We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discovery Inn
Nearby Hotels
Friday Harbor Suites(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$290
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Friday Harbor House(Friday Harbor)
$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Island Inn at 123 West(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Earthbox Inn & Spa(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$236
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orca Inn(Friday Harbor)
$121
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tucker House Inn(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$365
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Wayfarer's Rest(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$285
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveler rating
392
116
20
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
116
20
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubpark like settingthe managerselectric fireplacelawn gamesclose to townpicnic tablesadirondack chairsgreat place to staycoffee makerstay there againroom was clean and comfortablethird floorgrounds are beautifulsan juan islandno elevatorenjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 536 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our recent visit to Friday Harbor for a wedding was wrapped up nicely with our stay at Discovery Inn. Even before we arrived, I called to see how early we could check in, and when we arrived at 10am our rooms were just being cleaned. Being able to check in early was such a huge help to us as we were able to regroup and relax before the next event. DI is quiet, comfy, and conveniently placed to town.

We really appreciated the great customer service from everyone we came in contact with. I apologize again for accidentally putting the key in my pocket when we left. We'll be back on our next visit to Friday Harbor.

Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn we appreciate it. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and glad our staff was helpful - one of our main goals is great customer service. We look forward to your next stay. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. Nicely furnished room with a desk and chair, fridge and counter. The bathroom was recently remodeled. We had one rainy day during our stay so our suggestion would be for a more comfortable seating area to read or watch TV. The room was spotless and the hotel has a wonderful staff. They were friendly and accommodating and even loaned us two chairs one evening to take to a local park event. The Inn is well taken care of inside and out. Beautiful lawn with chairs for relaxing, a deck and hot tub, lovely flower beds and hanging baskets. It really is a park-like setting. Their sign says island casual, which is a good description of the feel and amenities at the Inn. A fairly quiet area of town right next to the library. We made a great choice in choosing Discovery Inn and will come back when we can.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side, second floor and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yudy_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Discovery Inn and are grateful for the kind review. We are glad you decided to stay with us and are very happy you enjoyed your room during your visit to the island. It is one of our pleasures to help our guests have wonderful visits to the island and are glad we could provide you with some chairs for your visit to the park. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Clean, newly renovated rooms close to all things in Friday Harbor. Rooms are fully equipped with fridge, microwave, coffee pot and all the coffee/creamers you could want. Knowledgeable staff eager to help with any reservations for touring or dining. Beautiful grounds and lawn furniture for relaxation after a busy day. We stayed four nights and staff did everything possible to make our stay delightful.

Room Tip: Couples request the deluxe queen with just one bed. Has more room to move around and easier access to coffee maker.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn and for the great review of the Inn. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and that our staff was so helpful to you - both of these our are main goals. We hope you make it our way again and can stay with us. Warm wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice accommodations and a great staff make this a good choice when visiting San Juan Island. Rooms are nicely furnished but there is some noise if you are on the first floor. Internet was somewhat spotty, location is very good, close to town.

Room Tip: ask for 2nd floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We are glad you could stay with us and would like to thank you for your kind review of the Discovery Inn. We hope to see you again if your travels find you back in the San Juan Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We needed one night in Friday Harbor on our way to Orcas Island and most places aren't cheap in this town. It was a very nice room, clean, fridge, good bed with nice linens and well-appointed bathroom. This sounds kind of nutty, but I loved that the bathroom sink was higher than most and was really comfortable...

Hit the Cask and Schooner for a great meal with local brews.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We are so glad you decided to stay with us on your way to Orcas Island. Thank you for the review and the nice comments on your room, we are glad you enjoyed the renovations. We hope you will come and visit us again if your travels bring you back to San Juan Island. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews