We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Fit!!”
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Fit!!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Just recently returned from a bike tour of San Juan Island. We couldn't have been happier with the Discovery Inn as our choice of accommodations. Close to town, comfortable, beautiful grounds but most importantly very warm and welcoming. The staff are like family.

Can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ground level corner room by the hot tub was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Manager at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed having you and your wife stay with us and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    100
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
147
194
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Black Diamond
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The hotel was close to town and easy to find. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Room was not fancy but was clean, functional and comfortable. Grounds were very nice and would be great during the summer. It was also the best priced hotel on the island. Definately would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Manager at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
We are delighted you stayed at our motel and had a pleasant experience. We enjoy hearing from our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are in the process of making renovations to the motel. If you travel to the island again we hope you will be able to enjoy some of the improvements to the motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This place is a great bargain for its locale in Friday Harbor. I could have walked from the ferry dock to the Inn which I plan to do next time I come. Although not fancy or modern, my room was comfortable and the managers were very friendly and helpful. My room had the basic amenities - a hair dryer, microwave, small refrigerator, and TV. I found the extensive grounds to be charming and they have a hot tub which altogether made for a relaxing visit.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozSSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Manager at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Discovery Inn. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and that you would come back to stay with us. As of last month, April, we are under new management and are excited about some of the improvements the motel is undergoing. We hope you come back and enjoy the motel and the island again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cody
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Cozy place to come back to. I have stayed several times over the years and will be back. The rooms are a little dated, but cozy. The fire place was a warm and plesant addition. Friendly staff and very clean. I wasn't expecting the ritz, so I felt great about the quality and price. The grounds are beautiful and the location is great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Manager at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
We are so glad you decided to stay at the Discovery Inn. It is always nice to hear that people have enjoyed their stay at the Inn. As of this month we are under new management and are in the process of making many new improvements in the rooms and on the grounds of the Inn. We are very excited about these changes. We hope that you will be able to come back soon and experience some of the things we are doing to improve our guests visits at the Discovery Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you when next you decide to visit Friday Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.7 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
489 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
493 reviews
12.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Property: Discovery Inn
Address: 1016 Guard St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing, this hotel is the only lodging facility on San Juan Island that offers rooms in a park-like setting. Our recently renovated hotel rooms are decorated in restful colors. The handsomely appointed rooms are designed for relaxing. They feature air-conditioning, a private bath, one or two queen beds, an in-room coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi. The Discovery Inn has been a family-owned and operated hotel for over 30 years. Enjoy an outdoor seasonal Jacuzzi, Adirondack-style chairs on the lawn, flowers, decks and barbecues. The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, spacious clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing