We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kirk House B&B in Friday Harbor”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This B&B with hosts Roxie and Doug was the highlight of our vacation, and that's saying a lot since we'd taken an AmTrak from Seattle to Vancouver, ferries to both Victoria and Friday Harbor and even a sea plane from Friday Harbor back to Seattle! My husband and I have stayed at many great B&B's both in the United States and internationally, and this one gets top marks! Our bedroom was roomy, beautifully arranged with large private show and claw-foot bathtub, and very clean. The food prepared both as an afternoon snack and morning breakfast were delicious and filling. This is the place to stay at in Friday Harbor! Rates were very reasonable, especially with the personalized and warm service. Three other couples we met at this B&B felt the same way.

Room Tip: All rooms are special as we saw the others when the three other couples vacated. We enjoyed relaxin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia_Thorstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 610 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

The other reviews I just read were spot on! We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Kirk House in early July....Roxie and Doug made the visit so special, it felt like visiting old friends. Accommodations were excellent, wonderful breakfasts, bath products etc down to every detail a traveler might need such as chilled lemon water in our room and a private coffee basket every morning outside our door to enjoy before going out to socialize with others.

We chose Kirk House based on reviews such as this and now we know how authentic those comments were. Book now....you will be happy you did!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakeLover60615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Be prepared to be spoiled by Doug and Roxy who own, run and manage this B&B. They are so welcoming and thoughtful. No matter what we asked for, they tried to provide it. Everything is done with care and a sincere desire to make their guest comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed the afternoon snack as well. Well located and an easy walk to downtown, free parking as well. It's the little things that make this a great choice to stay in Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in the Arbor Room and were very impressed by our hosts' hospitality and generosity. Roxy and Doug allowed us to keep our bags at the house even after we had checked out and were biking around San Juan. They were so welcoming and friendly. The granola served in parfaits during breakfast was the best food we ate on the island, and we were impressed and surprised that they provided a tea service in the morning for those of us waking up early.

The rooms were wonderful to be in because of the interesting details (very 1920's art-deco). When we first showed up there was swing music playing in our room and a nice cold pitcher of water with lemon. I immeditaly took a nap as the bed was very comfortable and the french doors opened to let in sunshine and a breeze. The Arbor Room feels like a true vacation. Yes, the bathroom was small, but who wants to spend their trip in the bathroom anyways? It was clean and servicable.

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast and will definitely be back there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I just spent a wonderful long weekend in Friday Harbor. We stayed at the Kirk House which a beautifully restored craftsman B&B in downtown Friday Harbor. Our stay was wonderful, the food was great, the proprietors Doug and Roxy extraordinarily customer focused, hospitable and gracious, and the home/our room was very nice, comfortable and beautiful. The house is just outside of downtown, a nice/short walk to town/the harbor and very convenient. We whale watched (really fun, and saw loads of things), went sea kayaking and rented a GEO tracker and explored hikes around the island. Or favorite meal was at the Bluff but we heard Duck Soup Inn was spectacular if you can get a reso. They were closed the night we wanted to go. Lunch at Roche Harbor was fun as well...

Room Tip: They are all nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Owners Doug and Roxy put a lot of effort into their B&B and my wife and I were the happy recipients. The location, close to the center of Friday harbor, yet on a quiet street, was perfect. Our room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The shower was amazing. Good breakfasts and significant afternoon snacks were delicious. Their tips on where to go we're right on. Friday harbor proved to be a perfect place for a relaxing stop on a long road trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have stayed in B&B's in the U.S. and in Europe, and this ranks at the top! Beautiful place with well appointed rooms, and so many special touches! The breakfast was amazing---- the yogurt/ fruit/granola parfait is the best! Roxy and Doug help you with dinner choices, provide you with all kinds of local information and suggestions, and are just the warmest, most pleasant folks! They truly have thought of everything possible to make a stay in this beautiful place the best it can be. We WILL be back here sometime!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
162 reviews
5.1 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $140 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing