We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walter Family's Visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Doug and Roxy made us feel very at home, the place was absolutely lovely, as Craftsman Style homes and antiques are a favorite of ours. The breakfast and snacks were delicious, everything is home made and there isn't anything more we could have asked for. I would recommend this place to everyone I know. Collectively the "Walters" had 3 rooms, as our in-laws were also in town, and it felt like it was our home while we were there. In town for Mom's 80th birthday, and it was a great success.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. We felt privileged to have your family stay with us while you celebrated a family birthday! Nothing is more fun than to have the
B & B full of the same family. Hope to see you again when you make another trip this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 611 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

We came to Friday Harbour on a cold and windy day by ferry as foot passengers to come for a less then 24 hr stay. Purpose: to see a sail boat that was for sale that was so longingly desired. So spirits were high and hopeful that we would have a 'fabulous first date abroad' as Yves put it. He had searched the B&B's and this one came up as the one chosen for it's history and romantic potential intertwined into one.

We are very sociable couple but can be completely content being isolated and alone with each other. The proprietors meet both those qualities equally with their engaging conversations and privacy when we indicated it as so with no words required. Attention to detail throughout the establishment from lavender sachet on the pillow, fresh flowers, logs ready to burn in our fireplace (not all have one but we did in the Veranda Room) and freshly made hot mulled cider and cake out of the oven in the late afternoon upon our arrival.

Roxy and Doug are from the East coast and have brought their sophisticated charm with them with a very relaxed, accommodating and easy going personalities. We had a prepared breakfast to go ready at our door for early check out to catch a ferry, and we gobbled it up with such delight once we were on the water. The yogurt parfaits in the morning that Doug makes are the best! I loved, loved, loved the fresh (not frozen) berries and homemade granola topping. Great wholesome baking/cooking even if it was in a to go bag as we were racing to catch a ferry in the morning.... Much thanks to Doug for getting us down there on time which was an unexpected added courtesy bonus.

This couple and the B&B itself is full of bonus' and little secret surprises, of which I can attest from being able to look at the rooms they had available before other guests arrived! Oh, I can't wait to try the four claw tub room next time... but I sure did like the fireplace,,, hard to chose. See you in the near future there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

We so enjoyed you guys staying at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast - we only wish it had been for longer! All the special touches that you mentioned make it fun to be the proprietor - we want guests to notice and feel pampered while relaxing at the Kirk House. Next time - we promise the "spa-like" tub experience will be just as wonderful as the fireplace. Hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was a lovely stay at the Kirk House Bed and Breakfast and the hospitality by Doug and Roxy was just so loving. Appreciate all the hard work and effort that they put into making the stay a pleasant-full experience.

Room Tip: The "arbor room" was quieter with a beautiful garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smile0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Doug & I were so glad you stayed at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. Thank you for taking your time to write the review and sharing your thoughts with others. We know TripAdvisor is consulted for many of the travelers to the San Juan Island, and we want them to know what a great place Friday Harbor is as well as the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A stay at the Kirk House B&B is something I would recommend to everyone! Roxy and Doug are great hosts! There were cookies waiting when we arrived, coffee outside our door in the morning, an amazing breakfast each morning and great conversation!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

We so appreciate the great review you wrote for us and the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. It was our pleasure to host you guys and enjoyed every wonderful minute. How great to see the rain coming down and you guys not even caring as you were so intent on putting together the Christmas puzzle. Wish you could have stayed longer!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent three fabulous nights at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast! We loved the history and beautiful details of the house. The Veranda Room was lovely! It had a fireplace, a huge walk-in shower and a large comfortable bed. We spent one night in The Arbor Room which was very nice as well. Doug and Roxy were the perfect host and hostess. They instantly made us feel welcome and comfortable. The breakfasts that they prepared every morning were exceptional! Each morning we awoke to a delicious yogurt, fruit, and granola parfait, followed by a gourmet waffle, pancake, or egg dish. Scrumptious! We found ourselves spending much of our time in the large common area of the house because we so enjoyed talking to Doug and Roxy. We were also pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed spending time with the other couples that we met during our stay. Doug and Roxy helped us with every detail of our daily adventures. They had lots of recommendations for restaurants in town. When we left The Kirk House, we felt like we were leaving behind family! We will definitely be returning to The Kirk House soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbcurtis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Have you booked your return trip yet?!! We absolutely loved you guys staying at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. One of the best parts of doing this B & B job is meeting great guests like you and having the camaraderie between all the guests. That particular weekend stands out as one of the best where all the guests enjoyed just spending time in the parlor chatting with each other. We so appreciate you writing the great review - thank you! You are now considered "almost" family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a great experience at the Kirk House. Roxy and Doug really know how to make their guests feel welcome and relaxed. They were so accommodating. The beds were very comfortable, rooms were clean, good location, fresh flowers, coffee by the door in the morning and breakfast was amazing!! I highly recommend the Kirk House to those traveling to Friday Harbor!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We so appreciate you taking the time to do the great review. We were so happy to have you guys stay at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast! What an incredible weekend even though we had to have rain jackets most of the time. So glad you found the extra touches - like the fresh flowers in each room and our robust coffee first thing - to your liking. And the parlor proved to be a wonderful place to put together a puzzle on a rainy afternoon! Can hardly wait to see you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our stay at the Kirkhouse B&B was a wonderful experience. We stayed for a whole weekend in October. Roxy and Doug are superb proprietors that deliver the special touches that make the Kirkhouse B&B a standout property. The beds are superb, the rooms are spacious, the food was fabulous.

We needed to catch an early ferry on Sunday, and were thrilled to be greeted by Doug and Roxy early in the morning before we left with a great hot "take out" breakfast, coffee and juice!

The special extra details Roxy and Doug add is what puts this B&B a cut above any others I have stayed at. We can't wait to get back for another stay!

Room Tip: We rented all of the rooms at the B&B and everyone was pleased with their rooms. They each have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

What a great review - thank you! You guys made for a very special weekend at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. We loved hosting a Gonzaga get together - and having the whole house to do that in. Now that sparks another idea - any takers for a weekend ZAG game watch? So glad you were able to see how incredible the island is (even through all the rain drops) and how comfortable the B & B is. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#9 of 11 in Friday Harbor
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $140 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing