We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, Poor View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Island Inn at 123 West
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights at Island Inn, Sweet 2. Before our visit I learned the restaurant directly across the street burned down and was concerned about potential construction activity. I asked if they were offering compensation because the beautiful view from our room was now a devastated, sad building.

Rhiannon, the "Experience Ambassador" assured me that, "There hasn’t been much activity in terms of tearing the building down, dump trucks, construction workers etc. We don’t anticipate that kind of noise any time soon."

Well, our second day there, construction workers were outside our room until 8:30PM with a truck and crane. Our widow shades had to be up all day and evening because men were working right outside until dusk. And the INN offered no apologies or compensation. There were however many good things about the hotel...

PROS: Modern design, eco-friendly, natural soap/shampoo, safe/clean property, comfy bed, close proximity to restaurants.

CONS: Expensive, bathroom fan didn't turn on, air conditioner buzzed every 2 minutes, need to sound proof walls/windows, burned down building across the street!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenKysar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello QueenKysar,

Thanks very much for visiting us and for taking the time to share your experience. It’s true that an early morning August 17th fire right across the street from us shocked our Island community and displaced several businesses, their teams and our friends.

Once we made sure our pals were as good as they could be, we sprung into action to alert our current and future guests the same day of the fire.

Our live webcam shows the re_view real-time (click ‘Meanwhile INN Friday Harbor’ in the footer of our website) and we’ve also added an alert to the sidebar of our website and the detail pages for those guestrooms whose view will be immediately impacted. Additionally, we’ve updated all of our outbound reminder e-mails to let everyone arriving know of the unfortunate change to the waterfront.

We’re very sorry if any activity across the street impacted your experience with us. Trust us, we want to keep everyone as up to date as possible regarding any and all anticipated activity in sight. Unfortunately, we were never notified that a tarp installation was planned during your visit with us. What’s worse is that we’re not in control of what the Port does or when they do it with their property.

We’ve already contacted the Port on several occasions and have asked that they do keep us as up-to-date as possible regarding any and all planned activity so we can pass that information along to our guests.

Rest assured that we take your experience very seriously and have already taken care of two of the ‘cons’ you identified. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do to help you feel better about your experience with us; we look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘good things’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 367 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

The views from the Inn were awesome, the staff very friendly and accommodating. The location could not be better, right on the waterfront and a few steps away from everything in town. Jim and Pat........Longmont, Colorado.

Room Tip: Sweet 2 great view; Penthouse 1 spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hello Jim and Pat,

Thanks very much for visiting and for sharing your experience!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Great Vacation Spot’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I had the absolute pleasure to stay at the Island Inn for three nights in August,, 2013. From reservations to our ride to the airport and back to catch our seaplane to Seattle, the Innsperience was Innspired!

My wife and I travel the world and I have to say that the Island Inn is inn a very special class. The Island Inn team, at every level, worked to make out stay picture perfect. I can truly say that virtually everything about our stay exceeded our Innspectations. The granola, the wine, the hospitality, the property, the views, the coffee, the juice, the milk, the fresh fruit, the playfulness, and on and on and on, no detail was left undone. Bravo to each of you, my wife and I truly appreciated you all.

Keep up the good work, I am sure there are lots of nice properties in such a beautiful setting, but it is the "Innspired" teamwork and creativity that made our Innsperience one that transcended ordinary to extraordinary. For an independently run Inn that is truly amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickLori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hello MickLori W,

Wow! Thank you for your flattering comments and visit - we’re speechless!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘INNspired’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a two bedroom two bath penthouse that was very nicely appointed for a family of four. The location was excellent. No on-site restaurant, which was not a problem, as you are steps away from many great restaurants. And they stocked our penthouse with granola, fruit, milk, juice and coffee for our first morning. Steam shower was awesome! My few complaints are minor. It was expensive, but not completely unreasonable for the location or amenities. The stairs were no problem, UNLESS you had a heavy suitcase. Kind of annoying to pay those prices and have to lug a 40lb bag up several flights of stairs. The parking garage was convenient, but a couple of those spots were TIGHT and difficult to navigate. But parking is at a premium at FH, at we were happy to have the spot. The sofas in the living room were extremely uncomfortable to sit on. If you leaned on the back support, both you and the support toppled over. This is because the sofas are also designed as beds, so you trade in the convenience of extra sleeping space for comfort, which always seems to happen with sofa sleepers. My daughter slept on one, and said it was a great bed. Unfortunately, that required requesting the "bed in the bag" from the front desk, which was promptly delivered, but the staff didn't make the bed. Again, for those prices, guests should not have to make up a bed!

Overall, this was a great stay. Great location, views, and service, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsieLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Hello ElsieLew,

We’re completely thrilled that you and your family enjoyed such an ‘awesome’ experience with us and also appreciate you taking the time to share it! We do our best to lug all of the luggage we can and apologize if we didn’t offer the help you needed when you needed it. We’re also sorry to hear that we missed the chance to prepare your additional sleeping surface and will be sure that our team clarifies guest preferences on extra-bed setups moving forward.

We really appreciate your insight and look forward to welcoming you back for another visit – maybe we’ll see you this EASY season!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Awesome’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a great stay in Penthouse 2 which is a 2 bedroom right at the front of the property with great views. The property is top notch and the staff and management welcoming and helpful. The apartment was for the most part of a high finish and the location is excellent.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank KLHR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Hello KLHR71,

We really appreciate your visit and the time you’ve taken to share your experience with us!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘top notch’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Island Inn was the highlight of our stay. Our rooms had a beautiful view of the harbor and were just a short walk from fabulous restaurants, shops, and the ferry. The staff made us feel so welcomed. We, along with another couple, stayed in"Euro" accommodations. We had a common area for relaxing and enjoying the views and just watching the world go by. We used it for a delightful breakfast with coffee and to enjoy some wine in the evening. It was ultra clean, new, and oh so inviting and comfortable.

Room Tip: We only saw the Euros, but talked with people staying in a Penthouse and in a "Sweet". Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnnB670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Hello MaryAnnB670,

We’re thrilled to have been a part of your Washington experience and ecstatic to be the highlight! We're glad that our euros had everything you needed - the view from the view share space is a great way to soak INN the slow. We’re also happy to hear that you were able to find the shared space comfortable enough for your own personal breakfast and happy hour!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘oh so INNviting’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in one of the small rooms. Rarely saw or heard from other guests despite the shared common area. Rooms were minimalist but very clean with modern amenities. A very enjoyable stay with outstanding service. Puns were INNdescribable.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sjy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hello sjy30,

We’re glad that you’re INNto us and can’t wait to welcome you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘INNcredible’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 11 in Friday Harbor
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#9 of 11 in Friday Harbor
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Inn at 123 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn at 123 West

Address: 123 West St, Check INN on Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $154 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Inn at 123 West 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready, set, slow™ Our boutique hotel is the closest to the ferry and harbor, yet so far away from ordinary. The right pace at the right time; The Island Inn at 123 West is brand spanking new and as green as it gets. Dress us up or dress us down. You'll dig our contemporary style that nods to maritime gone by. Penthouses are fun for families, groups and splurges; Euros are best if you roll with less and Sweets are just like they sound. Make a splash in a floatplane, slip in on the ferry or chart your own course. Get here and go with the slow. Kick things up and paddle a sea kayak with our resident orcas, tool around the island on bicycle, stroll through quaint seaside shops and restaurants or just recombobulate. For your family: Relatives rejoice; hosting a family reunion at the Island Inn at 123 West is uber easy - we're Goldilocks approved. For your wedding: We vow to: bend over backwards for you and your guests; do our top secret rain dance on your special day; promise not to cry only if you don't. For your meeting: Ditch distraction and export your executives to the world's best spot to plan tomorrow's future.For your piggy bank: We're a partner of Stash Hotel rewards. That means you'll earn and redeem points at swanky places like the Island Inn and over 150 locations across the country. Reap while you sleep. Go with a different kind of Friday Harbor Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Island Inn at 123 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Inn At 123 West Hotel Friday Harbor
The Island Inn At 123 West Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing