We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Home Away From Home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, Washington
1 review
“Home Away From Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited the San Juan Islands about two weeks ago where we stayed with Doug and Roxy and it was a truly memorable experience. We were a little skeptical at first because we've never stayed at a bed and breakfast before but they helped us feel right at home. Very welcoming and generous. They went out of their way to ensure that we were settled in, gave us information about restaurants, sites to visit, the list goes on. With special dietary needs, they went out of their way to meet them. After a long day of trekking and sight seeing, we were always welcomed back with smiles, gluten free treats in our room and so much more. Roxy is quite the gluten free baker! It was a blessing to be able to sit down at breakfast with complete strangers and leave out friends. Doug makes an awesome parfait for breakfast (I'm not a fan of parfaits but he has changed my mind!). This is definitely a place that I would recommend to anyone and would gladly go back anytime. It's worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Veranda Room and it was lovely! Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanuvasa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
397
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Kirk House Bed and Breakfast is a WONDERFUL place to stay. Awesome relaxing porch to lounge and relax. There was 5 of us all together, all the rooms were great. Roxy and Doug are the heart of the B&B. Their attention to detail is fantastic. My sister was getting married on the island, they went out of there way to make their time there extra special. And the breakfast each morning was fabulous and they even made us 'breakfast to go' on the morning we had to leave and catch the ferry.

The Kirk House B&B is walking distance to the town and easy to get to all the cool shops, bars and restaurants.

It's a wonderful place! A little slice of heaven on earth!

We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonE_reddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 days but wish we could have stayed longer! Loved the morning coffee basket by your door at 7am, the homemade afternoon snacks, the wonderful breakfasts. Beautiful house and beautiful hosts! Doug and Roxy went above and beyond to make sure we had a perfect time. The house is located within walking distance to the town which is a big plus!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vudulily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My son was getting married on Friday Harbor and he and his fiancee, decided on the Kirk House for our accomodations. We were a small wedding party of just 5 people! I absolutely enjoyed every minute of my stay. Roxy and Doug were the perfect hosts and made the stay very welcoming. The house is clean, well appointed with lovely antiques that complement each room. I stayed in the Garden room and loved it, there is even a special sitting area outside of the room that can be accessed through French doors. There are plenty of outside seating areas including a wrap around porch. The breakfasts were delicious and so were the afternoon snacks. Roxy and Doug went out of their way to make my son's wedding celebration special. The Kirk house is within a few minutes walk of Friday Harbor so you don't even need a car. I would highly recommend the Kirk house to anyone wanting to stay on Friday Harbor. Thank you again Roxy and Doug for making my son's wedding celebration so special by going above and beyond!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
232 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just finished our three week vacation in the Pacific Northwest with friends. One of the highlights of our vacation was the wonderful stay at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast for two nights at Friday Harbor, Washington. Roxy and Doug are gracious hosts and made our stay there so very accommodating. As frequent B&B guests, I would highly recommend the Kirk House B&B to any traveler visiting the famous San Juan Islands. I included a few pictures as well to highlight the history and beauty of the area. The breakfast was particularly impressive to include a parfait with superb homemade granola complemented with the freshest fruit to include blueberries. The historical home is appointed well and features antiques to complement the beauty all around. The Garden Room was very spacious and included all the modern conveniences you would expect. Even WiFi was provided and those fresh cookies were out of this world. On the last morning, we had to leave for the early ferry departure. Roxy and Doug accommodated our request with the best takeout breakfast I have ever had to include the famous granola. :) In sum, if we return to the Pacific Northwest again, we will surely stay at the Kirk House B&B. Thanks Roxy and Doug for a great stay. Best wishes.

Room Tip: We loved the Garden Room. It was located at the back of the Inn and faced a beautiful garden away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budrock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were fortunate enough to find this wonderful bed and breakfast! The hosts are so friendly and welcoming. You feel right at home. The craftsman styled home is beautifully decorated, well maintained, and very clean. The beds are comfortable and rooms are private. The breakfasts the hosts serve were wonderful! You don't leave hungry! The accommodations offer little to be desired. We would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet and quaint get away which is centrally located to the main part of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DwightandVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a wonderful 3-night stay at the Kirk House in Friday Harbor. Hosts Roxie and Doug were the most gracious hosts we have ever experienced in all of our stays at B&B's. Breakfasts were delicious and presented very well. Home baked goodies in the afternoon. Very comfortable room, included tv and wifi. A few blocks from town. Enjoyed spending time in the parlor. Interesting architecture and décor. You could tell that Roxie and Doug loved what they were doing.

Room Tip: We were in the Garden Room. Did not see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaverydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing