We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DELICIOUS!”

Blue Water Bar & Grill
Ranked #25 of 64 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Food and service were excellent and you can't beat the view or the people-watching. Best fried oysters on the planet (and I've eaten MANY elsewhere).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JudyN333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    129
    104
    45
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average Food, A Little Pricey”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Blue Water is in a great location with a perfect view of the harbor and ferry. However, the food is just average. We had eaten seafood the day before so we both ordered one of the pasta bowl dishes. It was a large bowl of food and the pasta was good. There was nothing wrong with anything we ordered, it just wasn't anything out of the ordinary. For two pasta dinners and two non-alcoholic drinks our bill was over $50, which seems a little high. The staff was friendly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jesmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
189 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Place To Grab A Burger For Lunch”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Convenient location near the harbor for grabbing lunch while my wife and I were exploring Friday Harbor, WA on the San Juan Islands. Burger and Fries were good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“View of the Harbor”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Blue water sits right across the street from the harbor with big windows and an outside deck to take in the view. This a burger, casual dining type as opposed the fine dining as are many places on the island. After a long day of traveling it was exactly what we wanted. They do have homemade pasta special every night, and my smoked salmon ravioli was tasty.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kellpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good fish, good service”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

During our family reunion, we took the ferry (walk on) from Anacortes to Friday Harbor on San Juan Island. It was a hurried visit because of delays due to fog. Nine of us had a nice lunch at Blue Water. The adults sat at a table for 5 and the 4 grand kids sat at an adjacent booth. The ferry terminal is visible from the dining room, which was convenient, since the return ferry was also delayed and we did not want to miss it, since 2 or us had an appointment back in Bellingham.

The dining room is bright, the service was prompt and friendly, and they had both fish and meat selections to suit those who don't eat fish. Everyone enjoyed their food, a salmon burger for my wife, fish tacos for me, and mostly beef for the grand kids.

We had just enough time for a quick visit to a shop nearby before catching the ferry back to Anacortes.

Additional note: I tried to review the ferry service on Trip Advisor, but could not find it. Connections to the ferry can be difficult, and delays are possible if there is fog. Walk on is convenient to avoid the vehicle lines, but Friday Harbor is the only island town with anything interesting within walking distance of the ferry terminal. There was increased traffic to Friday Harbor during our visit because of the County Fair, and the traffic from the terminal back through Anacortes was stop and go all the way back to the 4 lane route 20 heading east.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Bar & Grill also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Blue Water Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing