We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place with friendly, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great place with friendly, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was a great place to stay while visiting San Juan Island in Washington. It was just up the road from downtown Friday Harbor, so it allowed us to get away from the crowds and sounds of the restaurants, shops, and ferry traffic when we wanted to rest but was close enough to give us easy access to town when we wanted it. The office staff was friendly and available for help in planning sightseeing drives or tours. The rooms were comfortable, and the fridge and microwave allowed us to keep refreshments in the room. Chairs and benches on the grounds provided nice spots for reading in the afternoon. When a ferry cancellation delayed our arrival by a day, we contacted them and they were able to rent out our room for that night, saving us the cost of the night we couldn't be there, even though it was late in the day when we contacted them. We will definitely stay there again if we are back in that area!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of the Discovery Inn on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed our staff, location, room, and the grounds. We strive to offer the best customer service possible and were happy to assist you when the ferry cancellation occurred. Wishing you safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    86
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
127
159
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great Place when staying on San Juan Island. I highly recommend the hotel for anyone staying on the San Juan Islands to hike, sightsee, boat, or just plain relax. The folks that work there are super friendly and will everything possible to mae a traveler comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn during your visit to the island. We are glad our staff was so friendly - we strive to make all our guests feel welcome. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice recommendation of the Inn on TripAdvisor. We wish you safe travels and hope they bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a great location with a friendly and helpful staff. Clean, comfortable and quiet room. Grounds are beautiful. Only a mile or less from downtown. Great value for the price. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minderpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed your room and the grounds. We strive to be a great value and affordable choice on the island. Hope your travels bring you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was a fantastic place to stay. It is small and very comfortable. Everything in the room was new and well appointed. The bathroom was clean and updated. Microwave and refrigerator were added bonuses. From sitting outside in the swing or chairs to the great (deep) hot tub, our overall experience was terrific. This was the first time in well over a decade I stayed in a "motel"...with outside door access and all...and it was great. Friendly staff, quiet surroundings. We stayed on the 2nd floor facing the office/parking lot. Would gladly stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are pleased that you had such a fantastic experience staying at the Discovery Inn, thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you liked your room, our staff, the grounds and the out door hot tub. We hope your travels bring you back to San Juan Island, we would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location, a bit off the beaten path. Quiet clean, beautiful grounds. Priced right for a girlfriend get together! Comfiest beds and large room.Wwould come again! We choose a room upstairs, no elevator but easy for us with minimal luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnnLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Discovery Inn for your girlfriend get together, that sounds fun! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your room and your stay at the Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We hope the rest of your travels are safe and bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I needed some photocopies made on a Sunday morning, and was directed to the library, which is next door to the Discovery Inn. The library was closed (opens at 1:00 on Sundays, fyi) so I asked at the front desk of the Inn. Not only did Heather make the copies for me right away, she cut them to size with her paper cutter and then refused my offer of payment. I didn't stay here on this trip, but I will definitely consider it for the next one!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Cathy - Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are glad our staff was able to help you during your hour of need, we strive to give the best customer service possible. We hope you will stay with us during your future visits to the island. Please travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is small but has nice amenities. It was about a mile from the main street of Friday Harbor which was a nice walk. The room was nice and bathroom updated. We appreciated that the room had a refrigerator and microwave. The kids also loved the hot tub on site and the large green lawn to run around. The only downside was the room got a bit warm (no AC) and to let air flow in from the fan in the window, we had to open the curtains which brought in daylight before we wanted to get up in the morning. Overall it was a nice stay and would recommend the hotel to others visiting the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photographer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are glad you stayed with us during your visit to Friday Harbor. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we love to hear from our guests. It is nice to hear that your family was able to enjoy the grounds and the hot tub. Normally our weather is very temperate and the rooms stay at a comfortable temperature, we regret the sun woke you a bit early due to the fan in the window. Wishing you safe travels and hope they bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#6 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Property: Discovery Inn
Address: 1016 Guard St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing on beautiful San Juan Island, the Discovery Inn provides affordable comfort in a park-like setting with a large outdoor jacuzzi, sitting areas, decks and barbecues. The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. Each recently renovated room features a private bath, one or two queen beds, coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi.The Discovery Inn offers multi-night discounts, free trip planning and concierge services for Island activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing