We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful views from a beautiful Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Island Inn at 123 West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Island Inn at 123 West
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful views from a beautiful Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

the Inn is beautiful and comfortable and within walking distance of all the amenities of Friday Harbor. The staff is friendly and helpful. The beds and linens are so luxurious that it's hard to get up. Friday Harbor and the Island Inn combine for a restful, enjoyable experience. CO traveler

Room Tip: couples and families will enjoy the penthouses. Single travelers will find the Sweets and Euros sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello Kathleen B,

Thanks so much for soaking INN the slow with us – getting out of bed is always optional!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Sleep INN’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    40
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
169
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Really friendly, helpful staff. We had a perfect stay at this hotel. We ravelled as a family of 3 and had 2 massive super comfie beds. The room we took was one of the least expensive, we didn't have a view of the sea from our room, but we did have lots of privacy and peace and quiet. Our own private terrace that was a little sun trap. Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. And we did have a mini fridge, sink and coffee making facilities in the room, so we could have tea and breakfast in the room. Plenty of seating alternatives and a big screen TV that was not a major part of the rooms decor! Excellent stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello Karin H,

We’re so glad that you enjoyed your Sweet and experience with us! We firmly believe that television should be a last resort while experiencing our Inn and Island and are happy to hear that the tucked-away sun trap terrace won out! We thank you for selecting us and eagerly await your return!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Super Comfie’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Island Inn on San Juan Island and were very impressed. This is a boutique hotel without the usual hotel amenities like room service etc. However, the property is outstanding. Check in was very professional and friendly and the Inn is located directly across from the ferry terminal and is close to all Friday Harbor amenities. The rooms we stayed in were outstanding. Great bed linens, Malin & Goetz toiletries and a fantastic open common area for relaxing and sharing stories. Secure storage for our bicylces was very welcome adn the staff were very friendly and accomodating. I think this is "the" place to stay in Friday Harbour and we'll be back.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with 2 couples, book one of the penthouse suites. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCDCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Hello JCD Calgary,

Thanks very much for visiting and for taking the time to share your experience. We’re flattered that you found us and our accommodations impressive and are even happier that you enjoyed both our Euros and Penthouses! We’d love to welcome you back the next time you’re out for a pedal!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘We’ll be back’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful trip to Friday harbor. We arrived two hours before check in. We got an upgrade and stayed in suite 2. Wow. First upgrade ever for us. The room was beautiful, super clean and what a view !!! Front desk was very nice and helpful. What a beautiful place on a beautiful island!! Super close to everything. Didn't even bring our car!! Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hello Lakgrl,

We agree; wow! We’re blushing and so happy that you enjoyed such a great experience with us! Upgrades are always based on availability and always as much fun for us as they are for you!! We can’t wait to see you again.

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘WOW’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I took a 7-day trip around the Pacific Northwest (Portland, Seattle, San Juan Island), and stayed at a few nice boutique hotels. This was BY FAR our favorite place! My only regret was that we had just ONE night there. Where do I begin? The pillows and sheets were so luxurious, it was difficult to drag ourselves out of bed. The soaps and shampoos smelled so divine, I wanted to take 5 showers a day. The hotel staff were the nicest I've ever met. We stayed in a Euro room (the only room left for the night we wanted), which turned out to be the perfect size for two, plus we had access to a nice common area where fresh fruit, coffee, granola, etc. were available for 24/7 snacking! Also, you couldn't ask for a hotel closer to the ferry -- it's literally a stone's throw away. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Island Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Euro room, which was the perfect size for a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hello J P,

We’re so glad to be your favorite INN the Northwest! We’re also thrilled that you found your Euro to be just right and appreciated our bath amenities, bedding and team. We look forward to your next (extended) visit!!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Perfect for Two’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennebunkport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed at the Island Inn at 123 West for 2 nights with my 4 year old son and we loved it. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly. I have traveled all over the world and I think this Inn tops most. I hope to return next year for a week or so.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of their suits that over looked the harbor. It had two beds and a very big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kennebunkportshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hello kennebunkportshannon,

We’re blushing and so happy that you and your son enjoyed such a great experience with us! We look forward to becoming part of your annual travels and genuinely appreciate your kind words.

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Tops’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was such a gem!

I had read about the Inn over the summer in the Wall Street Journal - the Inn surpassed all expectations. The location was amazing, the staff was awesome. The bedding was superb! The euro room was more than adequate and comfortable! Overall value was perfect. I would highly recommend the Inn at 123 West!

Room Tip: We took one of the Euros which was great - however, we would likely choose one of the Penthouse suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hello rtbutler,

You’ve made our day! We’re thrilled our Euros exceeded your expectations and can’t wait to see you again!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Amazing & Awesome’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
4.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Inn at 123 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn at 123 West

Property: The Island Inn at 123 West
Address: 123 West St, Check INN on Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Inn at 123 West 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready, set, slow™ Our boutique hotel is the closest to the Ferry and harbor, yet so far away from ordinary. The right pace at the right time; The Island Inn at 123 West is brand spanking new and as green as it gets. Dress us up or dress us down. You'll dig our contemporary style that nods to maritime gone by. Penthouses are fun for families, groups and splurges; Euros are best if you roll with less and Sweets are just like they sound. Make a splash in a floatplane, slip in on the ferry or chart your own course. Get here and go with the slow. Kick things up and paddle a sea kayak with our resident orcas, tool around the island on bicycle, stroll through quaint seaside shops and restaurants or just re_combobulate. For your family: Relatives rejoice; hosting a family reunion at the Island Inn at 123 West is uber easy - we're goldilocks approved. For your wedding: We vow to: bend over backwards for you and your guests; do our top secret rain dance on your special day; promise not to cry only if you don't. For your meeting: Ditch distraction and export your executives to the world's best spot to plan tomorrow's future.For your piggy bank: We're a partner of Stash Hotel rewards. That means you'll earn and redeem points at swanky places like the Island Inn and over 150 locations across the country. Reap while you sleep. Go with a different kind of Friday Harbor Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Island Inn at 123 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Inn At 123 West Hotel Friday Harbor
The Island Inn At 123 West Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing