We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were fortunate enough to find this wonderful bed and breakfast! The hosts are so friendly and welcoming. You feel right at home. The craftsman styled home is beautifully decorated, well maintained, and very clean. The beds are comfortable and rooms are private. The breakfasts the hosts serve were wonderful! You don't leave hungry! The accommodations offer little to be desired. We would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet and quaint get away which is centrally located to the main part of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DwightandVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
372
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a wonderful 3-night stay at the Kirk House in Friday Harbor. Hosts Roxie and Doug were the most gracious hosts we have ever experienced in all of our stays at B&B's. Breakfasts were delicious and presented very well. Home baked goodies in the afternoon. Very comfortable room, included tv and wifi. A few blocks from town. Enjoyed spending time in the parlor. Interesting architecture and décor. You could tell that Roxie and Doug loved what they were doing.

Room Tip: We were in the Garden Room. Did not see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaverydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
314 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by Roxy and a few minutes later by Doug. We felt very welcomed to The Kirk House. It was very enjoyable to chat with them about their family and ours. They only have been the B&B inn keepers since November 2011, so I would disregard any comments about the hosts prior to that time. Roxy had prepared delicious butterscotch bars and fruit which were available in the parlor for the guests. Beverages were also available.

There are four bedrooms which all have a door to the common parlor in which breakfast is served. All rooms also have a door which opens to the outside. The bed was very comfortable and we heard no noise during the night. The home, built in 1907, does have thin walls, so it is possible to hear muffled sound from the parlor or another room. However, we did not hear this during the night.

The breakfast was excellent. After eating the granola parfait with fruit, we would have been satisfied. Also served was french toast and bacon, coffee or tea and juice.

Doug and Roxy do not live in the B&B, but in a home next to it. There is a phone in the B&B on which they can be called at any time if you need them.

We would definitely go back to the Kirk House when we visit Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdcwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Friendly, helpful and great cooks are the owners. It was a delight to take time to chat with them. Comfy bed, fabulous Craftsman decor and the perfect location to walk into town. It was also nice that the guests ate together...we always like talking to the other guests to find out where they are from and what sites they have seen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyMagdalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We recently returned from a 3 day stay at the Kirk House . We visited with our daughter and her husband, a widely traveled couple. As stated by many reviews Roxy and Doug are the perfect B&B hosts. They have only been operating the inn for 1 1/2 yrs (so note the old reviews don't apply any longer), they welcome you like old friends. The breakfast is awesome starting with the best granola, yogurt and fruit parfait. Their recommendations for activities are right on. We went out with the Western Prince Whale watch it is was perfect. The house is a 1900's house that has been nicely converted for guests. The location is about a 10 minute walk to town. The beds and amenities are top notch. We left knowing we made new friends and will surely recommend this house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It is the eve before we leave this amazing B&B after a 5 night stay. I couldn't wait to get on here to tell all of you travelers that you can stop searching for the best place--this is it! We take our coveted time away very seriously and were looking for some important things: 1) Relaxation - time and space to relax. Check! We enjoyed the double hammock, the comfy loveseat on the porch, the garden seating right out our back door. 2) Accessibility -We were close enough to town that we didn't need a car on the island. We got around with no problem, but were still enough off the beaten path that we had an amazing amount of privacy and quiet. 3) Ease and Comfort - We had absolutely everything we could need right here. Each day started with a delicous breakfast- vegetarian and still with plenty of protein :), bottles of water were stocked in our fridge everyday, yummy snacks in the afternoon (it was an immediate flash back to childhood to walk in the door and smell the baked goods each afternoon), high end amenities like the lavender toiletries and even a high end blower dryer. The bed was to die for--I slept like a baby at night and still found a way to doze off for an afternoon nap as the island breeze blew in through our french doors.

The thing we weren't expecting was to find the most gracious and wonderful couple, Doug and Roxy. They were kind, considerate, open, genuine, helpful, and everything a host and hostess should be. We enjoyed our relaxed after-breakfast discussions and never feeling like we were rushed. We also enjoyed how they embraced us as a gay couple without blinking an eye or making us feel that we were any different than any of the other hundreds of guests who have stayed here.

Mission accomplished. We are leaving our vacation feeling replenished, rejuvenated, and relaxed thanks to the Kirk House B&B.

Room Tip: We peeked into every room and thought they were equally lovely. We stayed in the Arbor Room which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were really warmly greeted by Doug and Roxy and during our intial chat I mentioned that I was gluten/ wheat intollerent but did not expect a fuss. Roxy went out of her way to accomodate me, and her amazing granola breakfast was to die for. When we returned home from a kayaking trip (which she provided a delicious take away breakfast for us) she had been to the farmers market for gluten free cake!
The morning basket of tea and coffee at 7am was unexpected and delightful. We stayed for two nights but wished we had accomodated more. I loved the lavender toiletries and purchased some before we left the island. Dougs recommendations of happy hour and the evening meal were both terrific. We would definitely stay again! Although I know that my husband may have bored Doug with his love of english football.

Room Tip: We had the Veranda room - it was the best sleep of our whole two week trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MakemycakePenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing