We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argyle House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
PARIS
Level Contributor
561 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
“Excellent Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely two-night stay here at the Argyle.

Art, Jennifer and their family anre lovely and very welcoming.....present but discreet at the same time: we felt very much "at home".

Breakfast was excellent with special mention for the zucchini bread and the oatmeal pancakes!

Yum!

We liked the communal table and it was interesting to talk to the otehr guests and get tips for visits etc

The house is in a beautiful garden and there is a hot tub as well which was nice.

A quick walk into the "centre" of Friday harbor, this place comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seanbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
33
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark OH
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Argyle house B&B is a comfortable bungalow and quaint cottages in a lush garden. The small garden wraps the house and cottages with rustic pathways. There are great outdoor relaxation spots including a hot tub, porch and garden/terrace seating. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hosts were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and the evening return home was welcomed with tasty cookies. It was an easy walk down into town. I would reccomend this a a pleasant choice for a relaxing moderately priced stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Front @nd floor BR. Featured a Double bed + single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustang2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The B&B is a charming home in a great location very close to the Ferry. The hosts are very nice and welcoming. It is very convenient to walk around Friday Harbor. The breakfast is served at a set time, 8:30am, so you have to plan your morning schedule accordingly unless you don't mind missing it. We had wanted to eat earlier since we had to catch the ferry to Victoria at 9:30 and there is only one per day so we didn't want to miss it. The hosts insisted the 8:30 breakfast wouldn't make us late. We did make the ferry but we had to eat our meal very quickly and had little time to talk with the other guests. We would have liked to eat earlier and not feel rushed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This beautifully maintained bed and breakfast is in walking distant to downtown and to the ferry landing. Our breakfasts were truly gourmet and good references were available for restaurants and attractions. The innkeepers were gracious and well informed and soon will be providing omelets from their own flock.

Room Tip: We chose the Sunflower Room in the main house. Cabins are also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay here. Art and Jennifer went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay and had great advice on the ferry system which we sorely needed. Beautiful old home, very nice room, and the breakfast was really delicious. Also, a short walk to all the action in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimanalo Beach, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed with Art & Jennifer for 3 nights. Our first night we had just returned from 5 days of kayak camping. We were a salty mess. Art was so gracious and welcoming. We loved the breakfasts and how accommodating both Jennifer and Art were with us. We needed an early breakfast for a friend who had an early ferry; and we got something special that we all loved. Jennifer made fresh cookies every day. We just loved the family atmosphere. A big mahalo to Art for getting up early with us on our last morning and taking us to the airport. We really felt well taken care of. The room was lovely and comfortable. The bed and bedding was perfect. We loved the robes which we used when we went to the hot tub. The Argyle House is close to downtown, an easy walk along a nice street.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunflower room and found it perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just returned from staying the weekend at the Argyle House Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the Marilee cottage for two nights. The accommodations were warm and inviting and the innkeepers were very pleasant. We loved the privacy of our room and especially enjoyed the use of the outdoor hot tub (particularly after a full day of kayaking). We had breakfast in the main house both mornings and it was wonderful. The spinach quiche was particularly good as well the carrot-cake served on the second day of our stay. I highly recommend the Argyle House for anyone looking for a comfortable get away. It was cozy, cute, friendly, and just what we needed for our relaxing weekend away. On a side-note, the proprietors also were very helpful in coordinating the delivery of a surprise birthday cake to our room for my boyfriend’s 30th birthday. They also gave us driving directions for returning home to assist us in navigating around a recent bridge closure. Excellent customer service!!

Room Tip: The Marilee Cottage was cozy, private, and right next to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 685 Argyle Ave, PO Box 2685, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Argyle House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable accommodations, hospitality, charm, and character are what you will find for you and your family at Argyle House Bed and Breakfast. Our original 1910 Craftsman design home on San Juan Island in Washington is situated on beautiful grounds located just two blocks from downtown Friday Harbor and six blocks from the Washington State Ferry landing. We welcome families of all ages, and your dog. Enjoy our wonderful full breakfast each morning of your stay; we are happy to accommodate any dietary modifications. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Argyle House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle House Bed And Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing