pool on the island, we have beach cruisers for our guests to check out for free. We are funky and fun, family owned and a work in progress. We understand that we aren't for everyone. I'm sorry you felt mislead.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We bought a groupon for this "Inn" and I am glad I didn't pay full price. This is a old motel redone to be a "inn" . We got one of there bigger rooms and it was small it had a uncovered tube florescent light on the wall. The people at the service desk were friendly and the beds comfortable but the jacuzzi tub was not clean enough to soak in. Needless to say we won't be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NaomeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Naome,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. Yes, we are a renovated 60ties style motor inn. We try hard to convey that on our website and confirmation letter. I'm so sorry you felt mislead and we didn't live up to your expectations.
The room style you were in is our smallest room. We absolutely agree with you on the lighting and are actually in the process to change that this week.
We would love for you to come back some time, check out one of our larger rooms and give us a chance to spoil you how we intended.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Signed up with a Road Scholar tour, placed us at this lovely motel, on the main downtown street no more than a 1-5 minute walk to anything you'd want or need. Our rooms are attractive, comfortable and very well appointed with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Nice size bathroom with strong, hot shower. The hotel has several buildings with a sparkling clean pool and hot tub in its own building in between all of the rooms. We gathered for lectures and meals in the nice conference center. I would definitely recommend this motel for a worry free stay in Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbiegailh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

very nice remodeled inn. one of the most expensive places we stayed but the room was so nice we didn't mind. the bed was plush. the room well decorated with laminate floors and calm neutral tones, the shower was nice, towels lush, and plenty of bathroom counter space. I wish we would have gotten there earlier to use the sauna and hot tub. they let us borrow bikes the next day after we checked out to check out downtown. Wifi was a little spotty but I think that is probably to be expected on an island you can only get to with a ferry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthbox Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbox Inn & Spa

Property: Earthbox Inn & Spa
Address: 410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7230 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Earthbox Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earthbox Inn & Spa is a delightful blend of cool resort motel and classic vintage motor inn with an indoor pool, full-service spa, stylishly renovated rooms, free wifi, free parking and complimentary bicycles. Centrally located in downtown Friday Harbor, only 4 blocks from the Washington State Ferry. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Earthbox Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthbox Motel And Spa
Earthbox Hotel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Motel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Inn & Spa Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing