We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Time Capsule back to a simpler time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roche Harbor Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
513 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“A Time Capsule back to a simpler time”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Okay, the floor in the Hotel de Haro slopes, the walls are a little thin, and the tub is down the hall. Give it a break, man. The place was built in 1886 and is the oldest operating hotel in the state of Washington. But the lobby is really cool. Sit by the fire in the morning and sip coffee. If you're the Marriott Suites type, stay in Quarryman Hall. You'll be happy. They also have family cabins that are loaded with charm. Stick the kids in the pool, and explore the marina or hike to the Mausoleum. This resort is truly one of the jewels of the Pacific Northwest and a wonderful base for exploring San Juan Island.

Room Tip: Avoid holidays: Crowded. Go in the off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodness4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    79
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
88
148
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The wife and I left the kids at home and spent 2 nights at this great resort. They have two choices: a more modern hotel style, or the older rustic cabin-like style. We chose the cabin and loved it! Very cool setup. Small, maybe 800 sq ft. 2 bedroom, 1 bath, small kitchen, small sitting area. No internet, no TV, no electronics. Heated and comfortable. Had an outdoor firepit too.

The whole island is quite small, we drove around it in short order. There is a lavender farm (the wife loved it, it must be a girl thing, I didn't understand the attraction) , and a very eclectic artwork display with outdoor statues for sale, although I can't imagine anybody actually buying them.

The onsite resort cafe was excellent, and the quiet strolls around the docks with all the sailboats was quite nice too.

This resort is on the 'other' side of the island from the ferry terminal in Friday Harbor, but still VERY short drive. We drove into 'town' , aka Friday Harbor, on one night to do a little bar hopping.

Our cell phones thought we were in Canada when we were on the Roche Harbor side of the island. I'm not sure what that cell phone bill will look like. haha!

If you're looking for a good place to unwind, I would certainly suggest it. I know the San Juan Islands was rated as one of TripAdvisor's top favorite islands, and rightfully so. The ferry ride out there is very picturesque as well.

Give it a shot. Peaceful, quiet, and great nature views of ocean, sailboats, mountain terrains, Canada, and a bunch of oceanfront homes you could never afford.

Room Tip: Try the cabins, you'll love them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WA_Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I knew after my first phone conversation with the Events Manager at Roche Harbor Resort that this was going to be an amazing and memorable wedding weekend for my son and daughter-in-law. While speaking with Allison, it become very clear to me that she and Roche Harbor Resort were going to make sure that every aspect of the Bonfire, Bridal Brunch, Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding Ceremony and Wedding Reception were absolutely perfect. And they were! The natural and historic beauty of Roche Harbor makes for a beautiful wedding celebration and the staff's attention to detail and their relationships with outside vendors guarantees that everything lives up to your expectations. Did I mention the food? It was absolutely delicious at every event and also at Madrona's Pub and Grill and the Lime Kiln Cafe. The famous homemade donuts were a tasty way to start each day! The bride and groom (and their dog Goldie!) loved the McMillin Suites. We loved our Quarryman Suite with a view over the entire resort, and our family and friends loved staying in the condos. I can't forget to mention the hairdresser, Amber, who came to our rooms to style our hair for the wedding... she was so sweet, calming, and talented... a real gem! We look forward to our next visit to Roche Harbor Resort when we can kayak, whale watch and explore the hiking trails,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j4w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had two wonderful nights in the McMillin Suite overlooking beautiful Roche Harbor. This was a very special weekend as I proposed to my future bride. The staff went out of their way to accommodate me with my special requests to make my proposal special. It could not have been more perfect. We sat on the balcony toasting ourselves with wine as we gazed at the beautiful sunset over the harbor. Our experience was definitely first class. If you are looking for a romantic get away, this is the place to come and be treated like royalty. Hats off to the staff.

Room Tip: Would suggest a corner suite with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eldon744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Recently stayed for two nights in one of the cottages on the property. Very roomy and kitchen is fully equipped which we took advantage of for our breakfasts. Beautiful view of the harbor and enjoyed the privacy. One small inconvenience is that there is only one bathroom in the cottage or at least in #18 and it is only accessible through the bedroom. Makes middle of the night trips a little inconvenient for the couple not staying in that bedroom. Nice short trip down to the main hotel area - quicker to walk than to drive. Food at all dining spots is wonderful and not overly pricey. Be sure to check out the bar - Trevor the bartender is one of the best. He really provides exceptional service. Also highly impressed with the level of service in all areas - had a small problem with the fireplace and Scott arrived almost before we had a chance to hang up the phone requesting service. Loved the historical nature of this resort and the fact that there was no television in our unit - nice to be able to lock the world away for a couple of days. There is a television in the bar which allowed husband to watch hockey games. Left feeling completely pampered and looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HDN25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We visit Roche either by boat or car at least twice a year. We especially enjoy the Lime Kiln restaurant where they serve up a delicious breakfast and lunch. The servers are friendly, efficient young people. They are happy to split orders or make substitutions. Coming by boat, there are helpful young people helping you in with your lines and getting set up with power, water, etc. Recommendations are suggested during the Summer, especially on holidays. We always enjoy the Sculpture museum and walking the many trails.

Room Tip: We choose the cottages because they are dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hadlock, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A two night three day get-away at the Quarryman Hall was a fantastic experience. We had coffee and fresh donuts on our balcony and our room was spacious, immaculate and extremely comfortable. The views of the Harbor from the room and balcony beckoned us often. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. They even remembered our names when we came in for some info the next day - impressive!! The grounds are extremely well maintained and attention to detail is obvious. Lots of hikes right from the Harbor area. A must return for us!!

Room Tip: CHoose a room with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
7.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
441 reviews
7.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
139 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
489 reviews
12.6 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
8.1 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roche Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roche Harbor Resort

Property: Roche Harbor Resort
Address: 248 Reuben Memorial Dr, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8171
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roche Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan Island historic resort nestled along the shoreline. Guest amenities include marina, three restaurants, kayaking, whale watching, full service spa, pool, playground, bocce ball, tennis courts, and nature trails. Resort center has complimentary wireless internet for all resort guests. Some (not all) of our rooms have microwave, coffee service, refrigerator, and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Roche Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roche Harbor Hotel Roche Harbor Village
Roche Harbor Village Hotel
Roche Harbor Village Resort
Roche Harbor Resort Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing