We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Sea Kayaks

Discovery Sea Kayaks
Ranked #5 of 22 Tours in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Providing San Juan Kayak Tours since 2001. We offer a range of San Juan Island kayak tours; Half Day, Full Day, Sunset and Bioluminescence Kayak Tours. We also have longer kayak expeditions for 2, 3, and 5 days for kayaking and camping. Kayak tour routes are designed for whale watching during the prime whale movement season. We pride ourselves on offering the most educational and quality kayak tours. Our staff is made up of seasoned industry professionals with many years of experience. With our shop located in the middle of downtown we have a easy to find meeting location. We also provide guided San Juan Island Hiking Tours to our two island National Park. To complete our adventure offerings we have a range of bike rentals from performance road bikes to electric bikes. Discovery is a full service adventure outfitter in the heart of the San Juan Islands.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Highlight of our honeymoon. My wife and I will talk about our weekend trip with DSK for years.

Took a three-day weekend trip in early September 2013. Nate Lewis was our guide, naturalist, chef, etc.

Friday morning we left in heavy fog. We donned rain gear and waded into smallpox bay to board our boats (wear quick-dry. Just do). We paddled out into the fog over Haro Strait, and after about an hour, started hearing loud breathing out in the fog. We stopped and turned just as an entire pod of orcas passed right in front of us. Absolutely stunning.

Over the next three days, we paddled to Stuart Island, around Johns Island, and back down Haro along the west shore of Henry Island. The weather broke on day 2, and we were treated to the sight of seals, bald eagles, ospreys, cormorants, river otters, sea stars, kelp, porpoises, and much more.

My wife and I were the only two people registered for our tour, and DSK ran the tour anyway, no fuss or mention of it at all. The private tour meant great flexibility - if we wanted to paddle somewhere, Nate was happy to make it happen.

Nate Lewis really made the trip into what it was for us. He helped us improve our paddling technique, kept us laughing, answered myriad questions, and pointed out the best sights along the way. He was a spectacular chef, to boot - we ate like royalty. Between the shrimp & scallops in cream sauce and the enormous marinated salmon steaks, Nate kept us better fed on the tour than we probably were on the rest of our honeymoon.

Looking forward to coming back, and bringing friends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank tombyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    14
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Safe, fun, professional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Great half day kayak trip in the Haro Strait. We saw all kinds of wild life and had a great time with our guide, Nate. We will book here again whenever we visit the San Juan's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank samanatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“!!! Awesome Time !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our family had such an incredible time on our first sea kayaking trip. Our morning kayak adventure was a memorable experience full of beautiful scenery & wildlife. Our guide, Nate, was knowledgeable & fun, and made our trip extra awesome. We all fell in love with sea kayaking, and can't wait to go again with Discovery Sea Kayaks!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DJMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Skilled and knowledgeable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

These guys really know what they are doing. The kayaks are high quality and our guide did a great job of showing us around and explaining the history, flora, and fauna of the island. We had a fabulous time and would go with Discovery Sea Kayaks again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alli76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Introduction to Sea Kayaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My brother and I used, Discovery Sea Kayaks, for a recent visit to, Friday Harbor, and the San Juan Islands. Neither of us had ever kayaked before, and the team at Discovery Sea Kayaks (DSK for short) explained everything we'd need to know, and what to do in an unforeseen event. They instilled confidence in us with their high degree of professionalism and knowledge.

We had opted for the half day tour, and arrived a few minutes before our scheduled beginning time. We were driven to the launch site on the west side of the island, where we acquainted with the kayak we'd be using, the water ware we'd be wearing, and other points on the kayak and paddles.

Our guide for the day, AJ, had us out on the water, and on our way shortly. We paddled and I learned how to steer the kayak with the internal rudder pedals, and splash my brother when ever I wanted to, with the double ended paddles, …… neat!

AJ was very knowledgeable about the waters we were plying, and allowed us to set the pace and explore the coast on a gorgeous day. After an hour, or so of paddling, we stopped at a beach, grounded the kayaks, and hiked over to some picnic tables with a view, to have our (self packed) lunches. After lunch, it was back on the water to explore more shore, search for marine life and just take in the pure enjoyment of being in beautiful, natural surroundings.

Our expectations of a few hours out on the waters of the San Juan Islands were met and exceeded with, DSK. We had a wonderful experience, and would highly recommend DSK to anyone looking to experience the shear beauty of what the Pacific Northwest has to offer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Sea Kayaks also viewed

 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Discovery Sea Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing