We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening meal with excellent music.”
Review of Rumor Mill

Rumor Mill
Ranked #28 of 64 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great evening meal with excellent music.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Had dinner for five at the Rumor Mill. Great food and very accommodating to our nine year old with finicky tastes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    65
    29
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington,dc
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable place, and music on a Sunday night”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Service is very good, and the food is better than average. The marsala braised cauliflower is different, and the cauliflower was perfectly cooked. Good burgers, and the steak was pretty tasty too. This is also a great spot for lunch while you wait for the ferry.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank caseysneice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Above Average”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have eaten here several times and the food ranges from spectacular to horrible. I have had the best grilled salmon sandwich I ever eaten and absolutely worst pumpkin pie. I've had an amazing beet salad with local cheese and a below average burger. It is frustratingly inconsistent, but when it is good...the food is worth every penny.

Throughout the summer they have live music which is great and some exceptional performers. It is a pleasant place to hang out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ben c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Weren't Open or Told they were closing at 9pm”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went in and enjoyed some drinks and music our first night in Friday Harbor. We had decided to go back to try their food but either they were not open...... or then later in the week when we went in for dinner and drinks were stopped at the door and told they were closing. Check the times if you want to eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent Food - Great Beer Choices!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Came in for lunch while visiting Friday Harbor.
Lots of beer choices on tap!
The lady at the bar was awesome. She was knowledgable about local beers. I really enjoyed the local IPA she recommended that was infused with extra hops. Delicious.
The patty melt was just ok.. kind of dry. I tend to like the diner style versions that are dripping with grease and swiss.
The decor is a hodge podge that doesn't really go together.. asian lights? pressed tin ceiling, some strange LED clear square thingys? country style ceramic chickens & other farm animals for decoration?.. It is still a nice place but I think with core theme in decor would make it better. But that is me just being picky.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AUStoSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumor Mill also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Rumor Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing