We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room, beautiful views, and friendly service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Island Inn at 123 West
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Absolutely love the beautiful room (we stayed in penthouse 1 which I highly recommend). Lots of thoughtful touches throughout - for example our name was posted on the parking spot we had reserved. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the views are killer. We'll definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drag0nf1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Drag0nf1y,

Wow; thanks for your stay and for sharing your experience! We’re so glad you enjoyed our special touches and can’t wait to see you again!

All the best,

The Island Inn “We’ll definitely be coming back” Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 360 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The Island Inn is perfection from beginning to end! The website and reservations process are fantastic (they even follow up with an e-mail to tell you how excited they are that you'll be staying there) and the location is ideal.
We chose the 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom Penthouse 4 and it was heavenly, with a postcard-like view of the harbor. It had beautiful bathrooms with heated floors (steam shower in the master bath and amazing bath products), a fireplace, a rooftop deck, a kitchen fully stocked with dishes/cookware, etc. There was even milk, juice, granola, fruit, popcorn, coffee and tea for us. We had reserved parking when we made our reservation and there was a cute little sign on our spot so there were no problems with anyone taking it. Michelle in the office was terrific....she gave us the tour, as well as an after hours phone number (in case we needed anything during the night) and several dining recommendations (which were all delicious). If there was a negative, it would be the amount of stairs but they really do add to the charm and there is an amazing view from every step. There are handicapped lifts available so even the stairs shouldn't deter anyone from staying here.
As I stated at the beginning of my review, the Island Inn is perfection! We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jets60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Hello jets60,

We’re completely humbled by your kind words and are thrilled that you had such a great experience with us! Most of all, we’re really happy that you appreciated our special touches and customized service. We look forward to welcoming you back and agree that we’re worth the climb!

All the best,

The Island Inn “We will be back” Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just back from 3 nights here. The service was fantastic. The bedding, pillows and mattresses were so comfortable I didn't want to get up. Several of the penthouses have rooftop decks that are perfect for drinking wine and watching the sunset (or rise) over the harbor. Definitely one of the best lodging experiences I have ever had. We took advantage of the INN Motion package which included a dining gift certificate and an excursion (we went kayaking). We will definitely be coming back. The INN is only steps from the ferry so no car is needed. Did I mention the steam showers!?

Room Tip: Ask for the INN Motion package and a Penthouse with a roof top deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolfieOttoDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Hello WolfieOttoDad,

We’re completely overjoyed that you had such a great experience with us! Getting up is always optional, but always worth it when you choose one of our fun packages. While our packages do vary by season, we’ve always got something spectacular available. We sincerely appreciate your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for another epic adventure!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Stunning’ Ambassadors

P.S. Nice photos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our stay was 5-7 Oct 2012, Right from the beginning the staff went out of their way to assist us. As I am disabled and use a walker, the staff insured that my special needs were taken care of during our stay. The rooms were clean and neat while the bed was one of the best I have ever used in the motel/hotel setting. A couple areas appreciated by both my wife and I was the kitchen area that was located off of a common room. We really enjoyed the fruit and extra goodies available to us. One of the main points of goodwill received from the staff concerned my wife and her new iPad. For the most part she is an accident looking for a place to happen with the iPad. The staff, with a great deal of patience got her to the point where she was table to take pictures for us to look at as a remembrance of our trip. We are planning our return trip for our anniversary next year. Thanks for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Hello Jerry M D,

We sincerely appreciate your visit and your kind words. We’re also thrilled that you enjoyed your experience in our Euro guestrooms! We take great pride in delivering the special touches you noticed and in helping out however we can. We look forward to your return next year for another amazing anniversary!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Anniversary’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

the Inn is beautiful and comfortable and within walking distance of all the amenities of Friday Harbor. The staff is friendly and helpful. The beds and linens are so luxurious that it's hard to get up. Friday Harbor and the Island Inn combine for a restful, enjoyable experience. CO traveler

Room Tip: couples and families will enjoy the penthouses. Single travelers will find the Sweets and Euros sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hello Kathleen B,

Thanks so much for soaking INN the slow with us – getting out of bed is always optional!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Sleep INN’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Really friendly, helpful staff. We had a perfect stay at this hotel. We ravelled as a family of 3 and had 2 massive super comfie beds. The room we took was one of the least expensive, we didn't have a view of the sea from our room, but we did have lots of privacy and peace and quiet. Our own private terrace that was a little sun trap. Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. And we did have a mini fridge, sink and coffee making facilities in the room, so we could have tea and breakfast in the room. Plenty of seating alternatives and a big screen TV that was not a major part of the rooms decor! Excellent stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hello Karin H,

We’re so glad that you enjoyed your Sweet and experience with us! We firmly believe that television should be a last resort while experiencing our Inn and Island and are happy to hear that the tucked-away sun trap terrace won out! We thank you for selecting us and eagerly await your return!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Super Comfie’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Island Inn on San Juan Island and were very impressed. This is a boutique hotel without the usual hotel amenities like room service etc. However, the property is outstanding. Check in was very professional and friendly and the Inn is located directly across from the ferry terminal and is close to all Friday Harbor amenities. The rooms we stayed in were outstanding. Great bed linens, Malin & Goetz toiletries and a fantastic open common area for relaxing and sharing stories. Secure storage for our bicylces was very welcome adn the staff were very friendly and accomodating. I think this is "the" place to stay in Friday Harbour and we'll be back.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with 2 couples, book one of the penthouse suites. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCDCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Hello JCD Calgary,

Thanks very much for visiting and for taking the time to share your experience. We’re flattered that you found us and our accommodations impressive and are even happier that you enjoyed both our Euros and Penthouses! We’d love to welcome you back the next time you’re out for a pedal!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘We’ll be back’ Ambassadors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#9 of 11 in Friday Harbor
364 reviews
4.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Inn at 123 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn at 123 West

Address: 123 West St, Check INN on Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $138 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Inn at 123 West 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready, set, slow™ Our boutique hotel is the closest to the ferry and harbor, yet so far away from ordinary. The right pace at the right time; The Island Inn at 123 West is brand spanking new and as green as it gets. Dress us up or dress us down. You'll dig our contemporary style that nods to maritime gone by. Penthouses are fun for families, groups and splurges; Euros are best if you roll with less and Sweets are just like they sound. Make a splash in a floatplane, slip in on the ferry or chart your own course. Get here and go with the slow. Kick things up and paddle a sea kayak with our resident orcas, tool around the island on bicycle, stroll through quaint seaside shops and restaurants or just recombobulate. For your family: Relatives rejoice; hosting a family reunion at the Island Inn at 123 West is uber easy - we're Goldilocks approved. For your wedding: We vow to: bend over backwards for you and your guests; do our top secret rain dance on your special day; promise not to cry only if you don't. For your meeting: Ditch distraction and export your executives to the world's best spot to plan tomorrow's future.For your piggy bank: We're a partner of Stash Hotel rewards. That means you'll earn and redeem points at swanky places like the Island Inn and over 150 locations across the country. Reap while you sleep. Go with a different kind of Friday Harbor Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Island Inn at 123 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Inn At 123 West Hotel Friday Harbor
The Island Inn At 123 West Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing