We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally friendly and a bit pricey”
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I would definitely stay here again just because the staff was exceptional in every way. Very helpful with advice on the area and Heather's restaurant recommendations were perfect for us. Rooms are modest and you will need a ride to town but it was worth it. Don't go here for cheap. Go because you appreciate excellent customer service from a family owned business woman who is giving it her all . . . and it shows!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolinasmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. One of our main goals at the Inn is to give our guests great customer service and to offer them one of the most affordable places to stay on San Juan Island. Everything on the Island, including room rates, are more expensive than the Mainland due to the Island's remote location. Because of the higher prices on the island we hope all of our customers, like you, feel they are getting a great value at the Inn through the customer service they receive, the cleanliness of the rooms, and what we believe is a nice relaxing atmosphere at the Inn. Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 487 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice nice people. Nice grounds. Clean room. But tight and a bit dated. TV nothing to rave about. No pool. No restaurant, no kitchens. Pop vending machine. Close to town. We would probably stay again. Only thing that could have been better, would be an onsite restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZeroUpFourOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Discovery Inn. We appreciate your feedback. We just remodeled our rooms and have been so pleased with the overwhelming positive response from our guests. Our goal is to provide our guests with great customer service, clean and comfortable rooms at a great rate that is amongst the most reasonable on the Island. Room rates on the Island are higher than the Mainland due to the Island's remote location. As you mentioned we don't have an onsite restaurant but there are many wonderful restaurants located nearby. Again, we appreciate your feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The flowers and the grounds around the hotel were the outstanding features of the two story hotel motel. The bed coverings were very nice and other furnishings were basic motel quality. The microwave and refrigerator were handy but the room width counter top was an afterthought that did not hide previous plumbing that had been capped off. The bathroom was small but new fixtures made it very presentable. The one major gripe was the uphill climb to the motel that was almost ONE MILE from the wharf with bags and no cab insight insight. When the booking was made, we were told it was 5/8ths of a mile . We were not happy with the deceptive information and the innkeeper was defensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchy55McKinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding the grounds of Inn. We are almost a mile from the ferry landing and this is definitely a long walk with luggage. We concur with you regarding the countertops in our Deluxe Queen rooms. They are part of the old room layout and design and will be changed out in the off season. Again, we appreciate your great feedback. We hope to serve you better in the future. Kindest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A bit pricey, but worth it! We booked two rooms and both were extremely clean and comfortable. The staff was VERY patient with us while helping with dinner reservations and breakfast recommendations. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for the review of the Discovery Inn. We love to hear when our guests have had great experiences with our staff and have enjoyed their rooms as you have. We do hope you can make it back to the island again for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Most of the hotels near the ferry were booked so we chose Discovery Inn. The staff were extremely friendly and the room was clean, with a microwave and frig. For the price, however, it was a bit small and there were few amenities other than the free Keurig coffee. Pool was very small and hot tub wasn't hot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My boyfriend and i booked the cheapest available place to stay on friday harbour- this was it! and it exceeded out expectations. the place was quiet and friendly and very clean! The only problem was that the room got very warm very quickly but that was sorted out once the windows were opened for about 10-15 mins. the staff were very friendly and helpful. we were offered great recommendations for places to eat and they booked our whale watching tour for us, which was also perfect! all the whale watching tours were about $80 per person for 3 hours. we had hired a car which had made it easier to get around the island, however, the main area is friday harbour where everything is within walking distance. discovery inn is about 5 mins by car away from the harbour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hyuheenata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place just says "comfortable" when you drive into the parking lot. The rooms are standard but have everything you need (you didn't come to San Juan Island to stay in your hotel room, after all!), and the staff is WONDERFUL. We were told of many don't-miss things to do when we checked in, and they all were great. The hot tub is a nice feature, and with our two teenage girls in tow, we enjoyed the openness of the grounds. Road noise wasn't a problem at all, despite what some reviewers note, but if we stayed here again we'd probably ask for a room upstairs so that we wouldn't hear the people above us getting ready to leave for the 5a.m. ferry....

Room Tip: Ask for a top-floor room if the hotel is fully booked and you don't want to hear people above yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MStarAsaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
530 reviews
12.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Address: 1016 Guard St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#1 Best Value Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $98 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Discovery Inn is known as the friendly hotel in Friday Harbor on San Juan Island. Located a mile from the ferry landing, our hotel features spacious and clean rooms in a relaxing atmosphere with a delightful park-like setting. Our recently renovated rooms feature air-conditioning, private bath, one or two queen beds, Keurig coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi. Please be our guest and enjoy our renowned customer service, lovely property with yard games and sitting areas and decks with flowers, barbecues and our seasonal outdoor Jacuzzi (mid-March to October 31). The Discovery Inn provides free trip planning and concierge services. The Discovery Inn has been a family-owned and operated hotel for almost 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing