We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful friday harbor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Island Inn at 123 West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Island Inn at 123 West
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Purcell, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beautiful friday harbor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

location, location, location was great, very convenient to the hub of Friday Harbor, we spent our Memorial Day there, and the local parade and ceremony at the park was great, very moving and honored our fallen military in a very special way. a couple of negatives - the living room furnishings were very uncomfortable!!!!! could not enjoy setting and talking with a cup of coffee on the couches, the cushions will fall off and you will tumble backwards with them, no chairs, etc. I know that is a small thing, and you are there to enjoy the outdoors, but again very uncomfortable, there is no place to place your heavy luggage in the bedrooms except on the floor, the stairs can be very very challenging, good cardio workout, but not for anyone that struggles with walking or climbing stairs, the roof top deck is a highlight, but again the stairs to the deck are very steep, we enjoyed our stay there, very quiet, well equiped kitchen, the fruit and drinks were a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanax6604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello nanax6604,

We really enjoyed hosting your group and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the local Memorial Day parade and ceremony. We’re very sorry for any challenges with our furnishings and are fast at work to make sure that everything is just right for all of our guests.

Most important, we’re glad that you enjoyed your visit, the equipped kitchen and our welcome amenities and look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Location’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    40
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
169
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I decided last minute to stay here when we decided to ride the ferry to San Juan Island. Since it is just across from the ferry port, it was simple to find. the Staff was very helpful from putting our name on our parking spot to immediately taking our luggage to our rooms. The very unusual amenities were a delight. It is difficult to find a hotel with decent hair supplies and the shower was very interesting.

Having our breakfast right in our room with the provided granola oat mix was very nice. I would only suggest a microwave or a variety of tea in K-cups. There is a Keurig machine in the room with a selection of coffees but for tea, they only had tea bags but no way to heat the water for tea.

The bed was very comfortable and I loved all the pillows. The view from 2 Sweet was wonderful; being able to see the harbor and people watch was fun.

Room Tip: 2 Sweet has a great view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaAdvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello TinaAdvani,

We sincerely appreciate your visit and are delighted that you enjoyed our team, service, views, amenities, granola and bedding! We’re pleased to announce that we’ve equipped all of our Sweets and Penthouses with electric tea kettles and offer the same to Euro guests INN their view share space.

Clarification: While we don’t feature Keurig machines or K-cups, we proudly serve up our special coffee blend roasted by the San Juan Coffee Roasting Company and offer a variety of Harney and Sons teas.

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Character’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selah, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

From the moment Tom called us before we got there until the last cup of coffee the next morning it was a fantastic stay. The view from the window where we could sit and watch the harbor's activity was very relaxing. You thought of everything we might need.

Room Tip: The room we had was great but a person needs to be able to do stairs
See more room tips
Green Features: loved it. The towels were especially interesting. The toiletries was outstanding...The bathroom rain shower and then tub was great after a long day of hiking
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corinnemurphyhines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello corinnemurphyhines,

Thanks for dropping INN and for having some fun with our tagline! We can’t wait to welcome you back for another spin off the coast of ordinary!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Ready ∙ Set ∙ Great’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have stayed at 2 other properties on San Juan Island and after staying here, I'm not sure if I could try another. The service is fantastic, the location is perfect and they not only welcomed me by name, but have also continued to remember me. You've got to get the parking because it's worth it and make sure to try all of the lotions and soaps. Oh, the "half full" glasses are quite the conversation piece and worth investing in.

Green Features: The organic shampoo and body wash will revitalize your senses!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello Jess A,

We’re so glad you found us and are thrilled that you’ve shared your experience! We look forward to each of your visits and will do all that we can to keep you coming back for more!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Half Full’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa mesa, ca
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here with my wife, brother and his wife for a mid-week getaway. These were built to be high-end condos (subzero fridge, tankless water heater) but then converted to a hotel. I am rating it 5 stars based on amenities, view and location but please note that since we didn't pay for the room, (thanks to my brother and his wife!) I cannot weigh in on the value.

PROS:
Beautiful amenities: Sub-zero fridge, wonderful bathrooms including a shower with steam option, comfortable beds, amazing views of the harbor, close to the ferry and shops, excellent rooftop patio, sophisticated design, excellent layout

CONS:
the stairs to the rooftop patio are crazy steep! beware when buzzed and avoid when drunk. The guest bedroom contains a tankless water heater in the closet which is LOUD when others are using hot water.

All in all, a wonderful place to stay, especially in nice weather when you can take advantage of the outdoor patio

Room Tip: The penthouse suites have fantastic views of the harbor, especially from the rooftop patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank justin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hello Justin44,

Thanks so much for dropping by and for taking the time to share your experience! We’re glad that you're INNto our amenities and design.

You’re right on the roof decks – they’re accessed by ship’s ladders and should be treated with care. We’ll be sure to look at further INNsulating our water heaters, too (each penthouse has its own on-demand heater).

We can’t wait to welcome you back for another mid-week getaway!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Wonderful Place to Stay’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We decided to stay the night at Friday Harbor at the last minute, so the choices were pretty slim. We were recommended this place from another Inn that was sold out. We missed the last room by 5 minutes!

The only rooms that were available was the top penthouse suites which were about as expensive as can be. It was ok because of the 20% off, but not so sure about the full fare. The room views were about the best I've had. Other than a nice penthouse in the Caribbean it would be hard to beat it.

I wanted to say that something happened on our way there that has never happened in all our years of traveling and staying at hotels. Even $1200 a night resorts! We were on the Ferry and got a call from the hotel making sure we were going to make it and about what time we were going to be there. That was a VERY nice thing to do and only took a few minutes of their time. It was very much appreciated and made us feel like we were welcome there. More hotels should do this!

Privacy was ok, there are steps that go up the side of the penthouse and people standing on those steps can see into the bottom floor, so you have to REALLY be careful! The top floor bedroom had more privacy. If it were me, I would install some type of glass so you can see out, but no one can see in.

The master bath was the cream of the entire suite. It was the best bathroom I think we have ever been in. The heated floor, the steam room was to die for. We've had much bigger bathrooms, but not much better. The water pressure in the shower is your standard low flow stuff, so be prepared for that.

The bed was very comfortable, like sleeping on a pillow. Unfortunately it was just way too soft for us. Both woke up to sore backs and that stayed with us the rest of the day. There just isn't any support at all.

The deck was very nice, but not that private. People on the walkway, and those above you could easily see you.

The railing on the stairs between floors is iron and kind of uncomfortable, a nice wooden rounded top would make that much better.

The kitchen was amazing! It was pretty well stocked, and the stove and oven was full sized. This was supposed to be a condo, so it is a real live kitchen.

The living room was large with wonderful floor to ceiling windows overlooking the harbor. The TV was nice, but set in a very unusual place. I would have placed it on the wall over the fireplace, it was to the right of the fireplace near the stairs. That made it awkward to relax on the couch to watch a movie at night.

The comments are right about Ikea :) It's like you are spending the night in the Ikea showroom in Renton! But not necessarily a bad thing. Heck 80% of our furniture at home we bought from Ikea. The thing we liked the least was the couch in the living room. It is the one with backs that just sit on the edge of the couch. These kept falling when we were trying to relax on the couch. My wife almost fell over backwards once. We learned to manage by just not leaning on the backs of the couch when sitting/laying.

The bath products were wonderful, my wife absolutely loved the shampoo.

Will we be back? If there are specials, you bet! But the rack rate of almost $600 a night will prevent us from doing it often.

Why is it only 4 stars? I took off one star for the value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheREALgregma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hello TheREALgregma ,

Thanks very much for finding us and for taking the time to share your experience! We’re really happy that you found the view from Penthouse 1 and our service to be top notch and we totally agree with you on the Penthouse washrooms…they’re pretty amazing!

That said, we’re sorry that your slumber and sitting were anything less than spectacular. We’ll be sure to address those (and your other tips, too) and look forward to delivering an even better experience for your next visit.

P.S. We sure hope that you’ve signed up for STASH hotel rewards. That way, you’ll have the chance to earn points during your next experience with us!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Awesome’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I do not get to travel together that much, but both really needed some time to unwind from our very busy lives. We were looking for somewhere close, but a with the feeling that we were a world away. We stumbled across the island inn and thought it was such a cute place, very us. We stayed in Sweet One, which has the most amazing view of the Harbor. You could stay in there for days just watching the boats sail around the harbor. They took care of us and thought of everything, from OJ to the best granola I have ever eaten. The have beds you will never want to climb out of and hand soap that smells so great you will want to buy bottles of it! We cannot speak highly enough about the Island Inn. All we can say is that I cannot wait to go back and we will be referring everyone to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello Lindsay H,

Thank you, we mean thank you, for your flattering comments! We’re glad that our INN is ‘you’ and can’t wait to welcome you back for another much needed and well-deserved getaway.

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘World Away’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
4.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Inn at 123 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn at 123 West

Property: The Island Inn at 123 West
Address: 123 West St, Check INN on Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Inn at 123 West 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready, set, slow™ Our boutique hotel is the closest to the Ferry and harbor, yet so far away from ordinary. The right pace at the right time; The Island Inn at 123 West is brand spanking new and as green as it gets. Dress us up or dress us down. You'll dig our contemporary style that nods to maritime gone by. Penthouses are fun for families, groups and splurges; Euros are best if you roll with less and Sweets are just like they sound. Make a splash in a floatplane, slip in on the ferry or chart your own course. Get here and go with the slow. Kick things up and paddle a sea kayak with our resident orcas, tool around the island on bicycle, stroll through quaint seaside shops and restaurants or just re_combobulate. For your family: Relatives rejoice; hosting a family reunion at the Island Inn at 123 West is uber easy - we're goldilocks approved. For your wedding: We vow to: bend over backwards for you and your guests; do our top secret rain dance on your special day; promise not to cry only if you don't. For your meeting: Ditch distraction and export your executives to the world's best spot to plan tomorrow's future.For your piggy bank: We're a partner of Stash Hotel rewards. That means you'll earn and redeem points at swanky places like the Island Inn and over 150 locations across the country. Reap while you sleep. Go with a different kind of Friday Harbor Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Island Inn at 123 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Inn At 123 West Hotel Friday Harbor
The Island Inn At 123 West Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing