We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My son was getting married on Friday Harbor and he and his fiancee, decided on the Kirk House for our accomodations. We were a small wedding party of just 5 people! I absolutely enjoyed every minute of my stay. Roxy and Doug were the perfect hosts and made the stay very welcoming. The house is clean, well appointed with lovely antiques that complement each room. I stayed in the Garden room and loved it, there is even a special sitting area outside of the room that can be accessed through French doors. There are plenty of outside seating areas including a wrap around porch. The breakfasts were delicious and so were the afternoon snacks. Roxy and Doug went out of their way to make my son's wedding celebration special. The Kirk house is within a few minutes walk of Friday Harbor so you don't even need a car. I would highly recommend the Kirk house to anyone wanting to stay on Friday Harbor. Thank you again Roxy and Doug for making my son's wedding celebration so special by going above and beyond!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
385
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
219 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just finished our three week vacation in the Pacific Northwest with friends. One of the highlights of our vacation was the wonderful stay at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast for two nights at Friday Harbor, Washington. Roxy and Doug are gracious hosts and made our stay there so very accommodating. As frequent B&B guests, I would highly recommend the Kirk House B&B to any traveler visiting the famous San Juan Islands. I included a few pictures as well to highlight the history and beauty of the area. The breakfast was particularly impressive to include a parfait with superb homemade granola complemented with the freshest fruit to include blueberries. The historical home is appointed well and features antiques to complement the beauty all around. The Garden Room was very spacious and included all the modern conveniences you would expect. Even WiFi was provided and those fresh cookies were out of this world. On the last morning, we had to leave for the early ferry departure. Roxy and Doug accommodated our request with the best takeout breakfast I have ever had to include the famous granola. :) In sum, if we return to the Pacific Northwest again, we will surely stay at the Kirk House B&B. Thanks Roxy and Doug for a great stay. Best wishes.

Room Tip: We loved the Garden Room. It was located at the back of the Inn and faced a beautiful garden away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budrock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were fortunate enough to find this wonderful bed and breakfast! The hosts are so friendly and welcoming. You feel right at home. The craftsman styled home is beautifully decorated, well maintained, and very clean. The beds are comfortable and rooms are private. The breakfasts the hosts serve were wonderful! You don't leave hungry! The accommodations offer little to be desired. We would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet and quaint get away which is centrally located to the main part of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DwightandVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a wonderful 3-night stay at the Kirk House in Friday Harbor. Hosts Roxie and Doug were the most gracious hosts we have ever experienced in all of our stays at B&B's. Breakfasts were delicious and presented very well. Home baked goodies in the afternoon. Very comfortable room, included tv and wifi. A few blocks from town. Enjoyed spending time in the parlor. Interesting architecture and décor. You could tell that Roxie and Doug loved what they were doing.

Room Tip: We were in the Garden Room. Did not see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaverydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
314 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by Roxy and a few minutes later by Doug. We felt very welcomed to The Kirk House. It was very enjoyable to chat with them about their family and ours. They only have been the B&B inn keepers since November 2011, so I would disregard any comments about the hosts prior to that time. Roxy had prepared delicious butterscotch bars and fruit which were available in the parlor for the guests. Beverages were also available.

There are four bedrooms which all have a door to the common parlor in which breakfast is served. All rooms also have a door which opens to the outside. The bed was very comfortable and we heard no noise during the night. The home, built in 1907, does have thin walls, so it is possible to hear muffled sound from the parlor or another room. However, we did not hear this during the night.

The breakfast was excellent. After eating the granola parfait with fruit, we would have been satisfied. Also served was french toast and bacon, coffee or tea and juice.

Doug and Roxy do not live in the B&B, but in a home next to it. There is a phone in the B&B on which they can be called at any time if you need them.

We would definitely go back to the Kirk House when we visit Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdcwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Friendly, helpful and great cooks are the owners. It was a delight to take time to chat with them. Comfy bed, fabulous Craftsman decor and the perfect location to walk into town. It was also nice that the guests ate together...we always like talking to the other guests to find out where they are from and what sites they have seen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyMagdalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We recently returned from a 3 day stay at the Kirk House . We visited with our daughter and her husband, a widely traveled couple. As stated by many reviews Roxy and Doug are the perfect B&B hosts. They have only been operating the inn for 1 1/2 yrs (so note the old reviews don't apply any longer), they welcome you like old friends. The breakfast is awesome starting with the best granola, yogurt and fruit parfait. Their recommendations for activities are right on. We went out with the Western Prince Whale watch it is was perfect. The house is a 1900's house that has been nicely converted for guests. The location is about a 10 minute walk to town. The beds and amenities are top notch. We left knowing we made new friends and will surely recommend this house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#6 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Earthbox Inn & Spa
Earthbox Inn & Spa
#7 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing