We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not satisfied”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
the villages, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not satisfied”
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Plan on taking a car, the walk from the ferry is uphill and several blocks long.

The room had flies that kept buzzing around and annoying us.

Trying to sleep at night was not easy due to planes taking off and landing at the nearby airport. These planes flew almost directly over the house.

The rules for staying here were quite strict. Breakfast was served promptly at 9:00 A.M. with only small portions of food. For the hardy appetites this was not enough.

The physical surroundings were like living in a museum. We were told that any breakage resulted in prompt payment or we would be sued.

When staying in the Friday Harbor area, other alternatives may be more suitable.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank davea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirkHouse, Owners at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2008
We are sorry that this reviewer felt compelled to submit this review, especially when he or his wife wrote the following in our Comment Book:

"Lovely home and beautiful gardens. Very comfortable and relaxing. Great breakfasts! We'll recommend you to friends & family."

Shortly thereafter, this guest somehow managed to smash an original and irreplaceable 101 year old window. The only thing the window company could do was put in a pane of normal glass at a cost of $105.00. As this severe damage was over and above normal wear and tear, this guest was presented with the $105.00 bill. His response was that he would not pay for his own damage and that we should submit a claim to our insurance company. When we suggested that this was not an appropriate response he paid this nominal amount.

As to the balance of his "review", it contains many incorrect facts, is contrary to the many TripAdvisor comments as seen in our listing, and is contrary to the guest's own comment quoted above.

We always strive to exceed our guest's expectations. Unfortunately, it appears that this guest is trying to "get even" with us by submitting a false and malicious review.

We have a beautiful 101 year old historic home and would welcome seeing you when you visit beautiful Friday Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
409
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Juneau
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed at The Kirk House in February on an all-too-brief trip to the San Juans. The accommodation is exquisite and Debbie and Allen, the hosts are wonderfully welcoming and informative. We'd be delighted to return!

  • Liked — Quiet and friendly.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Uniquefergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

We wanted a romantic B&B to help celebrate our 15th anniversary and we found it with the Kirk House. From the moment we were met at the door by Debbie to the time we left everything was perfect from the ambiance to the comfortable bed to the snacks to the delicious breakfasts. And even something that couldn't be controlled -- we had wonderful tablemates each day at breakfast as well. There is no question as to where we'll stay the next time we go to San Juan Island.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beachreader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2007

My husband and I stayed at The Kirk House B&B for our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful stay in the Arbor Room. The house was impeccable, and our room was tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. Each morning, Debbie served her award-winning granola which was delicious -- I'll be making her recipe shortly -- and in the afternoon she set out freshly baked cookies. We visited during off-season so got a deal on our stay, but would consider staying there during high-season as well. It's within walking distance to downtown Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildhonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Debbie and Allen, the hosts at the Kirk House B&B will meet you at the door, show you to your charming room, the fresh plate of cookies and coffee/tea bar, give you all the basic info you need and get out of your hair allowing you to discover Friday Harbor and the San Juan Islands at your own pace.

We stayed in the Garden Room, the smallest of the four rooms in the house, and were quite comfortable. I believe we paid about $150 per night with tax. The queen-sized bed was comfortable, the room was very clean and the charm of the old building was irresistable. I recommend liking the person you're staying with. Otherwise, this particular room might be a little snug. Other rooms are more spacious, with bathtubs, rather than a standing room only shower. Of course, you'll pay a bit more for those.

There are old stained glass windows above the main windown in the room which do allow light in the room in the morning and throughout the day. So, if you need absolute darkness to sleep, this isn't the place for you. (I found the soft amber light just perfect for afternoon naps!) I've also learned that harbor towns can be a little noisy. There are two small airports on the island and the seaplanes can be loud. I got used to them by day two. Some people find them too loud for comfort. The downtown area of Friday Harbor can be loud, too. The ferry docks with a blow and the cars driving on and off the ferry can be noisy. That's why I was glad we didn't stay on the waterfront. I don't think it would have been quiet enough for sleep in the mornings and when the bars close at night.

Debbie makes tasty breakfasts! I am IN LOVE with the Kirk House granola. Debbie told me I can find the recipe on the website. I love her willingness to share!

The B&B is not on the waterfront, but just a few blocks away from the dock and the bustle of downtown.

While we were there, the Friday Harbor High School Wolverines were taking on the King's Cross Knights of Shoreline, Wash. for the first home football game of the season. We sat on the porch, watched the game and enjoyed the charm of a small town on game day. (Ask Allen to tell you the story about their neighbor and the touchdown cannon blasts.)

There's plenty of room from privacy at the Kirk House. Debbie and Allen are there if you need them, but don't hover. They can point you to the best places on San Juan Island to view orcas. We were lucky enough to see all three pods in one day! (We're lucky... the couple who stayed in the same room the four nights before we arrived went whale watching everyday and didn't see one orca!)

I really enjoyed my three nights at this B&B.

Restaurants: Every dinning establishment is casual on the island, but some are higher scale than others. And nothing's really cheap. We expected that. It's a tourist hot spot that has to make the most of the summer, right?

Backdoor Kitchen: $$$ (on $-$$$$ scale), tasty, good service. This was our fancy "date dinner." Reservations on warm summer nights are a good idea. I had the chicken and mushroom pasta. It was good, but not extremely memorable. My handsome date had the fresh salmon... a much better choice. It was excellent. Perfectly seared and topped with a refreshing tomato-citrus salsa. The stuffed corn masa cake as an appetizer is really splendid. The two cocktails were okay, but lacking in presentation.

Downriggers: local hot spot with spectacular view of the harbor, $$-$$$, fresh fish, service was slow but friendly. I had the fresh salmon.

Front Street Ale House: pub fare, pizza, $-$$. I wasn't amazed by the food, but it was definitely edible. What more can you ask for from a pub? The beer was cold.

Roche Harbor's Madrona Bar & Grill: On the opposite side of San Juan Island. Very tasty! $$. I recommend the lamb burger with the house slaw. Always a 20+ minute wait on warm summer days. Lovely view of gorgeous boats from the desk. Seahawks game on the TV inside the bar.

  • Liked — It's old fashioned charm and easy access to dowtown/dining at Friday Harbor.
  • Disliked — A secure bike rack would have been nice, but that's it, really.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank feliciaheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

The Kirk house was a first class experience throughout our three day stay. Allen and Deb were great hosts, while the room and food were flawless. Friday Harbor is a very enjoyable, relaxing place to visit, and the Kirk House accentuated every experience.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Mama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

The Kirk House looks like an untouched model Craftsman home. The wallpaper, furnishings, woodwork, etc. are all exquisite.

We stayed in a room that had been converted from a dining room, The shower was HUGE. Very comfortable room & bed, and gourmet breakfasts.

As others have commented, it is an easy walk to all the downtown restaurants, shops, and the ferry.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJTJBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing