We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Island Inn at 123 West
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

The experience was fantastic, from booking to check-out. Their web site allows you to not just reserve a space but the specific room you want. I wish this was an industry norm. I booked a package that included Suite 2, the ferry fare, and a reserved parking place. Upon arrival, my name was on a parking spot and we were greeted in the garage by a member of the staff that took our bags from the car to our room while we checked in. An advantage to traveling off season...a complementary upgrade to Penthouse 5! It had the feel of a one bedroom condo with a steam shower, heated bathroom floors, fantastic amenities, a fully stocked kitchen, and fabulous views of Friday Harbor.

Green Features: While not a deciding factor when I choose lodging, I support thier environmentally-friendly practices and welcome how easy it was to recycle.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parke_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hello Parke_Chris,

Wow! Thanks very much for choosing us for your slow season getaway and for taking the time to write all about it. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed all of our special touches. We only upgrade when we can, if we can and are glad that you appreciated the additional elbow room! We look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Wow!’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    40
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
172
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Probably one of the nicest places we've ever stayed on a short trip away from our Puget Sound home.

What makes the place special is the inn's staff. When we arrived, the desk clerk walked up to our room with us and gave us a tour. When a "dead" hair dryer interfered with morning grooming another representative offered to replace it immediately. As we were leaving for the ferry, a member of the housekeeping staff offered to carry our bags to the car. This establish is totally classy.

The owners of this establishment should bottle concepts involving this European-style, boutique hotel and open others in vacation areas around the US!

Room Tip: One overlooking the working harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkookumQuietwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello SkookumQuietwalker,

We’re flattered! Thanks so very much for choosing us and for taking the time to share your experience with us here. As you’ve noted, our entire team is dedicated to making sure your experience is extraordinary. We look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘what makes this place special’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Conveniently located a block away from the Ferry Terminal, this awesome INN is very energy efficient, clean, and spa-like without the high rates. We've stayed in the Euros which shared a massive common, living area and kitchen that has a great view of the harbor and ferry line; and also in one of the suites with a deep soaking tub. They provide you with fruit, granola, tea and coffee in room. Mini split pump, in-floor radiant heat, and lots of natural light make these LEED certified. The staff is very polite and welcoming. Great deals during the "off season". It's our favorite place to stay.

Green Features: Natural light, recycling, in-floor radiant heat, heat pumps, very environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytrippr777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hello daytrippr777,

Wow - thanks so much for visiting and for taking the time to share your experience with us! We’re thrilled to hear that you’re INN to both our Euros and Sweets and that you cashed INN on our easy season rates. We agree that that green is good for all of us and can’t wait until you drop by for another visit!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘favorite place to stay’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Was excellent, beds were comfortable, Staff was polite and gracious. Nice 40 inch HD tv with blue ray player. Significant other enjoyed the big bathroom. I would recommend to any that would enjoy the view and comfort.

Room Tip: I was in sweet 2 overlooked water marina, very enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hello Steveo B,

Thanks very much for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back for work or for pleasure!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘work trip’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel really is a great spot and highly recommended. Certainly not your "normal" hotel room, but nothing is "normal" with this contemporary accommodation. Everything is modern, rooms are great, views are great, service is excellent, walking distance to the ferry (but not too close to be bothered by the traffic - it flows the other way) and they really do try and think of everything to exceed your expectation. There is no need to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legend-Enterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hello Legend-Enterprises,

Thanks for helping us ring INN the New Year and for taking the time to share your experience with us! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our service and accommodations and can’t wait to welcome you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘exceed your expectation’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This- like most Friday Harbor hotels- was way out of our price range, but I can honestly say the view alone was worth the price. The windows are floor to ceiling and It was fun sitting with a cup of tea and watching the comings and goings of ferries, sailboats and people. Secondly, the bathroom is inviting and fun- has ingenious new ways of bathing. We both took a bath in the unusual tub, and we rarely take baths in hotels- you never know what chemicals they've used to clean or who's been there before, etc. The place was spotless and the bathtub inviting.
Tip: the wall of windows also makes it hard to sleep in, because of the light streaming in. Eye masks are provided for this reason.
Tip: Cask & Schooner next door has excellent food and atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1orangepopsicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hello Heidi L,

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you found us to be a good value. We’re also thrilled that you soaked INN the slow – literally! You can rest assured that we use all natural cleaning products and take great pride in delivering a spotless guestroom. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘inviting and fun’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

This would be a unique hotel in a big city but it is truly amazing for a "remote" destination like San Juan Island. Edgy modern decor but with comfy beds with comforters and lots of pillows, all the amenities--great shower, heated bathroom floors, super-absorbent and lush waffle-weave towels, terry-lined robes, Eco-friendly toiletries--plus touches like granola, fruit, fresh OJ, and great coffee in the pullman kitchen in our suite. We had a dog friendly room with its own private patio and pebbled "garden" for quick "trips." Off-season rates are a steal for this quality.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rbkenter45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hello rbkenter45,

Thanks very much for your visit and for taking the time to share your experience with us! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your quiet season visit and all of our special touches. We look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘truly amazing’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Inn at 123 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn at 123 West

Property: The Island Inn at 123 West
Address: 123 West St, Check INN on Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Inn at 123 West 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready, set, slow™ Our boutique hotel is the closest to the ferry and harbor, yet so far away from ordinary. The right pace at the right time; The Island Inn at 123 West is brand spanking new and as green as it gets. Dress us up or dress us down. You'll dig our contemporary style that nods to maritime gone by. Penthouses are fun for families, groups and splurges; Euros are best if you roll with less and Sweets are just like they sound. Make a splash in a floatplane, slip in on the ferry or chart your own course. Get here and go with the slow. Kick things up and paddle a sea kayak with our resident orcas, tool around the island on bicycle, stroll through quaint seaside shops and restaurants or just recombobulate. For your family: Relatives rejoice; hosting a family reunion at the Island Inn at 123 West is uber easy - we're Goldilocks approved. For your wedding: We vow to: bend over backwards for you and your guests; do our top secret rain dance on your special day; promise not to cry only if you don't. For your meeting: Ditch distraction and export your executives to the world's best spot to plan tomorrow's future.For your piggy bank: We're a partner of Stash Hotel rewards. That means you'll earn and redeem points at swanky places like the Island Inn and over 150 locations across the country. Reap while you sleep. Go with a different kind of Friday Harbor Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Island Inn at 123 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Inn At 123 West Hotel Friday Harbor
The Island Inn At 123 West Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing