We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Again”
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We recently spent two nights at Discovery Inn, Friday Harbor. The staff was extremely friendly from the time I made the reservation until we checked out. We arrived on the 10:30 AM ferry, so we were very early for our check in. Heather worked some "magic" and was able to get a room right away. The room (queen deluxe) was clean, large and comfortable. If we were to stay again, I would request a room on the backside as there was a bit of road noise late at night and early in the morning. The chocolates were a nice touch, also!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnnste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We are so glad you stayed with us. Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are glad we were able to work a little "magic" for you to get you into your room a little early. May your travels bring you back our way again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 476 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Wow, very friendly staff. The big chain motels could learn a thing or two from them. Our deluxe queen was very CLEAN and big with lots of storage for clothes/ luggage. It had a micro and fridge and memory foam bed. The hot water was instant. The office was small but had K- cups, herbal tea, hot & cold water-free! (I've had to pay for K-cups at other motels). I think the room had Seattle's Best coffee. The yard had a couple swings so a nice place to relax. Just FYI, even with their fiber optics, the wifi was spotty and you might want a room on the side away from the road (although the traffic wasn't too loud). A second floor room would eliminate any noise from above.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank JAFLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing back from our guests and love to hear that our staff was friendly and your stay enjoyable. We hope your travels bring you back to Friday Harbor soon. Thank you again for the review and for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I hadn't ever been here before. I made all arrangements via phone and when I got there late my room was ready, the lights and heat were on and it was a very nice greeting. It was almost like coming home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We are sure glad that you discovered us! Thank you for the kind review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next visit to Friday Harbor and the Discovery Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We recently traveled to Friday harbor with friends for a weekend and prior to booking our stay we read several of the reviews on TripAdvisor for hotels. We decided on Discovery Inn after reading the reviews of the hotels in the area and we were not disappointed. The rooms are nicely furnished with everything you will need such as coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, etc. The bathrooms are well appointed and clean with plenty of towels, The staff was very helpful with recommendations for meals and when we mentioned the deck in front of the ice machine room was slippery from rain she (sorry we forgot her name) put sand on the deck within minutes.
You may have a 2 to 3 minute drive to the ferry but we all felt the location was just far enough removed from downtown it made the area quiet but within hiking distance of the restaurants if you preferred to walk. The only tip we might make is to request a room facing the courtyard instead of the street to guarantee the quietest stay possible. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard instead of street and second floor rooms may be slightly quieter
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you had a nice stay and that our staff was attentive to your needs. We hope your travels bring you back our way soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It is about a mile from downtown but it is a great value. The staff was friendly. The room was basic but it had a fridge which was nice. The bed was comfortable. There was also a common deck area where one could sit outside. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a comfortable stay and hope your travels bring you our way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have always stayed at B&B's on prior visits to the San Juans, however this was a spontaneous trip and we took a chance on the Discovery Inn due to the positive Trip Advisor reviews Well we are pleased to report our time spent at the Inn was a delight! Our every need was attended to... The entire staff were very friendly and so helpful, even dropping everything they were doing to print out our boarding passes on the morning of our departure. Rooms are newly updated, they were clean and well appointed: microwave, fridge, big screen TV, high speed internet all for a VERY reasonable price for the Islands! We will most definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Our special request for a downstairs room was promptly granted.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asher13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate it. We take pleasure in knowing that your stay was so enjoyable and we look forward to your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The location is out of the way just a little. But after a day we were sold on the" Discovery Inn". The staff was amazing, Katie; we have never been treated that nice- really. Thank you fo your concern about the heater.The rooms were well renovated and well decorated, i got idea for one of my rooms at home.Friday harbor has no stoplights or fast food joints.Lots of places to check out. Katie gave me coupons for dining and a massage with the Valentines package(heart candy too).I wish i could find a Katie at every hotel I stayed at. Yes we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Get the Queen bed suite.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottbaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

It is our number one goal to give all of our guest the best customer service possible and it is wonderful to hear that our staff, especially Katie, was so accommodating. Thank you for your time in reviewing the Discovery Inn on Tripadvisor and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.6 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
510 reviews
5.5 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Address: 1016 Guard St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Friday Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $106 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing, this hotel is the only lodging facility on San Juan Island that offers rooms in a park-like setting. Our recently renovated hotel rooms are decorated in restful colors. The handsomely appointed rooms are designed for relaxing. They feature air-conditioning, a private bath, one or two queen beds, an in-room coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi. The Discovery Inn has been a family-owned and operated hotel for over 30 years. Enjoy an outdoor seasonal Jacuzzi, Adirondack-style chairs on the lawn, flowers, decks and barbecues. The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, spacious clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing