We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canvas Cabins- Canvas Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Canvas Cabins- Canvas Cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was a wonderful stay for my family. I researched and read many of the reviews before selecting the Canvas Cottage for our stay. Once we arrived at the resort I quickly realized it was the perfect canvas cabin for us. I have small children and because the canvas cottage has a shower and toilet we did not have to wait in line for the coin showers or make a trek to the bathroom in the middle of the night. It also had electricity so we could plug in our cooler, recharge our cell phones etc. The toasty toesies were our favorite part of the stay. The staff went above and beyond to be helpful and meet our every need. Breakfast was more than we expected. They provided freshly made pancakes, oatmeal, hardboiled eggs, cereal etc.

The other nice thing about the canvas cottage is that it is set apart from any of the other canvas cabins. The other canvas cabins are very close to one another so having privacy was really nice. The bed and futon was very comfortable.

A couple surprises that were not mentioned in other reviews. The Canvas Cottage is right next to the main road. Traffic is slim to none at night so this was not an issue but it is definitely noisy during the day. Also, there is NO cell reception. The General Store has WIFII so we were running over there often to send text messages or check e-mail. We were not aware of this so we were not prepared. It is a good thing to know. Also, unless you come prepared to really camp, you have to go into town for lunch and dinner. Not a big deal as it is close but just another good thing to know.

Overall my family had a charming stay and created great memories. We would do it again!

Room Tip: Recommend the Canvas Cottage- it is the best canvas cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristen Carlson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    99
    41
    26
    8
See reviews for
166
128
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Well kept sites for tent camping, modern restroom facilities, well stocked store, and activities for the kids available. Was very convenient for our visit to English Camp. Especially liked that the tent site was level, and on pine needles, the picnic table was new, and the firepit was clean. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Farther from the road would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandyWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

First time to Lakedale, very kid friendly. Friday night (July 5th, 2013) was bliss, canvas cabin was clean, cozy and just as expected. Firewood, kindling, firestarters were a welcome thought as was the cooler and bbq utensils, you need to bring everything else if you wish to cook, I came prepared with my 2 burner gas stove which I set up on the picnic table. Slept like babies the first night and rented boats and enjoyed the amenities early Saturday. Toasty toes turn down a magic touch! sometimes the little things in life are all you need to turn an average experience into a great one.

Staff were friendly enough and we really did not interact with them much except for breakfast in the mess tent (right next to our cabin and the lady was very welcoming!) location was great 5 mins to Roche Harbor and likewise to Friday Harbor.

Cons: There are a few...

1 - I read about the lack of facilities on trip advisor prior to staying and have to agree... my biggest irk was sharing the 3 toilets and shower stalls with the campground guests, they need cleaning at least 4 times a day otherwise they are wet, smelly and slippery. There is simply not enough toilets to cater for the amount of campers and guests.

2 - Beach and swimming area overcrowded and next to the road, not as scenic or idyllic as would have expected.

3 - Quiet hours of 10pm to 8 am were not adhered to.. Obnoxious and selfish family in bunkhouse above us talked and laughed until 2am last night, Saturday... resulting in little sleep for all guests in the canvas cabins as area is tight and voices carry. If you want a relaxing peaceful getaway this is most definately not for you.

4 - buzzing generator or whirring electrical device also kept us up both nights, it ran off and on through the night and we could not figure out what it was or where it was coming from.

5 - Selection in the small general store was limited, absolutely no fresh produce or anything edible to cook for that matter, as for the deli sandwiches that were advertised on the website... think 7/11 style fare... if that's your taste.

Overall it was a pleasant stay but plenty of room for improvement. If we return we will book the canvas cabin with attached bathroom or one of the cabins.

Room Tip: All of the canvas cabins are within close proximity to each other, we stayed in 359 which has a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwitanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3Lakes, General Manager at Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Kiwitanya,

Thank you for taking time out to stay and review Lakedale ! We appricate all of your feedback and our team is working diligently to improve each aspect of the experience you have described. We have a campground host that is patroling our grounds every night until midnight ( new this year) and guests can access this person by using the phone at the front entry way of the lodge. Sunday - Wednesday offers less crowds at this island's most popular resort and it is a bit easier to use all of our facilities throughout the property. September is an awesome time to be here as the weather is perfect and the island offers a bit of solitude for those that want more space and quiet surroundings.
Sincerely,
Karl Bruno GM Lakedale Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went with a group of friends and rented out 4 of these cabins for the night. Each one has a queen bed and a pullout comfy futon. All the sheets and linens and towels are provided. There is a little table and chairs inside these wooden floor canvas cabins. They are spotless, and cute. There is an area with a fire pit, grill and table w/chairs for sitting around the fire at night. The place is lovely. There is a clean shower and toilet facility a minute walk from all of the cabins. The provided breakfast was fine- I'm not much of a breakfast eater. They did keep running out of coffee, the coffee was excellent and I do like my coffee in the morning. The little breakfast mess-tent was nice and the people that are breakfast eaters looked like they were enjoying fresh fruit, pastries, pancakes and hard boiled eggs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artmomrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Clean campsites, clean facilities, hot showers, fun activities, great location near Friday Harbor, and an exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Also, a general store that has everything you forgot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Since we were traveling with 4 grandchildren whose ages varied from 6 to 17, we wanted a place that would have something for everyone. This is it. We decided to rent a two bedroom cabin and it was wonderful. Beds were comfortable including the most comfortable hide a bed ever. Staff was quick to respond to any questions. Kids were involved in tie dying, fishing, kayaking,etc. They also played various games that were in the cabin and around the area. Saw lots of deer as they would walk right past our cabin. The hot tub was right next to our cabin, so that made it easy to use that. Only negative would be the lack of phone or internet usage, but you can expect that on the island many places. If we really needed it, we could go into the general store or the lodge and connect up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alibubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent three nights here. This is how a private camping business should be set up. Camping is very nice. Camp store is great. Showers are hot. Easy to bike into Friday Harbor for dinner. I think this would be a fantastic location to bring your kids.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
3.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
4.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes

Property: Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Address: 4313 Roche Harbor Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9754
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 82-acres, with three spring water lakes, Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes is an ideal San Juan Island getaway. Easily accessible by ferry or floatplane from Seattle, Lakedale Resort is nestled between Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor on San Juan Island, Washington. It’s a one-of-a-kind experience and a breath of fresh air – literally.Lakedale Resort features a variety of accommodation options, including a 10-room lodge, real log cabins, canvas cabins for a fabulous glamping experience, and camping. Lakedale Resort near Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor is also a great destination for teambuilding, meetings, and retreats, providing you with an inspirational setting to achieve your goals. Your group will enjoy the many activities that Lakedale has to offer including swimming, fishing, and canoeing on one of our three lakes. Or imagine taking over the lodge for your wedding and having your ceremony overlooking Fish Hook Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Hotel Friday Harbor
Lakedale Resort At 3 Lakes
Lakedale Hotel San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing