We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat”

Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located just off the waterfront in Friday Harbor, Cask & Schooner Public House & Restaurant is Friday Harbor's premiere maritime themed english pub offering distinctive rustic fare and well crafted libations.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The folks at Earthbox Inn suggested we come here for dinner.
And we are glad we did.
We both ordered fish and chips and beer and were happy that we did.
The fish was hot and delicious and the chips were plentiful.
And, the prices weren't crazy either.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    395
    126
    43
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Food was good and hearty which was great after our long ferry ride. Service was friendly. We really enjoyed the fish and chips as well as the shepherd's pie. The beer was cold and a perfect accent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debracb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place in Friday Harbor”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent 4 days on San Juan Island and I think we ate and/or had drinls at the Cask & Schooner every day. The staff is the best, our waitress was friendly and was local so told us what we should see & do and the bartender was also great. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickey_7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcas island
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The location is across from the marina, and has a view from a few tables in the bar area, so if you want a water view, this is not the place. If you want good food, and a nautical decor, this is a fun place to eat.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank islebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great fish & chips, and great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

On our last night in Friday Harbor, we craved English-style fish and chips, and we had a great meal at Cask & Schooner. We arrived around 7 pm on a Saturday and were seated within 10 minutes. Our two servers (we think one was in training) were prompt in taking our drink orders, but also gave us some time when needed to make up our minds. Both servers were friendly, fun, and attentive. We had a caesar salad and the cheese plate for appetizers, plus a tap cider and cocktail. The cider was tasty, and I was glad the server could advise on the character of the brand I wasn't familiar with. The salad was a tiny bit bland, but plentiful and enjoyable nonetheless. The cheese plate was a lovely surprise, with three cheeses, applies, and quince in a great presentation on an old schooner-looking plank. Our fish & chips was fantastic -- lots of fries, and two big pieces of fish, all piping hot. The fish had an extremely flavorful batter and wasn't horribly greasy, and the fries were well-seasoned. My only complaint was that I couldn't eat more of the great meal.

We were seated in the upper area of the restaurant, which got us a little above the usual noise level. The decor was sea-worthy without being cheesy, and the seating was comfortable. I would return to Cask & Schooner in a heartbeat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing