We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, reasonable prices”

Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located just off the waterfront in Friday Harbor, Cask & Schooner Public House & Restaurant is Friday Harbor's premiere maritime themed english pub offering distinctive rustic fare and well crafted libations.
Bowie, TX
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Everything is very expensive in the San Juans, so we looked for something midrange. The housekeeper at the cottage where we stayed recommended this place, where she also worked. It is a cute place, nautical and overlooks the harbor. The waitress was very friendly and helpful explaining the food items and drinks.We both had soup appetizers, chowder and a spicy chicken soup, both good. I had fish and chips, my hubby a meat pie with beef, vegetables in puff pastry, with mashed potatoes and mushy peas.We both enjoyed them. Also the beer recommendations. A very nice meal.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewsgalBowie_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    403
    131
    45
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 782 helpful votes
“Not your typical Friday Harbor bar and grill”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The Cash and Schooner doesn't have the great views of the harbor or even an outdoor deck seating area, even though its location sits right on the intersection of Srping St and 1st St. However, it does have an interesting menu of small plates, salads, and larger entrees.

As the name would suggest, the menu is influenced by English pub choices (mushy peas anyone?) but there are plenty of unique dishes as well. For example, my wife had a risotto with crab, bacon, and corn in it, which tasted really good but was so rich it made you eat it pretty slowly.

As is typical for Friday Harbor restaurants, prices are a bit high but the quality is high as well. Service was very friendly if a bit slow at times.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved the fish and chips”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Nice location right at the marina, steps from the ferry terminal. We had a smoked chicken salad (tasty) and fish and chips (excellent). The service is really friendly, good beers on tap (ice cold Stella, nice), and fun nautical ambiance. Prices were reasonable too. We'd go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArmenInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food, large portions, reasonable prices”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stopped in for our first meal in Friday Harbor thinking it would be a good casual place to dine. And honestly, we weren't expecting to be wowed, but we were so wrong! Our server was friendly and her recommendations were spot on. The poutine was delicious, even better than what we've had in Montreal. The steamed clams special app was delicious and perfectly seasoned. And the bordetto (like a boulliabase) was the most generous and tasty serving of prawns, scallops, clams, mussels and fresh salmon that I've ever seen for the price of $26. 4 huge scallops and 5 huge prawns! We wanted to try the sticky toffee pudding for dessert, as it was another recommendation of our server, but we were too full. We are only here for 3 more nights and we are rethinking our other dinner plans in order to come here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“C & S hits on all points”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

great location, friendly, helpful service, wonderful food. Recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KDUB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing