We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great breakfast!”

Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located just off the waterfront in Friday Harbor, Cask & Schooner Public House & Restaurant is Friday Harbor's premiere maritime themed english pub offering distinctive rustic fare and well crafted libations.
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a great breakfast!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have eaten here before for dinner which was very nice. This trip out to Friday Harbor we decided to do Sunday Brunch. It wasn't crowded at all!

My wife had a breakfast sandwich and I had the banana pancakes. Oh my! These were both about the best we have had. And my wife even said she though it was the best breakfast she has ever had! That's a HUGE compliment coming from my very picky wife!

From now on, we will only do breakfast here if they keep up this quality!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheREALgregma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    395
    126
    43
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our dinner here was incredible. No wait on a Sunday evening, the fish we both ordered was prepared wonderfully, and their drink menu had something for everyone. (I ordered the Brother Thelonious Ale, which I rarely see in restaurants.) All of the servers were prompt and friendly. Atmosphere was great, (live music on the night we were there). Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hagurganus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wine”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

They have an EXTENSIVE list of wines, and distilled choices. There lamb burger and schooner burgers were great. The service was fast and nice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special Request”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We live in Friday Harbor and my grand daughter wanted eggs with bacon and hash browns for her 6th birthday dinner. None of our local eateries serve breakfast at dinner time. I called several places before reaching the chef at C&S. He said it would be his pleasure to make my grand daughter's wish come true. She was served two perfectly fried eggs with crispy bacon and fried potatoes. According to her they were the best potatoes anywhere. The plate was garnished with an arrangement of edible flowers, apple slices and oranges. She was taken to the kitchen where she thanked the chef. It was a special evening for the whole family. The rest of the diners enjoyed crispy, crunchy on the outside and flaky and tender on the inside fish and chips. The best on the island!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
198 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fun place. Great place to eat or get a box lunch for ferry.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very responsive to food allergies. The cod was excellent. Soft and moist. The muscles were great in a spicy white wine sauce. The grilled cauliflower was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing