We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, Clean and Comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Friday Harbor Suites
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Tracy, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh, Clean and Comfortable!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Wow - this place was a pleasant surprise! We booked thru Clipper Vacations and paid a bit more than the other option. When I asked the booking agent the difference she mentioned that there was a lot more room here plus free breakfast so we said yes to Friday Harbor Suites. So glad we did! If you haven't been to Friday Harbor, the map looks like this is quite a bit further from town but it's a only a short block up from the other place and well worth it.
The thing that matters most to us is cleanliness and that was 5 star - not a speck anywhere. Next is that bed - it better be comfortable or there goes the vacation - again: perfect - not too firm, cushy enough to get a great night's sleep with nice linens and clean quiet room. And the room is truly a suite - kitchen w/ microwave, good sized fridge, decent counter space, sink, dishes and flatware and a counter top eating area with comfortable seating. Adjacent is a living room which opened onto a good-sized balcony with chairs and trees to look out on. In our case the living room had another queen bed and an excellent flat-screen TV. Bedroom has same TV and a full closet. There's a coat closet AND a hall closet with floor-to-ceiling shelving for storage if you stayed a week. Full-sized bathroom- spotless with good lighting, hair dryer and fan that actually works! (yes! :) Carpet was new and clean. Even the lobby decor and artwork was lovely along with the landscaping.
You will hear a few small planes landing at the airport nearby, mostly in the afternoon, none at night. It didn't bother us - in fact we liked seeing them from our room. It may be a bit quieter on the side away from the runway approach but the rooms are well insulated so shutting windows will be all that's needed if they bother you.
We walked down to town (Saturday Market was great) and with an armload of shopping the shuttle kindly took us back the 4 blocks altho we could have easily walked it. Car rental was just across the street. Breakfast had lots of choices including eggs,sausage and fresh fruit with pineapple that was very appreciated. The folks at the desk, driver and even breakfast attendant were nothing but gracious and helpful. We will definitely come back!
PS - don't miss the Mexican restaurant next door - great food, service and very generous margaritas!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fredngreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments! it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Please call me the next time you want to book a reservation for Friday Harbor and i will take care of the details personally.

We are working hard to improve and get better each and every day and I so appreciate all of the feedback!

Thank you so much :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
45
58
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San DIego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed at Friday Harbor Suites for five nights. The suites are very nice with separate bedroom (not always found) and roomy living room and bath. Each suite had an outdoor area with table and chairs (either patio or balcony). The hotel's van was available to take you to town or you could walk (5-7 minutes). The hotel's restaurant was Mexican and the food was good although the person seating customers was not the most hospitable person. Self serve breakfast was the standard fare. The workout room was nicely equipped although one piece of equipment was not working. The location is convenient to town and its amenities as well as the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bepaged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us at the Suites ! I'm glad to hear that you like the big rooms as much as I do :)
i passed the restaurant comments on to the restaurant owner and he will follow up with his staff on their meet and greet skills !

i hope you had a chance to go out and look for the whales; they are along the west side today.

Thanks again for your time to write the review and for all of your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Our group of 40 guests were treated to superb service throughout our stay. Staff were friendly, helpful and responded to a variety of individual requests to ensure our stay was perfect. Details were handled professionally and accurately, and the staff went above on beyond on several occasions. The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable. We could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for those great comments ; the staff was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and it was fun to have you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I brought a group of senior hikers to the Islands and had an outstanding stay.
The rooms were spacious and clean, staff helpful, breakfast very good and the hotel is just minutes from downtown Friday Harbor.
Don't expect a water view from the windows but you will get plenty of those by exploring San Juan. The only little problem were the pillows that were too large and bulky for some but that was it.
You will find no better deal for the quality anywhere else on the island.
I am coming back with another group in the fall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Steve,
Thank you so much for bringing your group to Friday Harbor Suites; they were a great bunch of people we all enjoyed having you here!

I am looking forward to seeing you again this Fall and hope you have a wonderful summer.

Thane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

All 4 adults would definitely stay again. First and foremost the rooms and surrounding area were clean, beds were comfortable, great extended comp. breakfast, price per room reasonably priced, staff friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Eileen,
It was a pleasure having you stay here at the Hotel ! Thank you so much for your kind remarks and I hope that you can come back and visit us here on San Juan Island again.
Thane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Arrived by ferry with the intention of staying one night, well,I will give credit where credit is due. One night turned into three, not because the weather was great or because of any festivities but because it's a wonderful hotel with an amazingly friendly, Knowledgable staff, I could go on forever but It's a bargain it is comfortable,quiet,and again the staff goes out of it's way to make sure their hotel is first rate in all departments.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one but if they are all similar you're in for a wonderful relaxing visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidunham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to seeing you again in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed while it was Best Western last fall...can't recommend it very highly if still operating the way it was then. Relatively certain this location used to be an assisted-living facility, which is only a bad thing because it still looks like it is. Decor felt like staying at Great Aunt Alma's but without the home-cooked meals. Wifi was horrendous, couldn't keep a signal for more than a few minutes at best. The best thing about our stay was that there was a box fan in the bedroom closet so we slept quite well.
Fairly good location just up the hill from the bustle of touristy downtown, still an easy walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoutsterkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you so much for the review. I just came on board as the new GM and so I took a look at our internet wifi speeds as a result of reading your review.
We were able to get Centurytel in here last week and they bumped the speed up to 25 so we are at full speed for our area.
We dropped the Best Western affiliation and are in process of new carpeting in all the rooms and have completed all of the public areas.
In addition, we have lowered our rates and are now running specials all the time; our currnet Spring Fling promotion runs now though May and is 40% off our regular rates.
Thanks for the feedback and making us better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday Harbor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor Suites

Property: Friday Harbor Suites
Address: 680 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8058 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Friday Harbor Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Friday Harbor Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable and friendly hotel in a quiet location just half a mile from the harbor - enjoy the unique architecture of a true island favorite. At Friday Harbor Suites you will have plenty of space to enjoy your scrupulously clean room with private patio and separate bedroom, plus a living room with a pull-out sofabed, and an eating area with refrigerator and microwave. A delicious hot breakfast buffet is complimentary, as is wifi, parking and on-demand shuttle service to the ferry, the airport, the harbor, shopping and local in-town restaurants. Ask the friendly front desk staff for suggestions for beautiful walking and sightseeing trails, and scenic drives that will take you around the island before returning to your beautiful private suite. Friday Harbor Suites isn't snooty - it simply offers the most comfortable and spacious rooms on San Juan Island. We now have a four bedroom 3 bath house available for rent on the property and it is a great way to save money if you are looking for multiple rooms at a great price ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Friday Harbor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Best Western
Friday Harbor Suites San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing