We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid place near the ferry terminal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant

Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located just off the waterfront in Friday Harbor, Cask & Schooner Public House & Restaurant is Friday Harbor's premiere maritime themed english pub offering distinctive rustic fare and well crafted libations.
1 review
“Solid place near the ferry terminal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We took the ferry over to Friday Harbor and stopped for lunch here. The place is very nice both on the outside and inside. I got the fish n chips which were very good. Definitely a good spot for lunch with great decor. I would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    379
    121
    38
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good dinner, not memorable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Seated quickly despite being busy (even on a Monday night), friendly atmosphere, served promptly.

Average food quality. Chose chicken and crab risotto from the dinner special: chicken didn't have much taste despite a pesto sauce on top; the rice and crab based dish was good but salty (It was closer to a crab and rice soup than the creaminess that a risotto should have). The mashed potato was good. Obviously fresh and crisp vegetables were the standout.

Had a seafood chowder as appetizer. Ok, not great. For the best one far around try Seabolt's Smokehouse in Oak Harbour.

Price wise: an easy 25% premium due to the island location. Without that premium, it's a place I would visit once in a while when not feeling like cooking if near my home.

Helpful?
Thank PacificBlackBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, casual environment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Expected basic pub fare and were pleasantly surprised with variety on the menu. Went early (630) on a weekday and wait was only ten minutes for a group of four. Vegetarian daughter had several tasty choices and was happy with the eggplant sandwich. Son liked his burger; we all enjoyed stealing his fries (best I've had in a while). The beet salad was huge and tasty. I loved the chowder... very flavorful and not thickened with corn starch and cream. Excellent french bread. The kale and chick pea dish was very tasty especially if you are a garlic lover. A side of mashed potatoes with butter was very comforting. My chocolate stout and my wife's margarita were very good. Our waitress was wonderful. Prices were high but better than most we've seen in friday Harbor. Would go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davisdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
212 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Food was decent. Crowded and overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Heard good things about this place so we gave it a try, even though there was a 20 minute wait for a table at 1PM. They had a lot of English and Irish food on their menu - Meat Pie, Bangers and Mash, etc. which is fine - just a heads-up. Service was decent and atmosphere was okay. Food was slightly above average. I'd give this place 4 stars if it wasn't for the fact the prices were pretty high. If I pay $15+ for a sandwich I expect it to be more than just "good". Over the course of a few days in Friday Harbor we tried several other restaurants where the food, service and atmosphere was just as good at a lower price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aquaman_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worlds' Best Clam Chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

This place takes FIRST PRIZE for the BEST clam chowder ever ..... and that from a connoisseur of the stuff who lived in San Fran and Manhattan - the capitals of clam chowder. If you are a life long lover of clam chowder then dont leave Friday Harbor without a bowl of Cask & Schooner's Clam Chowder. Not only do they have the winning soup (which I dream about and am trying figure out how they can fly it out to me) but they serve it with a homebaked crusty french roll (not sourdough - thank god!) - which I guarantee you'll ask for more! What else can I say? We had steak salad, burger with fries, a caesar salad, and pasta - all good. The menu is priced right and the service is great. But ohhhh how I miss the clam chowder and roll. I suggest that they put a table outside or open up a walk up window and just sell chowder and rolls, but it would probably cause a traffic jam in the already busy harbor sidewalks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorandtheMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing