We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must do before you go on a whale watching trip!”
Review of The Whale Museum

The Whale Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum dedicated to the orcas and other whale species that visit the Washington coast in the spring.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A must do before you go on a whale watching trip!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This museum is conveniently located right in Friday Harbor. It is very educational with tons of exhibits AND it is not just about whales (although a good amount is). Other marine life and information about the Salish Sea is well represented. Definitely worth the small admission price!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RhondaMathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    184
    68
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive place”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great place for unique gifts. Lots of things "Orca" video clips to watch and friendly people as well

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Exploringisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcas island
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This is a MUST if you go to Friday Harbor!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I wish I had gone to this museum years before I did. It is informative, fun, interesting, and important to learn about the sea life and especially the Orca whales, so by being aware of the issues, maybe we can all make a difference in our world. The people that put this museum together are passionate and caring and well informed, and have videos, whale skeletons to learn about, and lots of fun things to see. Check it out!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank islebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“sounds corny, but you should go!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This museum is about more than whales, it tells stories of how we as different tribes of humans over different eras and with different mythology interact with whales. There is a huge geneology chart for the northern orcas as well as several whale and other marine mammal skeletons. There are videos and written stories as well. Even the gift store is well done. There is a chart map of the Washington/BC/Inland Passage area describing recent whale sightings which is fun to follow. Price is cheap - $6 per adult. It took us about 90 minutes to go through. They do have a fun kids area too. Highly recommend this - it is well done.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LNandCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting and quick!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

A great way to learn about orcas and show your support with a small donation. I recommend it for adults and kids!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dianaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whale Museum also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to The Whale Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing