We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute boutique with bicycles!”
Review of Earthbox Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Cute little boutique motel where you can rent bicycles and cycle to a nearby winery! A nice hot tub & pool, and walking distance to everything. Loved it!

Room Tip: None of them have a view, and there are only 2 floors so any room is a good one.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rillabylund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Earthbox Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 635 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend in early October, and was very impressed. From the lovely lobby and helpful, friendly staff, to the leather chairs in the room. The bed (with quality linens) was super comfortable, and we appreciated having the mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. There was an iPod dock on the clock/radio, dimmer switches for the lights near the bed, and even the soaps and lotion were nice quality.

Soft, luxurious robes were provided, and came in handy when heading to the beautiful indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi just a few steps from our door.

We easily walked to the main town area of Friday Harbor - didn't end up using (provided for free) the cruiser bikes although they looked fun. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend getaway at the Earthbox Inn in Friday Harbor!

Room Tip: The "300" rooms are in a single-level building so no worries about people walking overhead...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Recent visit to Friday Harbor with a stay at the Earthbox. This is basically an overpriced motel 6. The room had a king size bed with almost no space to move around. No closet. The TV has to be placed off center from the bed because of limited space. The room is dark and depressing even when the sun is shining. The bathroom is barely big enough for one person. One day the room was not cleaned and all the management could offer was "sorry". Not very professional. The price was out way out of line for the services provided. Two good things was the location and the front staff on check-in were very nice. I would not stay her again nor suggest anyone else stay here. I feel when you are paying a premium price you should get premium service such as room service every day!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winjotdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here one night in October; location right down in Friday Harbor is nice; parking good, room was quiet but I suspect if there had been anyone in the unit above me that would not be the case; the earplugs which came with the room were an ominous sign; I actually did wear them because even though it is October and quiet cool out, the room was very warm, so I had the air conditioner blasting all night, so I needed the earplugs for that.

There is a pool and hot tub which would be good if you had children with you; I had the smallest room since I was on my own and it was nice and clean and the bed was comfortable with a nice duvet, not those scratchy blankets you tend to get.

A little pricey, but there is very little available on the island, so in fact it was one of the better deals when compared to the other places here which had poor reviews; this place had no poor reviews that I could find.

So, pretty nice if you plan to basically need a nice place to sleep but want to spend most of your day out and about which I assume you would, since it is an island with a lot of natural beauty around to see.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico20167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Ehhhh......I really had hoped for more. They have a fantastic website!

Old motel remodeled. Some new paint, actually really comfortable beds, and tons of pillows (which I don't really need, but they were there - so I'll mention it).

Pros: right in the "downtown" area of Friday Harbor. Super nice and helpful front desk staff (the man working Friday had good restaurant suggestions and the woman working Saturday essentially helped us plan our whole day - and her suggestions were spot on). Pet friendly rooms available. They offer free use of bikes to cruise around on.

Cons: We got HORRIBLE reception on our tv (I know - we are on vacation, why are we watching tv? Because that is what we want to do after dinner before we go to bed when we are on vacation). We found the television cable out on our deck, lying on the ground, with a splicer. Speaking of decks, do not get sold on a more expensive room for the deck. Faces nothing - trees and then the unmaintained pet area, backing up to a storage lot, I think? The heater was so loud we had to turn the tv up to 3 times its normal volume to hear over it. Went to plug in our cell phone charger and realized that just about everything in the one room was plugged in to one outlet. Tiny fridge was set at freeze level (didn't realize this until the morning when all of our fresh veggies were frozen solid). Could hear the folks above us walking around (I don't think they were being loud at all - the walls are just so very thin). Water pressure? No.

I know we are in the Pacific Northwest, but bring your sunglasses - the cheaply redone light fixtures are blinding (and there is no dimmer!).

They had a deal for the month of October, even with the deal - I thought it was overpriced for the standard of the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzym27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Hi Suzym27,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your thoughtful review about us. We are delighted to hear you liked our staff and amenities.
I'm so sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. We will have the TV, fridge and outlet checked in your room right away. You are absolutely right, we should and can do better than frozen food and no TV reception. Installing dimmers is an excellent idea. Thank you.
We are proud of what we are: a retro motor in with modern interiors and cool amenities. It's a fine line. That's why we appreciate reviews like yours so much, which let us know where we can improve. Again thank you.
We would love for you to come back some time and give us another chance.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at the earthbox for 2 nights. It was very nice to be able to get off the ferry and be at the earthbox in a matter of minutes. Cathy did an excellent job with our reservation a couple of weeks prior to our arrival. We liked our room near the pool. This hotel is really working hard to please their customers. We really enjoyed their "down to earth" hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room near the pool that is on the ground level.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58livinlavidaloca77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed in the Sky Room and could not have been more comfortable. The bed was awesome and there were 6 pillows. Ammenities are all over the place. It's great if you drive because there is lots of parking. If you don't drive (which is a wonderful option in the summer with the island bus system which behaves like a tour guide) you are seconds walking from Friday Harbor. The staff is very helpful, the lobby is welcoming and the pool is great. It felt somewhere between a 4 star hotel, a bed and breakfast and a resort. Perfectly clean, lovely linens and a pride in ownership and management. Don't miss this place if you want to stay in Friday Harbor.

Room Tip: Sky or Earth
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthbox Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbox Inn & Spa

Address: 410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7230 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $186 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Earthbox Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earthbox Inn & Spa is a delightful blend of cool resort motel and classic vintage motor inn with an indoor pool, full-service spa, stylishly renovated rooms, free wifi, free parking and complimentary bicycles. Centrally located in downtown Friday Harbor, only 4 blocks from the Washington State Ferry. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Earthbox Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthbox Motel And Spa
Earthbox Hotel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Motel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Inn & Spa Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing