We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
339
44
17
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
44
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse steam shower granola rooftop deck malin goetz parking garage common space parking spot frosted glass reserved parking fruit bowl perfect location walking distance european style restaurants and shops modern hotel beautiful view of the harbor
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 402 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2018

I came to Friday Harbor for a knitting retreat that was held at The Island Inn. I originally booked one of the Sweets. About a month before my trip, they called me with a complementary upgrade to Penthouse 4. I was traveling with a friend, so this was wonderful - we each had a bedroom and bathroom to ourselves. They said the minuses were more stairs (just one flight) and no view (actually there was a view of the harbor from one of the living room windows). It was a no-brainer for us to switch, and I was really glad we did! What a lovely space to live in for 5 nights. Perfectly appointed, comfortable beds, first class service including Anthony coming to our room at 5:15 AM to help us get our suitcases to the ferry. The only negative I can think of is that the room always felt cold, no matter how we adjusted the thermostat. For sleeping it was perfect. When we were cold in the main space we turned on the gas fireplace, and that did the trick. Those in rooms without fireplaces reported being cold though.

Room tip: Penthouse 4 was quiet and had a limited view.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Jo Anne T,

Wonderful!

Thanks so much for your visit, and for taking the time to share your experience. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your retreat as well our accommodations, top-notch team, and the extra efforts of Anthony.

As you’ve noted, our guests’ comfort is our priority. All of our guestrooms feature especially efficient heating and cooling systems with customizable thermostats. We’ll be happy to help you find the ‘just right’ setting for your next visit, and are delighted to hear that the remote-controlled propane fireplace (a Penthouse exclusive) did the trick.

We can’t wait for your next stay!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘first class service’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

I stayed in Penthouse 2 with some friends, and it was spectacular! The views, the amenities, the staff--all great! I've been to the island many times, and it was lovely to be able to walk around town and to watch the ferries arrive and depart. I couldn't have asked for better! Clean, comfortable, and perfectly outfitted for my stay. (En suite laundry was most appreciated--I was able to pack light and wash as needed.)

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2018

Hello amcombe,

We’d love to welcome you back! We really appreciate your visit, as well as the time that you’ve taken to share such flattering comments. We’re thrilled that you and your pals enjoyed your Penthouse experience smack INN the middle of town, and look forward to your next visit!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘spectacular’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

My husband and I stayed here over Labor Day weekend in Penthouse 6 and had a wonderful stay. The room is huge and could easily sleep 5-6 people. We took advantage of the massive kitchen and cooked several times. We greatly appreciate the little touches like having fresh coffee grounds the room to use, a small milk, juice and some other munchies were also provided. The rooftop deck has in incredible view but it is very steep so beware if you have any mobility issues. The location on the water was perfect and other than hearing the ferry horns blow once in a while we never heard a peep and slept like babies. We loved the area and the hotel so much that we are heading back in a few weeks and staying here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanifromCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Hello DanifromCali,

We sincerely appreciate your visit, as well as the time that you’ve taken to share your experience!

Penthouse 6 is a great spot – boasting the highest roof deck INN town. As you’ve mentioned, our roof decks are accessed by ‘ship ladders’ which are much steeper than stairs! While Penthouse 6 does offer plenty of elbow room, we welcome a maximum of four overnight guests to ensure that everyone enjoys a comfortable experience.

We’re flattered that you appreciated all of our little touches, including our custom roast coffee, and that you made good use of your Penthouse kitchen. While Friday Harbor does offer lots of great spots to dine out, we also love to dine INN when possible. We look forward to your next visit!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘welcoming staff’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

This was a lovely place to stay for 3 days. The staff were wonderful. We were facing the harbor watching the boats and ships coming and going. The room was comfortable, it was stocked with granola, fresh fruit, juice, milk, tea and coffee. There was a common area for 3 rooms that had a fireplace, sofa's tables, etc. very nice mini kitchen. The only negative for me is that our room did not have an outside window to open, we had a window above the room door, it was a little claustrophobic at times.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Hello Marilyn S,

Thanks so much for choosing us for your three-day getaway!

We really appreciate your visit, as well as the time that you’ve taken to share your experience. Our entire team is dedicated to crafting exceptional experiences, so we’re delighted that you found your Euro guestroom comfortable, and enjoyed the additional amenities of our View Share. As you’ve noted, our View Share is available exclusively to guests INN Euros.

If you’d prefer more elbow room than our Euros offer for your next extended experience, have a look at our Sweets. If you’d like to go even bigger, our Penthouses are among the biggest INN town! As always, our Experience Ambassadors are standing by and happy to help guide you to the perfect accommodation.

We look forward to your return!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘lovely place to stay’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Where to start? We loved the accommodations in the penthouse. The steam shower was amazing as was the fireplace to keep the living room warm. Every amenity was thought of (popcorn, hot chocolate, coffee, tea, oj, milk, granola) and there was a fully functional kitchen. The beds were delightfully soft. We also loved the private deck above to enjoy a cup of coffee and view Friday harbor. Would definitely stay here again! So convenient to all the restaurants and shops.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank laurensinlalaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Hello laurensinlalaland,

We’re thrilled that you loved your Penthouse accommodations smack INN the middle of Friday Harbor!

We agree that steam showers and fireplaces make Northwest autumns and winters much more enjoyable, and are flattered that you enjoyed all of our other Penthouse experience accoutrements.

Thanks so much for your visit, and for taking the time to share these flattering comments. We look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘definitely stay here again’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews