We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Earthbox Inn & Spa(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Friday Harbor Suites(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bird Rock Hotel(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Friday Harbor House(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Island Inn at 123 West(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Orca Inn(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Inn(Friday Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Edenwild Boutique Inn(Lopez Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveler rating
583
25
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
583
25
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsveranda roomparfaitcoffee basketb bperfect hostsprivate gardeneach morningwrap around porchcraftsman homelemon waterafternoon goodiesgranolahouse is beautifulcraftsman stylearts and craftssan juan islandlavender toiletries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
488 - 493 of 613 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our time at the Kirk House. The room was perfect. The bed was very comfortable. We really loved the lavendar bathroom amenities. Roxy and Doug were wonderful hosts that took good care of us and even accomodated our schedule with an early breakfast to go. Breakfast was great. We were sorry we had to catch the early ferry on our second morning and miss the served one. There was plenty of coffee and tea available. They have games and classic movies available, too. This is a perfect place to explore the island. We ended up seeing it from one end to the other. They also helped with reataurant suggestions and made sure the places we were headed were open that particular day as the various restaurants follow slighty unusual shedules The walk to downtown is very short. We will definitely be back and would definitely recommend the property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtotravel066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

We so appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review. The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast really does give guests a great place to explore the island from - whether it is a quick walk to the quaint downtown shops & restaurants or a drive all around the island to see the wonderful hiking or whale watching spots. You know when you get back to the B & B you can relax and enjoy afternoon treats or a glass of great local wine. Thank you so much for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Kirk House in October and could not have had a better time. It's a great property with a cool history and amazing Arts and Crafts design. it's within easy walking distance of all the shops and restaurants in Friday Harbor, but still felt quiet and relaxing. The hosts, Doug and Roxy, are wonderful, accommodating people. They made us feel so welcome and treated us like family (you know -- the family you like!). Breakfasts were superb. They also do some special touches -- hot coffee served in a basket right outside your door in the morning, late-night cookies on the sideboard -- that make everything feel more special. This was our first visit to Friday Harbor and we look forward to returning soon, and booking a room at the Kirk House.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwreid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

We love our guests from Colorado so whatever sparks the travel bug to San Juan Island - keep it coming! I know it sounds quirky - but it is so true that we have such great guests that they leave us as friends or family. We felt that way about you guys!! The special touches, such as the coffee baskets and home-made treats, are really fun to do - and our guests love them. So glad your first trip to the island was good, and we look forward to a return visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

From the moment we were met at the front door by our hosts until it was time to leave two days later we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kirk House. The house is over 100 years old and has many nice architectural features plus modern amenities such as wi-fi. But what really made our stay great was the attention to detail by our hosts. Doug was quick to lend a hand with our luggage and give us suggestions for a walk around Friday Harbor and for dining later on. Roxy made afternoon treats and made sure we felt at home while at Kirk House. Breakfast was great!

We enjoyed the location, just a short walk from shopping and dining. We also appreciated the free off-street parking as we had a car for touring the rest of the island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveDLehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

We so appreciate you taking the time to write a review for the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast.
We learn so much from our guests and their adventures. With you guys it was the walking tours you did on the island - how fun to travel to different places and walk miles around the places. One of these days now that we are in the off-season, we'll have adventures ourselves to share with our guests. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kirk House B&B. Roxy and Doug were able to alter their breakfast for food allergies. Thank you! A short walk to downtown harbor area. A little rain but we managed with a little help from the Kirk House umbrellas located by the front door. Stayed in the veranda room, very nice especially the coffee by the door in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandBchasers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for writing a review for the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. We loved having you stay with us and giving us a heads up on a wonderful antique shop as well as "chalk" painting. Food allergies have been a huge learning curve for us this past year but I think we made the climb successfully! We appreciate being able to make your stay on the island more pleasant - even if there was a lot of rain! Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A late Sept. getaway with two nights at the Kirk House was the perfect recipe for a retired couple like us. After some hectic days sightseeing in Seattle we settled in with Doug and Roxy to slow the pace and enjoy the surroundings. The Garden Room was comfortable, the coffee tray at your door in the morning followed by a delicious breakfast, meeting fellow guests, revisiting yesterday's adventures and comparing the day's destinations. The Kirk House location is convenient to Friday Harbor with its restaurants and shops. We are so happy that we chose the Kirk House for so many reasons, not to overlook it's charming hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retiredandloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

We are so glad that you were able to relax while visiting the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. Nothing is better than to have guests connect with other guests and enjoy their time while staying with us. We continue to say - we have the best guests ever - and we mean it every time! So thank you for being one of those "best guests" and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews