We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A charming B&B, great hosts, amazing breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argyle House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A charming B&B, great hosts, amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay here. Art and Jennifer went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay and had great advice on the ferry system which we sorely needed. Beautiful old home, very nice room, and the breakfast was really delicious. Also, a short walk to all the action in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
33
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waimanalo Beach, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed with Art & Jennifer for 3 nights. Our first night we had just returned from 5 days of kayak camping. We were a salty mess. Art was so gracious and welcoming. We loved the breakfasts and how accommodating both Jennifer and Art were with us. We needed an early breakfast for a friend who had an early ferry; and we got something special that we all loved. Jennifer made fresh cookies every day. We just loved the family atmosphere. A big mahalo to Art for getting up early with us on our last morning and taking us to the airport. We really felt well taken care of. The room was lovely and comfortable. The bed and bedding was perfect. We loved the robes which we used when we went to the hot tub. The Argyle House is close to downtown, an easy walk along a nice street.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunflower room and found it perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just returned from staying the weekend at the Argyle House Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the Marilee cottage for two nights. The accommodations were warm and inviting and the innkeepers were very pleasant. We loved the privacy of our room and especially enjoyed the use of the outdoor hot tub (particularly after a full day of kayaking). We had breakfast in the main house both mornings and it was wonderful. The spinach quiche was particularly good as well the carrot-cake served on the second day of our stay. I highly recommend the Argyle House for anyone looking for a comfortable get away. It was cozy, cute, friendly, and just what we needed for our relaxing weekend away. On a side-note, the proprietors also were very helpful in coordinating the delivery of a surprise birthday cake to our room for my boyfriend’s 30th birthday. They also gave us driving directions for returning home to assist us in navigating around a recent bridge closure. Excellent customer service!!

Room Tip: The Marilee Cottage was cozy, private, and right next to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Upon arriving on the front porch we were greeted with open arms and welcomed into Jennifer and Art's home. They were incredibly friendly and accommodating to us, our almost two your old daughter, and our golden retriever. We stayed in the Marliee cottage which was not attached to the main house. It was clean and bright and had a wonderful outdoor space to sit and read. The B&B is located within a short walk from "downtown" Friday Harbor and also located close to a park which was great for our daughter's excess energy. Everything was fantastic, even the homemade breakfast!

Room Tip: Marilee cottage great if you need a little more space for kids and/or dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvitulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We sapent three nights at Argyle House while exploring the surrounding waters. The room was spacious and the bathroom clean and sparkling. Breakfast was adequate, although not spectacular. The walk to downtown and the ferry was a only ten minutes. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatsELule_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our stay at the Argyle House on San Juan was perfect. Sunshine. Perfect temperature. Great food. Our thoughtfully appointed room with the scent of lavender, fresh flowers from Jennifer and Art's lovely gardens, their warm hospitality and the freshly picked blackberries for breakfast engaged all our senses in the stay. Argyle House is situated just a few blocks from the center of Friday Harbor and made for easy exploring of the town without having to worry about parking and driving. We are only sorry we didn't stay longer and have a chance to use the hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljlecount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We enjoyed a brief stay in Friday Harbour at the Argyle House. We stayed in the Sunflower Room which is at the back of the house - it was clean and very quiet. Breakfast was terrific and we met some other nice folks around the table. The location is a five minute walk from the 'downtown core' of Friday Harbour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blpollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 685 Argyle Ave, PO Box 2685, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable accommodations, hospitality, charm, and character are what you will find for you and your family at Argyle House Bed and Breakfast. Our original 1910 Craftsman design home on San Juan Island in Washington is situated on beautiful grounds located just two blocks from downtown Friday Harbor and six blocks from the Washington State Ferry landing. We welcome families of all ages, and your dog. Enjoy our wonderful full breakfast each morning of your stay; we are happy to accommodate any dietary modifications. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Argyle House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle House Bed And Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing