We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous B&B in Friday Harbor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fabulous B&B in Friday Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I spent an amazing three night weekend at the Kirk House. The accommodation was
top notch, complete with in room fireplace and coffee on the doorstep first thing in the morning.
the breakfasts were delicious (but took real discipline to avoid overeating, it was all too good).
Doug and Roxy are wonderful hosts, we felt most welcome, and are keen to return. San Juan and
Friday Harbor are most pleasant, well worth the trip and exciting to explore by scoot-coup!!

Room Tip: they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
399
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I and two other couples stayed at Kirk House B&B for 4 nights in June. We used Kirk House as a base camp while we bicycled the San Juan Islands. Both Roxy and Doug were very helpful to making us all feel welcome and securely storing our bicycles during our visit. I'm allergic to milk and Roxy was VERY careful of my dietary restriction. Their B&B is beautifully decorated and the gardens are well taken care of. We all looked forward to returning each afternoon after a day of bicycling to Roxy's cookies or cake that she'd laid out for us.

Room Tip: Each room is beautifully decorated so you won't go wrong with whatever room you select.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequent_traveler290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Kirk House on a recent 11 day trip to the San Juan Islands and Seattle. The Kirk House in Friday Harbor was base camp for our explorations of all of San Juan Island. The sumptuous breakfasts were fantastic and we always looked forward to our afternoon tea and snack after playing tourists for the day. Doug and Roxy were quick to provide guide books, tide tables or advice for our daily explorations. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Kirk House. Doug and Roxy are wonderful hosts who make you feel at home. In addition to serving a delicious breakfast, they had great recommendations for dining on the island and where to go on daytime excursions. We stayed in the Arbor Room, which is beautifully decorated and has an extremely comfortable bed. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Kirk House. Roxy and Doug are perfect hosts sharing their home and information about the island. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely patio outside our room. Once we had breakfast, starting with Doug's morning parfait, there was little need for lunch. Roxy always had a delicious treat for afternoon tea.

Getting around the I-5 detour near Mt. Vernon, took not more than 30 minutes. The bridge detour should not be a reason to avoid the San Juan Islands this summer.

Sandy and David S.

Room Tip: All are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Kirk House. Seven members of our family had a reunion and had the entire house to ourselves. We had such a good time--morning coffee on the porch, afternoon snacks on the porch, superb breakfasts, and wonderfully pleasant hosts in Doug and Roxy. A wonderful place to relax in such a peaceful, beautiful environment. It was a first time stay for all of us. Wish we lived closer so we could take advantage of staying at Kirk House oftener. Recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Each room has its unique characteristics. Beautiful decor. Every room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

All that is written about Doug and Roxy and their welcome at Kirk House is true. The house and gardens are charming as are the rooms. Doug and Roxy were warm, friendly and helpful. There were 3 of us in three single rooms and we were all very pleased. Actually that is an understatement, we couldn't think of a better place and way to start our 4 days in the San Juan Islands! Highly recommend and would happily return.

Room Tip: All four rooms have their own charm and are accurately described on the website.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank travelamalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing