We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Island Inn at 123 West
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
tacoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The impeccable service, the modern amenities (heated floor) the stunning room with a view, just wow. Thank you Island Inn for an unforgettable experience. We stayed one night and can't wait to return for many more!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hello colleen c,

Wow! Thanks very much for your stay and for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to your next (longer) visit!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Fabulous’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    41
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
87
174
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lopez Island, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were in Penthouse 2 and were impressed with the layout, the amazing fixtures and fittings. The steam shower was sheer heaven, the view incredible and the level of service is second to none. We will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hello phil h,

We sincerely appreciate your stay and your praise! We can’t wait to see you again.

All the best,

The Island Inn “Second to None” Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a quiet New Year's Eve a couple weeks ago. The price was good, the website is modern and tech-savvy, I honestly was expecting it to be just okay. But this place far exceeded my expectations and made me want to come back in the summer and stay there again! It's such a cute, modern, convenient, and really cost-efficient. So many hotels in Friday Harbor are waaay over-priced. I'm not one to over-indulge in a hotel unless I plan on getting spa services or have to stay in the room the entire time. Below are the areas we judged this hotel on.

SERVICE:
The receptionist called us the day before to confirm our online reservation and ask if we needed directions on how to take the ferry from Anacortes to Friday Harbor. This was such a nice gesture; it's really the details that make a difference. When we arrived in Friday Harbor, it was earlier than check-in, but the receptionist said we could drop our items off in the lobby and she'd watch them. Check-in was quick and easy and she took our cell to call us when our room was ready because she knew it'd be ready early. Nice perk.

ROOM:
We did the virtual tour online, so we thought we had an idea of what to expect; we were pleasantly surprised! The bathroom had heated floors. Oh dear, I now cannot live without heated floors! There was a nice fruit/snack bowl waiting for us, anything in the mini-fridge was ours to drink. It's so nice to be at a place that doesn't nickel and dime you for everything. The bed was oh-so-comfortable and the pillows worked for my chronically sore neck. And the receptionist gave us a nice little book for food recommendations in the area. It was nice to have that and see the menus without having to leave. I use Yelp, but hey, it's the little things that count!

LOCATION:
It's RIGHT by the ferry; literally, 5 minute walk. Friday Harbor is small, so everything is close, but I loved seeing the ferry come and go from our floor-to-ceiling windows. It makes the ambiance feel so quaint. Next time, I want to stay in the pent house in the summer: they have their own patio.

This place definitely has charm and is a great value! Don't hesitate when booking this place, it's well worth it!

PS. We have some experience in Friday Harbor as we stayed at the Bird Rock Hotel a couple years ago and this place is far superior than the Bird Rock. So go, have an amazing time, and be ready to get spoiled and relax! Oh, forgot to mention, they also have bikes you can borrow to bike around. Cute details.

Room Tip: Stayed in Sweet 1, perfect corner room with views of the harbor. Try to stay in the pent house with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcck55210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear tcck55210,

Happy 2013! We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are flattered that you loved our website, venue and INNtuitive service. We really do enjoy doing all those little things that make your experience better than you thought it would be. That said, we should warn you that our heated floors and bedding can be mildly habit forming. So far, the only treatment available is another experience with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back and do INNvite you to take one of our penthouses for a spin next time you visit us off the coast of ordinary.

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Awesome Amenities’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent three nights at the Island Inn in one of the Euro 'sweets' and greatly enjoyed our stay. The room was larger than expected, spotlessly clean, with comfortable furnishings, a spa-like bathroom with heated floors, a view over the harbour and lots of special touches. The television and satellite reception were excellent. We also appreciated the underground parking with our own designated spot.

We have travelled over holidays before and it can be difficult to know what restaurants are open. The Inn provided a binder with lots of useful information including a restaurant calendar. They also made a recommendation for Christmas Dinner that was a highlight of our trip. We were grateful for the welcome basket with the makings of a healthy breakfast or snacks and of course, San Juan Island roasted coffee:-).

Our stay at the Inn surpassed our expectations - we could happily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penderepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear penderepi,

Thanks so much for your stay and for sharing your experience! We’re thrilled that you found our Sweets to be spotless, roomy and comfy – that’s precisely what we were going for! We’re also delighted that you enjoyed our special touches INNcluding our ready ∙ set ∙ yum guide, slick high-def television and reserved parking spots. We can’t wait to welcome you back and wish you an INNcredible 2013!

All the best,

The Island Inn “Christmas at the Inn” Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Although it was a rainy weekend and we just live a ferry boat ride away, my husband and I siezed the opportunity to get away. We were completely amazed with the lush amenities and friendly environment. We arrived on an evening ferry and even though the staff had to stay a bit late to accomodate our arrival they were very hospitable. We stayed in Sweet 2 and had a beautiful view of the marina and ferry landing. We had such a great experience that we plan on staying at this property again.Thanks to all the staff that made our stay wonderful!

Room Tip: Splurge and get a room with a view, the perk adds to the experience of the INN.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Gretchen L,

Thanks so much for soaking INN the slow with us and for sharing your re_view. We’re completely ecstatic that you had such a great experience and that all of our little touches and friendly team made your getaway extra special. Since you’re so close – we look forward to seeing you again real soon!!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Seize the Opportunity’ Ambassadors

P.S. Great photos, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have had the opportunity to stay at the Island Inn for part of November and most of December. Misty and her staff exceed expecations- every time, every visit.
This is not your ordinary inn- spotless with every thing you would need away from home.
Staff are exceptional, views are amazing, sweets and penthouses well stocked and ready for you to relax and regather yourself.

I would never stay anywhere else on this island and cannot wait to get back soon.

I am a very picky traveler and have "tried" the other hotels in town. Island Inn is miles ahead of any other place in town.

Room Tip: any of the sweets or the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear slr0927,

We’re flattered by your kind words and consider it a privilege to have hosted you. We’re also glad that our spot ‘off the coast of ordinary’ had everything you needed and turned your assignment into an experience. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

All the best,

The Island Inn “Picky” Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at this property. We came into Friday Harbor one day earlier than our family. We rented a house on the island with them, but needed a place to stay for the one night. This place is a great piece of property. We had the perfect view of the Harbor and could watch the Ferry come in and out.

The bed was compfy. The shower was great. The only problem we had: We stayed in the "Accessible Room". However, the shower/tub is NOT accessible for anyone in a wheelchair. We only stayed one night, so it wasn't really an issue. Other than that, this is a great place and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We had the accessible room. The only problem with this room, if you can not stand there is no way t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debrahw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello debrahw77,

Thanks very much for sharing your experience with us; we’re positively thrilled that your stay was “fantastic!” We thank you for your praise of our amenities and apologize if you encountered any accessibility challenges. We look forward to your return and will be happy to help you hand pick a more conducive spot for your next experience!

All the best,

The Island Inn “Great Place” Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
352 reviews
4.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Inn at 123 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn at 123 West

Property: The Island Inn at 123 West
Address: 123 West St, Check INN on Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Inn at 123 West 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready, set, slow™ Our boutique hotel is the closest to the ferry and harbor, yet so far away from ordinary. The right pace at the right time; The Island Inn at 123 West is brand spanking new and as green as it gets. Dress us up or dress us down. You'll dig our contemporary style that nods to maritime gone by. Penthouses are fun for families, groups and splurges; Euros are best if you roll with less and Sweets are just like they sound. Make a splash in a floatplane, slip in on the ferry or chart your own course. Get here and go with the slow. Kick things up and paddle a sea kayak with our resident orcas, tool around the island on bicycle, stroll through quaint seaside shops and restaurants or just recombobulate. For your family: Relatives rejoice; hosting a family reunion at the Island Inn at 123 West is uber easy - we're Goldilocks approved. For your wedding: We vow to: bend over backwards for you and your guests; do our top secret rain dance on your special day; promise not to cry only if you don't. For your meeting: Ditch distraction and export your executives to the world's best spot to plan tomorrow's future.For your piggy bank: We're a partner of Stash Hotel rewards. That means you'll earn and redeem points at swanky places like the Island Inn and over 150 locations across the country. Reap while you sleep. Go with a different kind of Friday Harbor Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Island Inn at 123 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Inn At 123 West Hotel Friday Harbor
The Island Inn At 123 West Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing