We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Super helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Discovery Inn
1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
For the best rates
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Super helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I needed some photocopies made on a Sunday morning, and was directed to the library, which is next door to the Discovery Inn. The library was closed (opens at 1:00 on Sundays, fyi) so I asked at the front desk of the Inn. Not only did Heather make the copies for me right away, she cut them to size with her paper cutter and then refused my offer of payment. I didn't stay here on this trip, but I will definitely consider it for the next one!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Cathy - Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are glad our staff was able to help you during your hour of need, we strive to give the best customer service possible. We hope you will stay with us during your future visits to the island. Please travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    81
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
116
151
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is small but has nice amenities. It was about a mile from the main street of Friday Harbor which was a nice walk. The room was nice and bathroom updated. We appreciated that the room had a refrigerator and microwave. The kids also loved the hot tub on site and the large green lawn to run around. The only downside was the room got a bit warm (no AC) and to let air flow in from the fan in the window, we had to open the curtains which brought in daylight before we wanted to get up in the morning. Overall it was a nice stay and would recommend the hotel to others visiting the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photographer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are glad you stayed with us during your visit to Friday Harbor. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we love to hear from our guests. It is nice to hear that your family was able to enjoy the grounds and the hot tub. Normally our weather is very temperate and the rooms stay at a comfortable temperature, we regret the sun woke you a bit early due to the fan in the window. Wishing you safe travels and hope they bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a lovely, clean, well appointed inn. We were very pleased with our choice of this place in Friday Harbor. Friendly staff, nice room, pretty grounds, and well situated close to the harbor. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Discovery Inn on TripAdvisor. We are glad you stayed with us during your visit to the island. Wishing you safe travels and hoping they bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a cute little hotel in a great little town. It's a mile or so from the center of town, but not a problem, unless you don't have a car. There are no chain hotels on this island (that I saw). They were very friendly when we checked in. It's really small. No elevator, which was not a problem for us, but might be for some of you. They had a electric/gas fireplace in the room, and a fan in the window. Microwave and refrigerator are in the room as well. There is also a hot tub. Our beds were great! Very comfortable mattresses, and a great night's sleep. No breakfast, so plan on going back to town for something. We really enjoyed our stay here and would return for sure.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, but still were awakened in the morning by someone walking around above us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceverena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn and taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We think the Discovery Inn is a "Great little motel" too. Glad to hear that you liked your rooms and your beds were great. Wishing you safe travels and we hope they bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This place is fantastic! Small, quaint, and quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, and the beds are comfy. My family and I really enjoyed the Discovery Inn, we will be back, and we will suggest it to friends and other family members.

Room Tip: Since there is no AC I would suggest a bottom room during the summer time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennewickChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
It is delightful to hear that you had such a fantastic experience staying with us! Thank you for taking the time to share it on TripAdvisor. It is nice to know you found our staff helpful and our rooms clean and comfy. Some of our rooms, especially the third floor, get warm in the summer but our fans do a great job cooling them down. However, we are happy to announce that we are installing air conditioning units, this week, in our third floor rooms to make our guests stays more enjoyable. We wish you safe travels and look forward to your future visits to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our experience here was WONDERFUL and we will return when staying the night on the island. Price was good and rooms were clean. Got more then I expected. Was able to drop our bags and then spend the day around the island returning to check in. Nice to have a small fridge and microwave when traveling with children. Coming from Arizona it was hard to get use to no air conditioning but 1 of our rooms did have a floor fan. Location is far to walk with large luggage if coming off the boat but nice walk if you don't mind the wind and bend in the road and ups and downs.

Room Tip: Bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snorris98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We are glad you had a wonderful experience staying at the Discovery Inn, thank you for taking the time to share it on TripAdvisor. Our location is on the edge of town and we have been told by past guest that it is a little quieter and more relaxing then being down town. We agree with you that it can be too far to walk and advise our guests to bring a car when they stay with us. Some of our rooms, especially the third floor, get warm in the summer but our fans do a great job cooling them down. However, we are happy to announce that we are installing air conditioning units, this week, in our third floor rooms to make our guests stays more enjoyable. We wish you happy travels and look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This lovely inn is definitely a bargain considering the average price of a hotel on Friday Harbor and the quality accomodations we enjoyed here. The rooms were impeccably clean, attractive and comfortable. It is centrally located and I liked the fact it was right next to the town library. The staff was friendly and helpful as they gave us some good tips on sightseeing. We were delighted to actually get to see whales at Lime Kiln Point State Park. Our stay was so relaxing as we enjoyed strolling around the inn's park like setting which includes sitting areas and swings and BBQ grills. My cousin very much enjoyed the hot tub. When we come back, we will definitely return here to the Inn.

Room Tip: I think the rooms across from the office are quietest as they are further away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RozSSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of Discovery Inn on TripAdvisor. We enjoyed having you and your family stay with us and are delighted that you enjoyed your rooms, the grounds and the Jacuzzi. We look forward to your future visits to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Property: Discovery Inn
Address: 1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing on beautiful San Juan Island, the Discovery Inn provides affordable comfort in a park-like setting with a large outdoor jacuzzi, sitting areas, decks and barbecues. The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. Each recently renovated room features a private bath, one or two queen beds, coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi.The Discovery Inn offers multi-night discounts, free trip planning and concierge services for Island activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing