We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of The Orca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Orca Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Danville, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in a non smoking King room that was handicap accessible, and were most pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and decent sized (bathroom quite large). The refrigerator kept our munchies cold, the TV worked well, the bed was comfortable and firm, and we did not hear any noise from the adjoining rooms, a problem common at the other low cost alternative in Friday Harbor. As others have stated, Friday Harbor is very expensive, so the Orca Inn was a welcome relief. We picked up great coffee at the yellow javahut one block away on Spring street. The only things I would change, is it would be great to have a place to store your luggage after the 11AM checkout. We found a shop on Spring about 1 block off waterfront that took it for $1 per bag. Pet friendly or boarding would be nice too :)
One place you need to avoid like the plague is the mail store on Spring St. POST SAN JUAN. I thought it would be convenient to ship home some purchases. They charged through the roof, including LABOR for putting items in a box and would not give me the price until they had packed everything up. I about fell out of my sneakers when the packing cost $21!!! The actual shipping via Fedex was only $20. Lost everything I saved staying at the Orca Inn.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with anyone else, go for the King or double queen. Double sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Java555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    112
    67
    23
    23
See reviews for
64
118
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We knew we weren't going to be in our room for very long, and at $70 per night, we figured this place would be fine. The queen rooms are very small, but they do have a mini fridge and a microwave, which is great. The room was clean and fine. The mattress was not comfortable, but it wasn't uncomfortable. Also, bring your own hair dryer. The thing I didn't understand was that the hotel seemed to be half-full, but we were put in a room right by the generator for the grocery store that is right next door. My hubby didn't have ear plugs and he didn't sleep so well, but I was fine (with my ear plugs). Also the delivery truck woke him up at 5:00 am on Monday. People staffing the front desk were friendly, but didn't have any advice on when to line up for the ferry, something that can be tricky during tourist season. Overall, this place is a bargain for the price, and I would recommend it for any budget traveler who would rather spend their $$ on good food and experiences.

Room Tip: rooms farther from the grocery store are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellevala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyr Cove, NV
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This one is hard to review.

Hotels on San Juan Island/Friday Harbor area are very expensive overall, and there aren't a vast variety of options on the lower end of the price scale.

We stayed in a King room. It was double the size of their "compact" queen-bed rooms, so it was certainly a reasonable size, but it's definitely a "no frills" establishment. No in-room telephone, hair dryer or coffee maker, but the King room had a mini fridge and microwave in it, and it was very clean. The mattress was comfortable.

The furniture all looks like it came out of a garage sale or were hand-me-downs from someone's uncle, the bedding is very old (but not shabby), the pillows are very basic, and the various buildings look like converted storage units with almost zero style and curb appeal. We walked by a few queen rooms that were open for housekeeping to clean, and we noticed that several of the blinds were broken (some had cardboard square fillers). The location felt safe for the most part, and it was only a short walk to the harbor and ferry terminal.

Overall ... if you want what is probably one of the least expensive hotel/motels in the Friday Harbor area, this is an option that's not bad, but for $100/night (King room), it certainly seems overpriced and not a super great value for a room that looks like it's one step up from a Girl Scout camp facility.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blooeyz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the Orca Inn, August 2011, and it was everything we needed and in a pinch. We stayed in a small and inexpensive room. It was clean and offered the basic amenities. I made the mistake of losing my jewelry in the inn room when I left and I was devastated. I called the inn the next day and they were not only able to find it; they sent it back to me! I was very thankful to have such an honest and nice staff. We will definitely return there when we go back :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in a King room. The price was right, it was clean & comfortable. The front desk let us see both rooms they had available and was very upfront about the "no frills" on this place. We took the room with the King bed because the Queen room was too small. We had a good night's sleep & had no problems. If you are traveling to Friday Harbor, especially when other hotels are outrageously overpriced and don't need the extra frills, The Orca Inn is the place!

Room Tip: If given a choice go with the King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wenz4bruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ward, AR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Orca Inn was a great place to stay in Friday Harbor, near the ferry, reasonably priced, had everything we needed and was a bargain compared to other hotels.

Room Tip: pick a room with two beds instead of one for more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

after looking at 2 rooms, there was no way we were staying in that dark, dank, really gross place. Smelled awful, room was dark, dirty, furniture from the 70s, hard beds, toilet in one room, sink in another, not to mention the weird unfriendly managers. We would not stay there for any amount of money!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNwhalewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Friday Harbor hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.7 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
143 reviews
12.5 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orca Inn

Property: The Orca Inn
Address: 770 Mullis St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8083
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Orca Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend a night...Not a fortune! It's really simple: Smaller Rooms = Smaller Rates. At The Orca Inn, we are proud to offer the smallest rooms in the state of Washington! Which means we have the lowest hotel room rates on San Juan Island. (Of course, for just a few dollars more, we have larger King and Double Queen rooms). With the money you save, you can spend more on amazing whale watching tours, incredible kayak trips, and other island adventures that you will remember for a lifetime. As Mr. Carson once said, "The business of life is the acquisition of memories." And at the Orca Inn, business is good! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orca Hotel Friday Harbor
The Orca Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing