We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel and friendly staff”
Review of Earthbox Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very nice hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Nice hotel.
Warm interior, pretty dark (I liked it though) big room equipped with bathrobes, wine glasses (if you wish to) etc. Lavender cosmetics - I loved them. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great idea with bikes.
Could be closer to the water.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    222
    104
    39
    12
See reviews for
185
260
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recently stayed here with the hubby for 2 nights. We got the $99/night special for the Water Place-sized room (the off-season looked pretty slow). If we'd paid the usual rates, I would have been a lot less happy.

Front desk check-in gal was not super friendly (there were 2 other front-desk staff who were much friendlier). She was very brisk and seemed like she wanted me out of there as quickly as possible, with minimum fuss. She also told me the wrong staircase to get to my room, which was annoying as I had to lug a heavy suitcase up and down an extra set of stairs. You'd think the staff knows the inn backwards and forwards??

The pool area smelled very heavily of chlorine. Not very inviting.

The noise was an issue as well. Fortunately, I'm a pretty good sleeper and didn't have to make use of the hotel-provided earplugs.


Pros:
- Very convenient location
- Fridge, microwave in-room

Cons:
- Terrible sound-travel. We could literally hear the gentlemen speaking in the next room. And they were talking normally, not shouting. We requested a room on the 2nd level after hearing about noise problems on the ground floor.
- Bathroom didn't match the rest of the room (not very upscale)
- Loud heater fan (was disturbing the hubby)
- If you're on the 2nd level, be prepared to carry your suitcase up/down stairs. There are no elevators.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here because of the positive reviews and dog friendliness. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful at check in (much more helpful/nice than woman that took my reservation on the phone). Stayed in pet friendly earth room, nicely decorated though the room lighting was a bit funky and it was pretty dark. One of the beds was very comfortable, the other mattress was a little tired. Great in room coffee and nice amenities with lavender lotion/soap. Nice to have real Kleenex tissues (instead of the usual hotel/motel kind). Walls are pretty thin but hotel was pretty vacant so no problem for us (might be loud in summer though). My only complaint would be the complete lack of any grass on the property for Pets. Also, it would be great if they had more dog friendly rooms. Be aware that special advertised winter rate does not apply to pet rooms. Overall a very nice experience. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsTenenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

First the girl that checked us in at the front desk, SUPER sweet, I wish I remembered her name but she talked with me and my best friend for a long time, we liked her so much we wanted to ask her to go to dinner with us! LOL!
We had the Sun Place rooms on the first floor. The room was a lot bigger than I had imagined. Nice wood floor, the beds super comfy, it really was a good size room! We did have a small area outside the back doors of the room (they are covered with nice blinds) but there isn't a view, there was just a bunch of dead brush out there. But that was ok, we didn't have time to sit out there anyway.
the only thing I found that I did not like, was the actual bathroom (toilet/shower area). It looked like they remodeled everything in the room, then stopped at the bathroom. It could have used a good paint job and some spiffy-ing up. The sink area is outside this area and is nice. There is also an additional counter where the microwave is (Oh! you have a mini fridge too which was very convenient) and the counter is very large where I could get ready there with my make-up and such and my friend used the counter by the sink. Worked out well!
I also did not get a 'motel' feeling here, not at all, I really liked our room

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitteakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

A girlfriend and I took the Clipper up for whale watching and an overnight in Friday Harbor. The Earthbox was an adorable and very convenient place to stay. Very quaint motel with beautiful flowers outside and perfect amenities inside our room as well. The rooms were well appointed, very clean and had everything we might need. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful by suggesting happy hour spots as well as night life options. They had a town map to direct us on foot to many options. We loved the suggestions and everything was withing walking distance which was perfect since we didn't have a car. The cruiser bikes are definitely something I will try next time! I would recommend the earthbox to anyone! They also have an indoor pool and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just spent 2 nights here. Outside is 60s/70s motor inn. Inside has been really tastefully redecorated in earth tones. We had one of the smaller (water) rooms, but don't usually spend tons of time in the room, so it was fine. Night stand only on one side of the bed was a little inconvenient. Walls are thin. They do provide earplugs, though. Our second night there, the hotel was fairly empty, and an alarm clock went off in an unoccupied room very early in the morning, which kept me up for a while. Nice patio area near pool house. Also nice landscaping. Staff, especially Tory, were very helpful. Bikes available for use, but they are one-speed, and a bit difficult on hilly roads. Great location-close to downtown, but quietly off the road. All accomodations in San Juan Islands are quite expensive. We got a mid-week, off-season deal. If we hadn't, we may not have been as happy with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphKazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldron, WA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was looking for a quiet place. It's an older facility, but so nicely redone and kept up that you wouldn't know it. Perfect walking distance location for anything downtown, and yet set off far enough from the street that it was quiet. Everything seems geared to welcoming someone looking to truly relax. Staff was knowledgeable, and engaged, rather than merely polite. Bicycles are available for guests. Pool. Sauna. I spent two happy nights there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank travelingfool55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthbox Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbox Inn & Spa

Property: Earthbox Inn & Spa
Address: 410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7230 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Earthbox Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earthbox Inn & Spa is a delightful blend of cool resort motel and classic vintage motor inn with an indoor pool, full-service spa, stylishly renovated rooms, free wifi, free parking and complimentary bicycles. Centrally located in downtown Friday Harbor, only 4 blocks from the Washington State Ferry. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Earthbox Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthbox Motel And Spa
Earthbox Hotel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Motel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Inn & Spa Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing