We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value value value”
Review of The Orca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orca Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“Value value value”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Love this place! Just needed a clean place to sleep....its hilariously "compact"...especially loved the idea of renting a roll-away-bed....literally no room!!! But comfy bed...very welcoming managers...good shower, clean...who needs frills? Get out and enjoy Friday Harbor...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lissa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcainn, Manager at The Orca Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
High praise indeed! We loved the phrase "hilariously compact," because it's so darn true. And there really isn't room for a sleeping bag, much less a rollaway bed in our Micro rooms (although we do have rollaways in our King rooms, which are twice the size). However, our rates are so low you can rent two Micro rooms for less than the price of just about any other 2-bed hotel room on the island!
Thank you for the kind words and the dead-on rating. But mostly, thanks for staying with us!

*Morris & Coni Workman
Managers
The Orca Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    110
    64
    21
    21
See reviews for
60
114
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is probably the most UN-hotel-like place we've ever stayed, but it was so affordable that it made our impromptu family visit to Friday Harbor possible and worthwhile! The staff is awesome, helpful, and friendly, allowing us to squeeze our 4 year old kids into the tiny, 1 queen bedroom. Luckily, our children were small enough that one slept in the little "nook" of a closet, and the other on the floor at the head of our bed. It was difficult to find space for them; you can't even fit a cot or a mat in this room. The hotel is a series of doublewides converted into small rooms with wood paneling. It was certainly cozy, and it provided us with a place to stay so we could do all we wanted to the next day without being exhausted. My only complaint was that you could hear EVERYTHING in the hallway outside the door, so our morning wasn't too restful. But otherwise, everything was just what we needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 262AlexD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcainn, Manager at The Orca Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks for the review! You described our rooms accurately -- the Micro rooms are very small (which is how we keep our rates the lowest on the island). We also have larger rooms available for only a few bucks more.
We're sorry about the noise. It's always a tough balancing act between allowing guests to have a good time while not allowing them to disrupt everyone else's peace and relaxation. We'll keep trying.
We really appreciate the high marks for our staff. We can't make the rooms larger or control the weather, but we can promise clean rooms and friendly faces. We're so pleased that you noticed.
We also love your description of us being the most "UN-hotel-like" place you've ever stayed. You're also very close on your description of being converted double-wides. They aren't mobile homes, but are unlike anything else out there. The real story is pretty interesting, and involves a part of Alaskan history.
Again, we're glad you stayed with us, and hope you'll bring the kids back to see us!

*Morris & Coni Workman
Managers
The Orca Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The bedroom is about a foot bigger than the bed except one direction where there's room to make sandwiches. A couple of hundred feet from the NW corner gate of the airport. You can shower and sleep very comfortably for a VERY LOW COST! We enjoyed our stay and, if you don't require too many stars, we can gladly recommend The Orca Inn. I'm reviewing based on one of their cheapest rooms available.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcainn, Manager at The Orca Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your extremely accurate review. We love it when people "get" us and our philosophy that people should spend their money doing fun things on our island instead of blowing big bucks on a place to sleep.

We also enjoyed your line "A funny little group of mobile office buildings sectioned into bath, toilet and bedroom." Not quite, but a hilarious description!

Thanks for staying with us!

*Morris & Coni Workman
Managers
The Orca Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just spent two nights here and were really impressed. The rooms are small and functional with television, microwave, shower and en suite bathroom. Clean and well maintained. The manager could not have been more helpful, especially since there had been a misunderstanding over our booking by Internet. There is Wi-Fi coverage adjacent to the office where there is a sunny patio where one may lounge as one types and catches up on electronic communications. After our first night, we had absolutely no hesitation about booking for an extra night since the San Juan Islands are worth taking time to explore. The hotel is just up the hill from the ferry port, well within reasonable walking distance, well signed, hard to miss.It is not far from the small airport hence there is significant airplane noise during the day but this has stopped before normal sleeping hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomast1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcainn, Manager at The Orca Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
ThomasT, we remember you and your group, and we sincerely enjoyed having you here!

Sorry about the confusion on the booking...we've contacted the online booking company, and they've fixed the problem.

You folks were terrific! We appreciate your kind words, and hope to see you again soon!

*Morris & Coni Workman
Managers
The Orca Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonasket, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My fiance and I chose the Orca Inn because we weren't wanting to spend a lot of money on a hotel. We were PLEASANTLY surprised when we got into our room. We stayed in the king room and it was very spacious. Large bathroom, and very clean. The management was was absolutely amazing. Very nice and welcoming. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: King room is the largest. very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcainn, Manager at The Orca Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you SO much for the kind review!
Your tip is spot-on. Our Micro Rooms are small and cozy, but our King and Double Queen rooms are more spacious.
We are so grateful to have terrific guests like you stay with us.
Hope to see you again soon!

*Morris & Coni Workman
Managers
The Orca Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spent the night in a micro room at the Orca Inn and it was delightful..The room was just right for me. The room was clean. It had a small refrigerator, television, desk, cable and private bathroom (which I understand many of the hotels/motels you have to share bathrooms)The personel was very helpful and delightful to talk to. I would definitely recommend the Orca Inn for a headquarters for visiting the many things you can do here on the Island. It is true...price was inexpensive as advertised.

Room Tip: For more than 1 person, they have larger rooms. The managers are new to the Orca Inn and have great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lareine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Thought I had reviewed this back in February but apparently did not. We checked in just before the office closed up at went directly back into town for dinner. We came back around maybe 8 pm to find our room had dirty sheets with the comforter pulled up over the top, a full garbage can, and an opened bag of Bugles snacks sitting atop the microwave. As the room had obviously not been cleaned, we went about looking for how to contact the night person. There was nothing in the room, and we checked the manager's office which had no afterhours information posted. We ended up cranking up the heat and sleeping on top of the comforter. We did not get a refund or discount in the morning- indeed, the office was still locked up at ten am when we dropped the keys into a lockbox.

To recap, we paid fifty bucks to spend the night in a tiny dirty room in a doublewide someone had plunked down in a parking lot. We'd have had cleaner accommodations, and probably more space, had we pitched a tent in the parking stall outside.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bellingbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcainn, Manager at The Orca Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
First, we would like to sincerely apologize that you had a bad experience at The Orca Inn.

We are the new managers effective Dec. 1, 2012. Obviously we weren't in place at the time of your February 2012 stay, but felt compelled to take your comments to heart.

At first we were shocked to read that one of our rooms was dirty. In our short time, we have discovered that our housekeeping staff is tremendous, and the current group has been here for years. But in reading closer, it appears the problem wasn't housekeeping, but more likely a clerical error that put you in a room that hadn't been cleaned yet. Either way, it was a terrible experience for you, and we apologize.

However, you make some excellent points. We can't undo your bad experience, but because of your observations, we HAVE made some significant changes to our operation.

First, as of December, our office will be open every day at 8 a.m. so we can better serve our guests. Beginning in May and continuing throughout the season, we'll back that up to 7 a.m.

Next, we have posted a 24-hour phone number that rings directly into our on-property residence, along with our personal cell phone number so that guests can reach us any time, day or night.

Third, we are in the process of changing our housekeeping and office procedures to ensure that no guest ever winds up in a room that hasn't been cleaned.

Again, we can't "unring the bell" of a terrible stay at our hotel, and yours was horrific and unacceptable. However, we are grateful for your feedback and are heeding your words. We invite you to give us another try.

*Morris & Coni Workman
Managers
The Orca Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Friday Harbor hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
12.5 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orca Inn

Property: The Orca Inn
Address: 770 Mullis St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Orca Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend a night...Not a fortune! It's really simple: Smaller Rooms = Smaller Rates. At The Orca Inn, we are proud to offer the smallest rooms in the state of Washington! Which means we have the lowest hotel room rates on San Juan Island. (Of course, for just a few dollars more, we have larger King and Double Queen rooms). With the money you save, you can spend more on amazing whale watching tours, incredible kayak trips, and other island adventures that you will remember for a lifetime. As Mr. Carson once said, "The business of life is the acquisition of memories." And at the Orca Inn, business is good! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Orca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orca Hotel Friday Harbor
The Orca Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing