We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Sunset Kayaking trip”

Discovery Sea Kayaks
Ranked #6 of 28 Tours in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of downtown Friday Harbor, we offer a range of San Juan Islands Kayak Tours and Bike Rentals. Kayak Tours range from a half day outing to multiple days out camping on the outer islands. Our signature Full Day, Half Day and Sunset Kayak Tours travel routes best to encounter whales and marine wildlife. Our multi-day kayak tours range from 2 to 5 days with the 3-day kayak tour being our most popular. We provide all the equipment and cook every meal with fresh locally sourced foods. We are proud to employ a small group of professional guidesthat are extremely skilled kayakers and trained naturalist. Safety, Education, and Adventure are ensured with our amazing team of guides. We operate some of the smallest groups sizes to ensure each kayak tour provides a personal experience. Our downtown location is the perfect starting point for exploring the island by bike. We have the largest electric bike rental fleet on island and quality traditional bikes as well.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We experienced a wonderful Kayaking trip with Discovery and our guide Donnell was the best. The two of us were given exclusive attention by him and although the Orca's were not around, the sunset was spectacular from the water. The equipment was good and the Sea Kayak was extremely stable in the water.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"kayak trip"
in 47 reviews
"bioluminescence tour"
in 15 reviews
"half day tour"
in 18 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 40 reviews
"san juan island"
in 40 reviews
"great guide"
in 24 reviews
"camping gear"
in 7 reviews
"west side"
in 19 reviews
"harbor seals"
in 28 reviews
"outdoor adventure"
in 5 reviews
"dry bags"
in 7 reviews
"private tour"
in 9 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 8 reviews
"top of the line"
in 5 reviews
"small group"
in 14 reviews
"launch site"
in 5 reviews
"great kayaking"
in 8 reviews
Filter

348 - 352 of 470 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We experienced a wonderful Kayaking trip with Discovery and our guide Donnell was the best. The two of us were given exclusive attention by him and although the Orca's were not around, the sunset was spectacular from the water. The equipment was good and the Sea Kayak was extremely stable in the water.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Did a half day kayak trip with Jason as guide. Would recommend the whole operation, from the information in the store, equipment used, guide knowledge. All round a terrific way to see some more of Suan Juan Island with a company that seemed to put a quality experience first.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank KLHR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband is an avid kayaker and I try to keep up. Fortunately for me, the only kayaks we were allowed to rent were doubles which I liked. The downside was that they are heavy and do take more effort which gives me a much greater appreciation of my single kayak. All of the people at Discovery were great. I always felt safe, in spite of the strong current and though there were no whale sightings the day we went, we did see seals and various sealife along the cliffs.

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank Dbrown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My gf and I did a bio-luminescence tour at night then a full day tour the next. Our guide, jason, was extreley knowledgeable about all natural aspects and history of almoat everything we asked. It was s slow orca season so we didn't see any of those but I still learned so much about the islands and other wildlife during the trips. The bio-luminescence tour was a very special trip that is something so unexpected and cool. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Sea Kayaks also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Discovery Sea Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing