We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Afternoon's Activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zip San Juan

Zip San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and experience for yourself the only Zip Line Tour in the San Juan Islands in Washington State. Our family friendly zip tour features 8 zip lines that will take you through a beautiful forest, across an otter inhabited lake and over protected wetlands. This tour is an amazing way to experience the natural landscape of San Juan Island while zipping from platform to platform through the forest canopy.Upon reaching the site, you will be given an orientation and then have the opportunity to practice zipping on our smaller practice zip lines. After this, our guides will lead you on a brief hike to the first of the zip lines. Throughout your tour you will soar past tall Douglas Firs, Western Red Cedars, and experience the forest and wetlands from a viewpoint usually exclusive to birds.Tours last approximately 3 hours, which includes travel time to and from the course. The Zip San Juan course is approximately 10 minutes from Friday Harbor. Zip San Juan can provide your transportation to and from Friday Harbor to the zip site.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon's Activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Was so impressed with how safety conscious this company is - they were awesome. Our guides were super helpful with me and my reluctance to launch myself off a high platform - they took the time to work with me to find a way I could be comfortable with it which made a world of difference. They were young and enthusiastic but utterly professional when it came to the equipment and our safety - very impressed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1207brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    39
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have never been zip lining so when I saw this and it was right in my line of vacation travel, it went on the bucket list. I am SOOO glad it did! The guides were great! The equipment was great! The tour was incredible! You need to do this!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tnthekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good time, good staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife, who's disabled, saw this "attraction." I was reluctant to participate as we didn't have that much time on the island, and I have a fear of heights. But reluctancies were minimized...

The staff who dealt with us were Matt and Josh. They met us near the coffee shop, and drove with three guys and a woman we'd never met before, to the site about 15 minutes into the island. Once we got there, we started with a lesson. It's obvious that the guys take their job seriously as they talked of many a safety issue. No condescension; to treating us like kids. But one can get hurt so "this is how we do it."

I went last on the trial run as I wanted to be absolutely sure my wife could make it despite her disability. (She often says, "Sure, let's go for it," then complains for days afterwards that she shouldn't have). I shared with Josh that I have a fear of heights. He didn't suggest I not do the run. He didn't suggest I have no guts, or some macho nonsense. They'd told us that there were alternatives if we felt uncomfortable. He repeated that, then suggested everything will be fine.

We talked to the beginning. It was a little of a hike, and Matt said that's the longest trip we'd walk through the course, and that was a relief to my wife who can't walk far at all. The first line wasn't that high. But the second one--which had plenty of "safeties"--was quite high. And the end of the run was even higher, probably 55 or so feet off the ground. And I did it!--largely because of Josh and Matt who demonstrated their own professionalism.

The part of the course you'll remember best is the bridge; had it been much higher I might have done to the ground and walked that length. But it was probably less than 30 feet off the ground, less frightening than it could have been. I had Matt accompany my wife across as she might not have otherwise made it. Then I went across. About half way across, I "fell." Don't worry; there's enough safeties that at no time was unsafe. Matt and Josh told be which rope or cable to grab and stabilize myself, and I did so.

Honestly, if you make it to San Juan Island, I can't recommend Zip any more. You'll survive it, you'll have a good time, and you'll want to do it again. Thanks Matt and Josh. We'll see you next time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TimothyScanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun and Exciting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We really had a great time. First timers and were a bit anxious but didn't need to be. The instructions were easy to follow and it was always safety first. We really enjoyed it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DoxyandTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Time with the family very well spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

When I was planning our trip, I ran across Zip San Juan and I was intrigued from the get go, but the price seemed a little steep, I put this trip on the back burner and when we got to the island, I got a lot of great feedback about the tour, so we decided to take the tour.....my husband couldn't quit smiling, my son loved it, and for me, it was a great experience. So much fun!!!! I would highly recommend it. Our guides Josh and Arin were a lot of fun and very experienced. They were awesome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxMaryxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zip San Juan also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Zip San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing