We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roche Harbor Resort Wedding Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roche Harbor Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Roche Harbor Resort was the fantasy setting for a dream wedding that encompassed all the desirable elements a young couple would want their family and friends to experience and remember. I was a wedding planner and singer at an event that, in all, took place over 3 days in July. The RHR location is rich in panoramic beauty, compelling history, luxurious yacht traffic, picturesque seaplane arrivals and departures, venerable hotel backdrop and lodging, and any number of local activities and destination points. These include wine and cider artisans within walking distance for tasting and presentation-- very educational. Likewise, visitors can get a glimpse into the mystical beliefs of the limeworks' founding family through the dramatic setting of a mid-forest classic mausoleum built a century ago.

The wedding itself was facilitated professionally by the Resort staff, who assisted and enabled many non-standard ceremonial requests, including a touching and inspiring entrance by the bride from the top of 1886 Hotel de Haro to the formal gardens below. The ringing of the Chapel bells as the couple kissed was thrilling. The formal gardens made a perfect setting for both the wedding itself, as well as any number of colorful photographic backdrops.

Finally, the facilities and services for reception, dancing, audio-visual, and informal conversation for wedding guests were superb. A dinner served on a beach or a raucous reception in a fireplace and dancehall venue were both possible and well done. This was one event that will be permanently etched memorably in the minds of all guests and participants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Patric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Roche Harbor Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 360 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins and had a great weekend. Two bedroom, one bath and full kitchen. Kitchen has nearly all the amenities you'd need. Everything is within walking distance. The marina, the shops, tennis courts, pool!! The restaurant at the end of the marina is EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BellevueBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you want to visit a really unique vacation spot, go to San Juan Island and stay at the beautiful Roche Harbor Resort. Once you get on the ferry to get to the Island, disembark in Friday Harbor and arrive at Roche Harbor Resort, you really feel like you are officially on vacation.The staff bends over backward to be sure your every want is provided. The views and vistas are remarkable and the offerings of the many activities add to the excitement. Add fine dining to the mix and you never want to leave. It did not take long after leaving Roche Harbor Resort before I was planning my return. Genrusjoe

Room Tip: Rent one of the homes, you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have been visiting Roche Harbor since I was a kid, and have been sharing the experience with my kids for 15 years. The staff is amazing and I have never been disappointed. Make sure you are able to see Colors in the Summer, take a walk to the Mosoleum, and sip on one of their yummy Bloody Mary's or a Fluffy Duck.

Room Tip: Several optiosn to suit all tastes. In Roche Harbor you can completly disconnect, the cabins are qu...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DeaX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had stayed at the Hotel de Haro many years in the past. It is quite old and I did not like the idea of a shared bath (most rooms do not have their own bath). I had the opportunity to change from a harbor suite in the hotel to a suite in the Quarryman hall and I am glad that I did. The Quarryman suite was huge with two beds (which I did not need), large tiled bathroom and a balcony that was used quite a bit during my stay. The resort is quite lovely - I was there for a wedding held in the beautiful formal gardens. The only drawback was getting to/from Friday Harbor on a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvalous410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We arrived at our condo on one of the hottest days of the summer and were quite dismayed to discover it had no air-conditioning. The upstairs bedroom was almost furnace like and it was close to midnight before it was cool enough to sleep. Sadly, that room has a skylight almost directly over the bed, as well as large windows across the unit without blinds, so the sunshine coming in at 4:30AM was most unpleasant. The unit was only adequately cleaned, with spiderwebs over the counters in the kitchen and a bug in the ice tray in the freezer. There were broken screens, unswept patio and shabby carpeting. For the princely sum we're paying nightly, we expected better accommodations. I do have to add the unit was very quiet and spacious with a nice view. Should we come back, however, we'll check into places in Friday Harbor to stay rather than here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tkagain001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great service, beautiful room and incredible view!!! We attended a wedding and it was absolutely gorgeous, we cannot say enough about the service and friendliness of the staff. It should be everyone's destination for 4th of July or a wedding!

Room Tip: McMillan suite room 161!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbdorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
7.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
476 reviews
7.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
158 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
516 reviews
12.4 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
161 reviews
8.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roche Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roche Harbor Resort

Address: 248 Reuben Memorial Dr, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $130 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roche Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan Island historic resort nestled along the shoreline. Guest amenities include marina, three restaurants, kayaking, whale watching, full service spa, pool, playground, bocce ball, tennis courts, and nature trails. Resort center has complimentary wireless internet for all resort guests. Some (not all) of our rooms have microwave, coffee service, refrigerator, and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Roche Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roche Harbor Hotel Roche Harbor Village
Roche Harbor Village Hotel
Roche Harbor Village Resort
Roche Harbor Resort Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing