We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August 2012”
Review of Earthbox Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Earthbox is a very cool place to stay at Friday Harbor. It is walking distance to the harbor, very quiet, nice staff, indoor pool and jacuzzi. They provide the wonderful lavender bath products from the local fields. Well priced and clean. It's not super fancy but has everything you would need. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for Earthbox Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 632 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

What happens when one purchases a Motel 6 type of property and they have vision??

The answer is Earthbox Inn & Spa!!

This was THE only property available for the dates we wanted. I was VERY skeptical reading it was a motel conversion - gulp.....

How wrong can one be??? VERY much so, what a breath of fresh air.
I don't mean that JUST in the sense of a conversion but just as a GREAT, GREAT property!!!

The check-in will give you a clue of what awaits, VERY modern in a spa-ish sort of way.
That theme is carried to the room where again people of vision have created an AMAZING use of space.

If you're thinking a room is just a room, then find yourself at Friday Harbor one day with Earthbox as YOUR destination.

Me thinks you will walk away VERY relaxed with a big grin on your face!!
Also just a few small blocks from the ferry.

Stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I think the Earthbox Inn & Spa website is very [unusually] open and forward about what exactly it is- an old, renovated motel. Yes, compared to most places in general, this place is very overpriced for what it offers. However, it is appropriately priced for it being on San Juan Island, and in Friday Harbor. The Inn is a very short walk from everything in Friday Harbor.

The upgrades are low end. The rooms [Sky Room] are very dark-especially the bathroom, which has the same ugly 1970s tub/shower surround. The TV is old and has a horrible picture. There is no A/C and even with the windows open, there is no circulation. A box fan is provided, which is nice, but because it isn’t oscillating, the airflow still isn’t great.

Overall, despite the negatives I still recommend the Earthbox. The front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming, the location is perfect, the rooms were clean and there is ample parking. Not having A/C is only an issue on the rare really hot days in the summer.

My suggestions to the owners are to provide a better oscillating fan, repaint the walls to a much lighter shade and refinish the tub to white! A flat screen on the wall with a dresser for more storage would be nice too.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that 1st floor rooms are laminate wood and 2nd floor rooms are carpeted. This is the fi...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrittanyR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this place, with indoor pool and hot tub. The place looks like motels, but the services is awesome. The front desk staff are very polite and helpful with all our questions, and the room is clean with nice amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynnababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had an upper room with a high ceiling, and the AC was appreciated during a hot spell. Great bed, etc., our only complaint would be the lack of soundproofing between rooms. We heard the family next door until they went to bed and first thing in the morning. Thank goodness they were not party animals or TV freaks! Breathtaking gardens in front, but the view from our "deck" was an empty lot and security fence.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Some years ago, we stayed here under its previous typically-motel incarnation, and we came back (with some trepidation, given its Tripadvisor reviews) to find a truly pleasant, comfortable and affordable room in the centre of beautiful Friday Harbor. The location itself is a plus, but we found the room large (by any standards), spotless and well serviced. There is not of choice in Friday Harbor, but to us this is the best. We loved it and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Book early.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnPGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I guess we had high expectation for this motel. This is a very well decorated motel but at that price, I wish there is something more. Since it is a motel, the I view of our room is the parking lot, there is only one window in the room so it gets stuffy (as such, there's a box fan in every room). The bedding is nice and there is as bar area for breakfast. The bathroom is nice but the soaps dispenser does not work properly. Th staff is nice the pool is nice and clean. We are just disappointed with the lack of view unless you like parking lot views and cars.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank vinnievinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthbox Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbox Inn & Spa

Address: 410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7230 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $186 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Earthbox Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earthbox Inn & Spa is a delightful blend of cool resort motel and classic vintage motor inn with an indoor pool, full-service spa, stylishly renovated rooms, free wifi, free parking and complimentary bicycles. Centrally located in downtown Friday Harbor, only 4 blocks from the Washington State Ferry. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Earthbox Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthbox Motel And Spa
Earthbox Hotel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Motel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Inn & Spa Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing