We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Kirk House is a really great B&B, and I do not say that lightly. I was a bit apprehensive when I realized that the B&B had changed owners and that they'd be on the job only two months prior to our visit, but those fears turned out to be unfounded. As long as you can tolerate Frank Sinatra's Greatest Hits on constant rotation on the CD player, you will enjoy yourself here.

Doug and Roxy were very welcoming and had fresh-baked cookies and homemade iced tea ready for us on arrival. There was also some type of coffee cake; the second day there was something else. Oh and FREE wine from the local vineyard. (I'm not sure how long that can last.) Two rooms open onto the veranda and the two others open onto the yard with a designated outdoor table. The rooms are not big, but they're big enough. There's a TV with DVDs (so we were told, I never checked) in each room, as well.

The breakfasts really stand out. But even before that, D&R put a basket with coffee, cream and sugar outside your door at 7:30am. On Saturday, they had a copy of the Seattle Times, as well, although not on Sunday. Make sure you're hungry for breakfast, though, because it is spectacular. Each day starts with a parfait, made with vanilla yogurt, fresh berries, and Kirk House's granola recipe. My wife was so enamored with this recipe that she found it online (it's on their website) and made it once we got home. After the parfait there is the main dish. One day it was an excellent baked egg dish, the second there was a waffle, which was OK. They also had a side - bacon one day, ham the next.

Kirk House is walking distance from town and is right across the street from a high school, but it doesn't feel that way. There is a very pleasant sitting room with some antique-y features, such as an old phone and the nice (original) stained-glass windows.

The real stars, however, are not Doug and Roxy but Dylan and Joplin, the couple's Cavalier King Charles Spaniels. I might be causing D&R a headache by saying this, but if you want to see them you have to ask, because these dogs love to shed so they are not allowed in the B&B. Anyway Dylan, the tricolor, is a snorter and Joplin, the blenheim, is a bit of a singer, but they both seemed to love company.

The only downside I would point to is that D&R are new owners, so they may not be as well-informed as some other B&B owners around town. For instance, one of them had not heard of the Duck Soup Inn, which is the most well-regarded restaurant on the island. But I would imagine this will be less of a problem as time goes on and they become better acquainted with the island from living there and from their guests. They have only been living on San Juan Island since March so they are still getting their bearings. And I would not hesitate the heartily recommend this place to anyone going to the islands.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank RainyDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for the great review! I wondered who kept turning off the Frank Sinatra - good point that not everyone is a fan. Dylan & Joplin loved spending time with you guys, too, and they really are the stars - no hard feelings. Come see us again before you head back east.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 612 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had the most wonderful stay at the Kirk House B&B. The new owners, Doug and Roxy Kasman, are so nice and have such an attention to the little details that made our stay better than we expected.
The house is just a short walk from the ferry. I was nervous that it's location across from the high school would not be ideal, but it was just great. Set back off the street, the house is quiet and the grounds are peaceful.
We were welcomed with such excitement, it felt like we were old friends whose arrival was eagerly anticipated. The house itself and our room, the trellis room, we're nicely decorated and very comfortable.
There were so many special touches about our stay: coffee is set outside your room at 7:30 in a sweet basket with all the fixings, there is a water pitcher in the room with freshly cut lemons, Roxy prepares delicious treats for an afternoon snack along with some yummy ice tea, and breakfast is just fabulous. Breakfast is served at 9:00, which is good because you can work up an appetite for the amazing spread you will receive! (if you have an early day planned, they will accommodate you with an earlier mealtime.) Breakfast starts off with a yogurt parfait made with homemade granola, that I insisted they start selling because I must have more :) Then you get treated to one of Roxy's yummy breakfast recipes. She claims some of the recipes are new to her, but they taste like she's been cooking them for years. The raspberry french toast was divine.
We were there on Mother's Day, and the Kasman's were thoughtful enough to have a rose set out at the breakfast table for the guests who were moms.
On our last morning we were running a bit late for our ferry, and Doug graciously offered to drive us to the terminal. Even though the walk is only a few minutes, I was pregnant and slow moving, so it was wonderful to have the ride.
I could go on and on. Every aspect of our stay was just great and I wouldn't change a thing...except maybe to stay longer. I am already looking into going back next summer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

We absolutely loved having you at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. Spending Mother's Day morning with you guys felt like we were family, and we were sad to see you go. We wish you years and years of Happy Anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Just returned from an overnight at The Kirk House with the new owners, Roxy and Doug. The house itself is amazing and our rooms had everything we could have needed. Our breakfast was wonderful from granola to an egg and ham bake and sticky buns. Especially nice was the room coffee/tea at 7:30 am to get us going. Best of all was having a glass of local wine with Roxy and Doug in the afternoon of our arrival and getting to know them just a bit. We would definitely stay again, soon I hope!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Wow - thanks for the great review! We so enjoyed your company and looking forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We and another couple took the ferry from Anacortes, Washington, to Friday Harbor, on San Juan Island, to have dinner at the famed Duck Soup Inn. Knowing we would be sated and perhaps a bit tipsy after that experience, we decided to stay the night at the Kirk House B&B, and then take the ferry back in the morning. Best choice we have made in quite awhile.

The Kirk House is a long established B&B, but it is now under new management. Doug and Roxy have completely refurbished this already charming property to an extremely high standard that left us extremely pleased. Needless to say the place is immaculate, and every conceivable addition has been made to make one comfortable, from a special washcloth for makeup, to a magazine rack in the bathroom, to small patios outside of some of the rooms so one can sit outside in the garden to relax and read.

The place is tastefully decorated with turn of the century charm, but the most charming thing about the place are the Doug and Roxy themselves. They are friendly, helpful, and more than eager to make every moment a delight. Cookies and cake in the evenings, and glass of wine if you wish, Coffee at your door in the morning, and a wonderful gourmet breakfast served in the lovely parlor make for a memorable stay.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nukesafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

It was our pleasure to host such wonderful guests and feel privileged that you chose to stay at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. What a wonderful get away - to have dinner at a superb restaurant and then stay the night on the island! We are definitely looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have stayed in a lot of B&B's and the Kirk House is definitely one of the best! A beautiful home very well maintained and impecibly clean. The Breakfasts were delicious - especially the granola which was served every morning with a different fruit and yogurt. Debbie was a most gracious hostess - always there when we needed her and always an answer for our questions. We totally enjoyed our stay in this fantastic B&B. We wish Debbie the best as she moves on to being a grandparent!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

For our anniversary, my wife and I stayed at The Kirk House for 3 days/nights. It’s a very cozy place with 4 rooms and a nice breakfast area. We stayed in the Garden Room which had a separate door that exited to the small backyard. All four rooms were well liked by the other guests. The room was quite comfortable.

The breakfasts were excellent and filling. My wife asked for the recipe every morning. Breakfast is served at 9:00am, so if you want to leave early or catch the 9:30am ferry, then you’ll have to make other plans.

The Kirk House is across the street from the high school athletic fields and is close to downtown. We never walked more than 5 minutes to get to the ferry dock, the restaurants and the bike rental shop. Of the restaurants we visited, we liked the Downrigger the best for its fresh seafood and price.

We did bring a car on the island, but it’s not necessary. If you’re in decent shape, you can rent a bike and travel to any point on the island within an hour. We rode 32 miles on a loop around the western part of the island that included Roche Harbor, Lime Kiln Point (where we could see orcas near the shore!), and the lavender farm (the lavender ice cream was tasty on a hot day).

Also visit the southeast part of the island which is very scenic and historic.

Note to the guys – bring your own soap and shampoo, otherwise you will have only lavender bodywash and shampoo. Great for my wife to smell like lavender, not so great for me.

If we ever return to San Juan Island, we will stay at The Kirk House again. It’s currently for sale, so check in soon

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ordeal_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Great house with true Craftsman character, located within walking distance of Friday Harbor. We were very comfortable in the Veranda Room, where we had the luxury of an enormous shower – no chance of bumping elbows on anything! – and enjoyed the Pelindaba Lavender toiletries enough to buy some of our own. Debbie made huge, delicious breakfasts that saved us the trouble of eating lunch, and her daily cookies were irresistible. After a long day, we enjoyed taking advantage of the DVD library. Nice base for exploring everything San Juan Island has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlamedaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friday Harbor Grand
Friday Harbor Grand
#3 of 17 in Friday Harbor
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 595 Park St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $140 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing