We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
335
44
17
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
44
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse steam shower granola rooftop deck heated floors malin goetz common space parking spot frosted glass reserved parking fresh fruit walking distance european style perfect location full kitchen modern hotel beautiful view of the harbor
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 398 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2018

I stayed in one of the Euro rooms and was apprehensive about not having a window, but it was actually really great. These rooms are well-designed and modern, and the overall effect was one of coziness and privacy rather than imprisonment. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is outstanding, just steps away from the ferry and a number of restaurants and shops. My only complaint is that the walls are very thin, to the point where I was actually able to make out the content of my neighbors' conversations. Luckily they quieted down before 11pm, but it could be an issue if you end up with night owl socializers next door.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the Euro rooms - they are actually really cool!
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Hello Kira A,

We appreciate your visit, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us INN one of our Euro guestrooms! Thanks as well for your kind words regarding our design, team, and location.

We totally understand that guests may be a bit unsure about booking a room without an exterior window. If an exterior window is a must-have, we’ve got awesome Sweets and Penthouses to offer. If guests like you are up for a new experience, we’re sure that they’ll enjoy the same cozy vibe that you did!

We can’t wait to welcome you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘really cool’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel one night after doing a walk-on ferry trip. We had an unused room reservation (due to a cancelled trip by a friend) we had to use. Hotel and staff were very accommodating. Good location and nice views.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lonesailor48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2018

Hello Lonesailor48,

Thanks so much for your visit and for taking the time to share your experience! We’re delighted that you enjoyed our location as well as our team, and look forward to your next visit!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘walk-on’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I go a lot of places and while I've been to the San Juan islands a number of times, my wife has not. In fact, I have been telling her for ten years that I would take her so after that long it seemed like it was probably time to make good. The island inn was a perfect choice for this time of year and one of the best views of the harbor is on the first landing area as you head up to the rooms. It is centrally located and yet set off just enough to give you a quiet ambience perfect I'm the off season for storm watching from the large bay windows, or sitting with a cup of coffee as you admire the beauty of the bay as the ships glide in. Food is abundant near by and one of the best restaurants ever, cask and schooner, is located just two doors down. Be advised that there is no room service and in the off season things close early so if you're going out to play at one of the bars stash a bite in your room before you go. Fresh fruit is provided in your room daily when they tidy up and the quality was good. The beds are very comfortable and the bath even fits me at 6'1" 280. Finally the service was great as we were patiently given recommendations of places to see and try with all our questions answered and even making a new friend along the way. If you're thinking of visiting try it and make sure to get one of the view rooms and you won't be disappointed with the peace, quiet atmosphere, and tranquil, homey setting.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 509rexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Hello 509rexp,

We’re so happy to hear that you found us to be the perfect choice for your anniversary getaway!

As you’ve noted, our team is happy to help with tips to make every getaway memorable. From nearby dining, to off-the-beaten-path nature, we love guiding our guests to precisely what they’re after. While some of our ‘Sweets’ are INN prime position to offer a peek at the active harbor, all offer those comfortable solo soaking tubs that you enjoyed.

We’re spoiled to be surrounded by such amazing dining options. Our neighbors at Cask and Schooner are definitely a guest favorite, so we’re delighted that you enjoyed your experience there as well.

We look forward to your next visit and hope that it’s not another ten years away!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘making a new friend’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017

New, clean, and modern. Everything was as nice as other reviewers have previously stated.

Two things I would like to mention:

1) Beware of the corner of the bed frame. We stayed at “Sweet 3” with 2 beds. Both my husband and I hit the corner. A little bit of skin at my husband's lower shin got scratched and bled because of this.

2) All the doors could not be closed quietly. We had heard loud door slamming on and off until 11:30pm. 

On a side note: we have stayed at plenty of places that have doors that have been constructed to be easily and quietly closed. 

We were surprised/disappointed to see a modern place like this have bad design on their locks.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 88gratitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Hello Jade W,

We appreciate your visit and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, and found them as nice as previous reviewers!

That said, we’re also disappointed to learn of the challenges that you encountered during your recent experience. Rest assured that our fix-it team has adjusted our door closers, and will review options to enhance our bed frames.

We strive to deliver the best experience possible, and appreciate the valuable insight that you’ve shared. We look forward to your next visit!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘clean and modern’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017

Exploring San Juan Islands and Victoria for the first time in October, one afternoon and night in Friday Harbor. What a treat to have reserved the Island Inn. I had a few questions before reserving and my emails were answered promptly. A few blocks from the ferry and right into the parking garage with your name above your parking space. Sweet! First and most important in our room was a nice view of the harbor, sailboats and ferries from comfortable chairs and large windows in our room. New and very clean with a wonderful large tile bathroom, frig was stocked with juice and milk, a bag of fresh San Juan Island granola on the table and a freshly washed fruit bowl on the table that is refilled daily. Bed was very comfortable and I have back issues. You are right in town, walk to everything. Great staff, very helpful with dinner and morning latte advice. We stayed in one of the the smaller rooms, plenty of room for 2 people. Definitely will return for a longer stay perhaps upstairs in a penthouse room with even better views. Tip: Lucky us, we happen to arrive on the afternoon of the San Juan Islands restaurant and farmers taste festival. Nothing like arriving somewhere new and walking in to taste everything on the island!

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views.
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Time2go57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Hello Time2go57,

Thanks very much for choosing us for your first San Juan Island and BC exploration!

We’re delighted that you found our Team particularly helpful both before and during your experience with us. We strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible, and are also thrilled to hear that you appreciated all of our extra touches throughout your stay.

Friday Harbor and San Juan Island frequently host lots of fun festivals and events – what luck to happen upon a tasting event! Thanks again for your visit and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Lucky us’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews